We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hosteria del Monasterio de San Millan
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very good hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The Monasteries of San Millan de Cogolla are World Heritage sites and the Hosteria provides a good location to stay while visiting the sites. Rooms are spacious although the mattresses leave something to be desired. The breakfast was only just acceptable and service at that meal was basically non existent. The reception staff were helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dyserth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    99
    21
    9
    4
See reviews for
33
135
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

This is my first ever bad review.
Rooms were great. Woken by cleaning trolly in morning. The restaurant food and service was poor and joyless!! Asparagus out of tin with squeeze bottle mayo. & sauce over top. Breakfast cold eggs & bacon. stale cakes bread etc Sad. Luke water for tea. Taps on coffee & milk dripping. Most inviting.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oneway1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
123 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night and fell in love with the scenery, which is just breathtaking with the snow capped mountains in the background.

It is a very quiet and peaceful place, the building has lots of character, but the beds are pretty basic n spartan if you're used to Four Seasons/Westin/Small Luxury Hotels of the World comfort. Still, we enjoyed ourselves for the night and particularly enjoyed the beautiful scenery around San Millan. I thought it was the most beautiful view of my 3 weeks in Basque Country and Galicia.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsfootloose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
171 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

The hotel was originally part of the monastery complex. It is across the courtyard from the monastery church and tourist information center. It is very modern and well maintained. The rooms are fairly large (our frame of reference is French ** and *** hotels) and comfortable. The hotel has a bar and restaurant. The restaurant opened at 8:30, on the late side to our preferences. The bar offered modest tapas to hold us over until opening time. Our two nights of dinners were adequate but uninspired (54 euros) but convenient in that we did not have to search out an alternative. There are other restaurants across the street. The reason to stay here is to visit the monastery of Suso (well worth it) and to tour the surrounding area, which is generally nice countryside. We'd gladly stay here again, but be inclined to explore meal alternatives.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

My Wife and I have just returned from a ten day stay (mid-August) at this Hotel, and had a wonderful time. Yes the Hotel is quiet, which is what we wanted, no disco's. The building itself is unique and attractive. Parking is next to the Hotel in a Free public car-park. Our room had a very high ceiling, was big and well appointed with an excellent en-suite bath and shower room. Being on the second floor we had stunning views of the surrounding countryside. The three feet thick walls keep the main building cool even in extreme heat. The staff were lovely, very helpful and attentive, even though we could not speak Spanish we made heavy use of our phrase book. The breakfasts are good value as are the fixed menu evening meals at 14 euros. The adjoining monastery must be seen, it is exceptionally beautiful. The village is small with only three bars/restaurants,but you could not visit this Hotel without a car, and if you have a car you can easily drive to nearby towns. For a quiet stay in a lovely traditional Spanish Hotel, we highly recommend it. However if you want a disco and lots of noise don't go to this hotel.

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool or fitness center. Little English is spoken in this rural area of Spain so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WILLIAMP P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Our guidebook rated this hotel 4-stars, and while it was well-appointed, comfortable and spacious, it lacked atmosphere, especially considering it was part of an old monastery and located on a beautiful hillside in wine country. The hotel seemed well equipped to handle tour groups, though none were there that night. Perhaps because we were there in early June our double room was only 50 euros! We had a good, but not great dinner, and enjoyed the monastery's own wine. There were several restaurants adjacent to the site, which we didn't check out. The breakfast buffet was huge and even included scrambled eggs and bacon. The reception staff were quite warm and we were grateful for their help in untangling some details of our next hotel reservation.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jWBurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
287 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012 via mobile

We spent a night here in May 2012. The setting is sublime; the rooms are large and very well appointed. The restaurant was excellent with very efficient service despite a walking tour of 22 people all eating at the same time. Their own label wine is not to be missed and is a real bargain. We would go back without hesitation.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank linskitours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Millan de la Cogolla
9.1 mi away
Parador de Santo Domingo de la Calzada
Parador de Santo Domingo de la C...
#1 of 4 in Santo Domingo de la Calzada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
7.5 mi away
Real Casona de las Amas
13.3 mi away
Hotel La Capellania
Hotel La Capellania
#2 of 2 in San Asensio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Hotel Los Agustinos
4.1 mi away
Hotel Conde de Badaran
Hotel Conde de Badaran
#1 of 1 in Badaran
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
9.5 mi away
La Antigua Ferreria Hotel Rural
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria del Monasterio de San Millan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria del Monasterio de San Millan

Property: Hosteria del Monasterio de San Millan
Address: Monasterio de Yuso, 26326 San Millan de la Cogolla, Spain
Region: Spain > La Rioja > San Millan de la Cogolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Millan de la Cogolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hosteria del Monasterio de San Millan 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our **** Hosteria de San Millan is a paceful hotel inside Monasterio de Yuso,in San Millan de la Cogolla, Valley of Cardenas river, birthplace of Castillian Language and UNESCO human heritage,located into route of monasteries of La Rioja, Way of Santiago, Wine Riojan route, and close to golf club, sky station and many outdoor activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hosteria del Monasterio de San Millan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Del Monasterio De San Millan San Millan De La Cogolla, Spain - La Rioja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing