We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your very own private 5* accommodation...”
Review of B & B La Tortuga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B & B La Tortuga
Ranked #3 of 4 Meggen B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We arrived after dark to the bed and breakfast, the parking is easy and on entering the property you get a very nice warm homely feel. Their home is decorated beautifully and we were shown to our room, which was spacious and very very nice. We had the terrace room. In the morning, we woke up to an amazing view! We had young children with us and so asked for breakfast on the terrace so we didn't have to wake the sleeping children! They were very kind and brought our food down... And we sat and enjoyed the wonderful view of Lake Luzern. The next morning we had more time to enjoy the bed and breakfast. The living area is very nice, comfortable with a good selection of books. The outside terrace, where you eat breakfast, has a spectacular view.
So to sum up, very nice quality, very good kind and accommodating hosts, comfortable quiet room with an amazing view!
Thank you very much for a wonderful stay!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

My sister and I booked a 5 night stay at this B&B. It was wonderful for many reasons. The hostess was very accommodating and welcoming. The house is located on a hill over looking the Lake and the views are fantastic. It is on a dead end street and very quiet and only a 10 minute drive by car to Lucerne. The bus stop is about a 10 minute walk away as well.There are 3 rooms available - we stayed at the South Room which downstairs on the ground floor of the house. It has a private outdoor space with table and chairs to use and one can look at the lake. The WC has a great shower. There were plenty of plush towels and linens on the bed are of high quality. This room is close to the indoor pool which I used nearly everyday. The breakfasts were excellent in terms of quality and quantity. We had freshly squeezed OJ and fresh fruit selection every day. Bio milk and yogurt, 2 types of cereal, cheeses and wonderfully brewed coffee and tea. Freshly made breads/rolls and an assortment of jams and honey was also offered. One could have eggs too if desired. I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: If you want a room that you can access without using stairs, stay in the North room. Take note that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

My husband & I stayed here a few days ago, and would highly recommend this B&B. It is a gorgeous home with the most spectacular views of Lake Lucerne & the Alps. You will not be disappointed with this choice of lodging. Kathryn & Ernest are very gracious hosts, and breakfast was delicious. I was even able to do laundry there for a nominal fee. Free parking. Also met a couple from Scotland who were equally charming, and we plan to have dinner with them in Glasgow area when we are there next week - a very small world, indeed! Thank you, Kathryn & Ernest for making your beautiful home available to us. We will remember it and you for a very long time. Also, there were no stairs to deal with unless you stay in lower level but that stairway is very easy to maneuver. Highly recommend this hidden gem.

Room Tip: Queen bed in street level room. King bed in lower level room that has private balcony overlooking La...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janbsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

This was our final stop on our European vacation and we couldn't have stayed in a better place.
Our room was comfortable, clean, and beautifully done. We had a wonderful view of Lake Luzern. Breakfast was great. Our favorite part was the swimming pool (jets, massage chair), steam shower, and sauna. They had an awesome "sun room" next to the pool area that had lounge chairs etc. It was great and I highly recommend this place if you don't feel like the hustle and bustle of Luzern (which we didn't.) Kathrin is wonderful and very helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KRTravelers11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We spent two nights at La Tortuga, which offered modern and luxurious accomodation. It was a lovely way to round off our holiday having spent a very energetic first half hiking in the mountains, and so some luxury and relaxation was such a treat. The host Katherine was extremely polite, efficient and there to help if we should need anything. The room was clean to a high standard and comfortable. The breakfast was healthy yet yummy :-). It included bio products- cereals, fruit, freshly squeezed orange juice, egg, yoghurt. This was enjoyed on the stunning terrace with the most spectacular view across Lake Lucerne - awesome! It exuded a tranquil and serene feeling. The facilities were great, and we left feeling revitilised, and would highly recommend this lovely BnB.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Em B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

When we decided to visit Switzerland my wife and I wanted the real BnB experience. We looked up the BnB on the Swiss official website and it has 5 stars attributed to it. We decided this was the place to go. It's a beautiful house run by Katherine, who went out of her way to make sure we were very comfortable. Things I loved:
1. Indoor swimming pool
2. Amazing breakfast
3. Clean rooms
4. A great patio with a view of the lake and mountains
5. Only a short ride from lucerne on bus #24

We loved it there and wish we could stay there longer. Will definately be going back when we visit lucerne again.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mehtap3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

This is unlike your regular B&B - it is very special and only for the discerning. It has magical views across Lake Lucerne and spacious accommodation which makes the most of the scenery around it. Kathrin Seiler is very discreet in her attention, but is there should you need assistance. Breakfast is bio and adequate, and the views take your breath away. The pool. steam room, sauna and winter garden room would put many a 4* hotel to shame and it is available for your use at your leisure. To watch the sun come up over the lake and mountains from this area is exquisite. However, one small issue - to stay here you do need to be able bodied as there are a number of steps involved in using the facilities and reaching your accommodation. That said, this is a wonderful place in which to explore Mount Pilatus and this part of Switzerland and there are many walks within easy reach.

Room Tip: South Room or SC Apartment have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WorlTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Meggen hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Balm Meggen
Hotel Balm Meggen
#1 of 1 in Meggen
198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gasthaus zum Kreuz
Gasthaus zum Kreuz
#1 of 4 in Meggen
36 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Schloessli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B & B La Tortuga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B & B La Tortuga

Address: Haltenriedstrasse 20, Meggen 6045, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Meggen
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Meggen
Price Range: £143 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — B & B La Tortuga 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your B & B La Tortuga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B & B La Tortuga Meggen, Switzerland - Canton Of Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing