We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, friendly staff, clean rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Promessi Sposi
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Malgrate
Reviewed 20 December 2011

We first stayed at Promessi Sposi in 2004 and have visited for a short break nearly every year since. We have just returned from a 3 day break, the views are breathtaking! We stayed in a refurbished room, with a balcony overlooking the lake, which was very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was a little disappointing during this visit, we've previously had fresh coffee but now coffee is available from a machine, still good but not quite the same. We dined at the Pizzeria, which has always been excellent value with great food and wine. We were not disappointed on this occasion. We also had a meal at the Promessi restaurant, which was great, the service was friendly, food good and as a Promessi hotel resident are given 10% off the total bill! The only issue that we have ever had with this hotel is the road noise, the road to Bellagio is busy and the traffic starts early. Highly recommended for a short break in Italy with a great view. If you're in to skiing, visit Piani di bobbio, which is a short drive, amazing hiking too.

Room Tip: Request a balcony room, you'll not be disappointed with the view. The rear rooms overlook the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carr2528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Promesi Sposi in Malgrate as part of a trip to the Italian Grand Prix at Monza arranged through Select Motor Racing- good choice Kevin.
This was a good clean, comfortable and friendly 3 star hotel in a lovely location by the lake. The staff were friendly and attentive.
The room was a good size, very clean, with a great shower (no bath), air conditioning and an in room fridge.
As a base for the race and a few days after exploring the area it was great.
Although Malgrate is a bit remote from the main town of Lecco the bus stop for services in to Lecco or up to Bellagio is right at the door and there was a very good Pizzeria a few minutes walk away with some good local shops. Alternatively it's a 20 minute walk in to Lecco.

A very pleasurable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil1969_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights on the way home to the UK from Puglia. We had a front balcony room with a great view over Lake Como. The room was of a reasonable size with a fridge but only 2 hangers in the wardrobe! On immediate request this was increased to 4 and then only after another request the next day to more. We also had only one chair on the balcony and had to ask twice to get a second. Breakfast was reasonable. We ate in the hotel restaurant across the road overlooking the lake only once and was not impressed either with the service (attempting to remove plates whilst still eating, etc) or the food. The view here again was the main attraction. The hotel has a free car park, but apart from its position overlooking the lake was a mediocre 3 star.

Room Tip: Request a front lake view room for which there may be an additional charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BucksJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed only one night and liked the room we had. We asked for a room with a view and the staff made sure we received it at no additional cost. The service was great. The air conditioning was not the best and the wi fi was very slow, however for a short stay this hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nini1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

This is a gem of a hotel, we stayed there as a base for the Italian grand Prix. It felt like coming home after an exhausting day.... lovely relaxing hotel, beautiful views and very friendly staff .The location was marvelous, quiet and only a stroll away from the lively town of Lecco.
The interior of the hotel is immaculate and I would not have been dissapointed if i had honeymooned there as the bedrooms are beautiful with spectacular views of the lake.

The buffett breakfast was very fresh with items being constantly and quickly replenished and the coffee freshly ground.

As said at the start this is a gem of a hotel, when people left and the rooms cleaned the owner checked to make sure they met his standards - he obviously had a great eye for detail !!!!!!!!

Would come back again no problem, Malgrate and Lecco are great for a relaxing holiday and the people are so friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimliz12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Chiedere una stanza con vista lago.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MFVM105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank cbattistel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casaSullAlbero, Direttore generale at Hotel Promessi Sposi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malgrate
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Griso Lecco
0.7 mi away
NH Lecco Pontevecchio
1.0 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#1 of 1 in Valmadrera
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Park Hotel Abbadia
Park Hotel Abbadia
#1 of 1 in Abbadia Lariana
185 reviews
14.3 mi away
Locanda Sant'Anna
Locanda Sant'Anna
#4 of 4 in Argegno
94 reviews
13.8 mi away
Locanda Milano 1873
Locanda Milano 1873
#2 of 3 in Brunate
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Promessi Sposi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Promessi Sposi

Address: Via Italia 4, 23864 Malgrate, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Malgrate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Malgrate
Price Range: £52 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Promessi Sposi 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Promessi Sposi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Promessi Sposi Malgrate, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing