We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location from which to visit the abbeys”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hosteria del Monasterio de San Millan
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
171 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good location from which to visit the abbeys”
Reviewed 24 October 2012

The hotel was originally part of the monastery complex. It is across the courtyard from the monastery church and tourist information center. It is very modern and well maintained. The rooms are fairly large (our frame of reference is French ** and *** hotels) and comfortable. The hotel has a bar and restaurant. The restaurant opened at 8:30, on the late side to our preferences. The bar offered modest tapas to hold us over until opening time. Our two nights of dinners were adequate but uninspired (54 euros) but convenient in that we did not have to search out an alternative. There are other restaurants across the street. The reason to stay here is to visit the monastery of Suso (well worth it) and to tour the surrounding area, which is generally nice countryside. We'd gladly stay here again, but be inclined to explore meal alternatives.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    99
    21
    9
    4
See reviews for
33
135
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

My Wife and I have just returned from a ten day stay (mid-August) at this Hotel, and had a wonderful time. Yes the Hotel is quiet, which is what we wanted, no disco's. The building itself is unique and attractive. Parking is next to the Hotel in a Free public car-park. Our room had a very high ceiling, was big and well appointed with an excellent en-suite bath and shower room. Being on the second floor we had stunning views of the surrounding countryside. The three feet thick walls keep the main building cool even in extreme heat. The staff were lovely, very helpful and attentive, even though we could not speak Spanish we made heavy use of our phrase book. The breakfasts are good value as are the fixed menu evening meals at 14 euros. The adjoining monastery must be seen, it is exceptionally beautiful. The village is small with only three bars/restaurants,but you could not visit this Hotel without a car, and if you have a car you can easily drive to nearby towns. For a quiet stay in a lovely traditional Spanish Hotel, we highly recommend it. However if you want a disco and lots of noise don't go to this hotel.

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool or fitness center. Little English is spoken in this rural area of Spain so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WILLIAMP P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Our guidebook rated this hotel 4-stars, and while it was well-appointed, comfortable and spacious, it lacked atmosphere, especially considering it was part of an old monastery and located on a beautiful hillside in wine country. The hotel seemed well equipped to handle tour groups, though none were there that night. Perhaps because we were there in early June our double room was only 50 euros! We had a good, but not great dinner, and enjoyed the monastery's own wine. There were several restaurants adjacent to the site, which we didn't check out. The breakfast buffet was huge and even included scrambled eggs and bacon. The reception staff were quite warm and we were grateful for their help in untangling some details of our next hotel reservation.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jWBurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
287 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012 via mobile

We spent a night here in May 2012. The setting is sublime; the rooms are large and very well appointed. The restaurant was excellent with very efficient service despite a walking tour of 22 people all eating at the same time. Their own label wine is not to be missed and is a real bargain. We would go back without hesitation.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank linskitours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2010

We spent 2 nights at this hotel en route from Alicante to Santander. The approach gives a fabulous view of the monastery, and the drive through small villages, surrounded by vinyards and bodegas was lovely.
Our room was clean and comfortable, and we found the reception staff very helpful.....their english was better than our spanish, but only just!
Yes, the restaurant was poor. Pretentious, poor quality and over-priced. On our second night we used the cafe opposite and had good sandwiches,cake and coffee. The breakfast at the hotel was o.k.
We visited both monasteries,but the guided tours,which are compulsory, were only in spanish. We were given a leaflet in english, and were advised by the guide to learn spanish.....a fair point!
We loved the location of this hotel, ideal for exploring the Rioja region.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosehill11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2009

We spent two nights here in the middle of a cycling trip - possibly two too many! Whilst the rooms are clean, spacious and well equipped the rest of the hotel lacks any atmosphere - unless you like the feel of an almost empty old people's home! The bar feels like a station waiting room,. there's no outside space except in the nearby cafes which cater for the many coach parties visiting the monastery and the dining experience is poor to mixed. On our first night I can honestly say I had one of the worst meals I've ever had! Croquettas which were like an uncooked roux. A mix of undercooked and overcooked pork loin (not a healthy combination) And a desert straight from the pack from a freezer. They recovered themselves slightly the next night but not enough to forgive them the night before.

Overall, if you just need B&B then this would be a comfortable place to stay - quiet, clean and spacious. But if want something more of the Spanish experience - good food, wine and a bit of a buzz - stay well clear. You'll probably have more fund with the monks over the square! We certainly won't be going back.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hutchreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2009

I booked this hotel though one of the hotel sites on line for 55 euros per room and thought it was great value(if you book through the hotel it would be 110/room). I like staying at a interesting hotels ( than just typical ones) and this was interesting one. The rooms were super clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. The area of the hotel is very peaceful and it was nice feeling to be staying at a Monasterio with it's rich history.
We skipped the breakfast the hotel offers and instead went to snack bar for coffee but there are other cafeterias in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madridchiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Millan de la Cogolla
9.1 mi away
Parador de Santo Domingo de la Calzada
Parador de Santo Domingo de la C...
#1 of 4 in Santo Domingo de la Calzada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
7.5 mi away
Real Casona de las Amas
13.3 mi away
Hotel La Capellania
Hotel La Capellania
#2 of 2 in San Asensio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Hotel Los Agustinos
4.1 mi away
Hotel Conde de Badaran
Hotel Conde de Badaran
#1 of 1 in Badaran
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
9.5 mi away
La Antigua Ferreria Hotel Rural
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria del Monasterio de San Millan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria del Monasterio de San Millan

Property: Hosteria del Monasterio de San Millan
Address: Monasterio de Yuso, 26326 San Millan de la Cogolla, Spain
Region: Spain > La Rioja > San Millan de la Cogolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Millan de la Cogolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hosteria del Monasterio de San Millan 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our **** Hosteria de San Millan is a paceful hotel inside Monasterio de Yuso,in San Millan de la Cogolla, Valley of Cardenas river, birthplace of Castillian Language and UNESCO human heritage,located into route of monasteries of La Rioja, Way of Santiago, Wine Riojan route, and close to golf club, sky station and many outdoor activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hosteria del Monasterio de San Millan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Del Monasterio De San Millan San Millan De La Cogolla, Spain - La Rioja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing