We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this Hotel”
Review of Swiss Chalet Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swiss Chalet Lodge
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Merlischachen
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved this Hotel”
Reviewed 26 September 2010

My wife and I stayed at this hotel both coming and going to Switzerland. We loved the quaintness of the Chalet as well as the European style beds. The rooms were clean and quiet. We had a double the first 2 nights we stayed. It was actually an studio type room with en suite bath, kitchen and dining area. This was given to us as a free upgrade because the cab driver that dropped us off ripped us off. The innkeeper felt quite bad and gave us this free upgrade. The taxi was in no way connected with the hotel. We had dinner at the restaurant on location and the food was excellent as was the service. Breakfast was included in the price of the room. About $125 US. This hotel is about a 40 minute drive from Zurich or you can take the train and a taxi. We enjoyed this hotel and the people that worked at the front desk so much, we stayed with them again prior to leaving Switzerland from Zurich. There is a lake with a free paddle boat as well as a small beach to swim from. The pool and sauna were great and relaxing after a hard day of hiking the mountains. Great value, staff, and food. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmf60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    81
    32
    19
    13
See reviews for
64
111
3
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

I had kind of run out of last minute options within my budget and I had to book this hotel. This hotel has two buildings old and new building and we were put up in the older building. This hotel really looks like a nice,typical swiss chalet but looks can really be decieving! It was really dark, dingy and when we opened our room it kind of smelt weird, as if the room had not been aired out for quite a long time ! Our room was quite accomodating enough for 3 of us, me, my husband & our 4 yr old daughter. But the bathroom was really very small !!. Also the room floors creaked a lot and we could hear our neighbors talking ! Next day breakfast was quite unappealing, being vegetarians our only option was bread,cheese and cereal. Luzern city is quite a bit of drive from the hotel, so the location also was not that good. It took us around 20 min one way to reach the city. We just spent 1 night at this hotel which was enough for us to get an old, rustic swiss chalet experience but probably would go for a better hotel next time !!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charmi_shah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2010

We stayed one night at the Schloss Hotel - this is the building across the street from the Chalet Hotel (same owner).
We didn't know that there were 2 styles (actually we found out there is a third property down the street, as well) when we booked, but were delighted with our room and the medieval "knight" theme of the hotel.
Our room was about $125 USD for a double, booked online, much discounted off the rack rate.
We had ensuite shower and toilet.
The room was on the 1st floor (main floor is 0) and very quiet. The room was very warm, but a fan was provided, and we slept with the balcony and window open. No airconditioning, as is typical of the hotels we stay in while in Europe.
The restaurant in the Chalet Hotel across the street had a wonderful Swiss buffet breakfast (included), and we had fondue there for dinner. The staff was professional, and spoke English, although I do speak some Swiss-German.
I was unable to get a Wi-Fi signal there, although it was advertised as available (for a fee).
The pool was closed for a private event while we were there.
There is a lovely garden/yard overlooking the VIierWaldStatterSee (Lake Lucerne) for all patrons of the hotels to use (there is a 3rd hotel down the street with hot tub and sauna, also shared by the same group of hotels). We would have loved to linger in the garden and ride the pedalboat and enjoy the scenery longer. We are considering returning to this hotel as a base (instead of Zurich) on our next trip.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanRDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2010

This hotel has two buildings. The one is modern (advertised) and the other one is an old chalet type building (not comfortable). The hotel did not provide clarity about this during the reservation to start with. Room was small, but OK for sleeping. Dinner was good and well prepared. Over-all OK, if you don't find better places in Luzern. It is rather far from the main city.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curious_journey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2009

This is - without a doubt - one of the strangest hotels I've ever stayed in.
Its sort of a question of where to begin? We stayed in the Swiss Chalet -one of three hotels owned by the same person in the small town of Merlinschachen. In most hotels you have drawings or prints on the wall - in this there were articles about the owner (in German). Oh and drawings of the themed rooms in hotel across the road (such as the Stork Room which has lots of lace).
We were in suite on the first floor with two bedrooms and a small entrance area with the TV and two chairs. The theme of our room was dark. Seriously dark, even when you turned on the lights. Even in the room we used, there was a bedside table lamp, but no obviously outlet to plug it into.
The hotel is in a 17th century building (apparently), so I didn't expect it to be flash, but a bit of sound-proofing for the floors would be in order. In the night I could hear the people walking around upstairs. Also - our bathroom mirror was cracked - is there any reason not to repair that?
Check-in was also confusing - we knew which hotel we were in, so went there to register, but no one was there. Only a phone which connects you to reception at the main hotel, where they send someone over. Why have a check-in area if no one is there?
The town is very small, with one train an hour to Lucerne. As we had a car, we drove into town, which was easily done. Without a Swiss Rail Card, the train journey looked very expensive.
We didn't eat dinner at the hotel, though we probably should have because when we came back from Lucerne it looked quite popular. It isn't cheap to eat at the hotel, but no more expensive than the rest of Lucerne.
Breakfast was buffet style with rolls and sliced meats. During breakfast music is played in a looped tape. This tape only had three pieces of music: Beethoven, an even more boring arrangement of a James Blunt song, and a third song I didn't recognise. We took our time eating and must have heard these songs at least five times.
I chose this hotel because I thought it might be nicer than the Ibis hotel which is also near Lucerne and because breakfast was included. The standard of the rooms was slightly below Ibis-level, but the price was considerably more.
Finally, the website for this hotel is only in German so it wasn't easy to book (I speak only enough German to get by). I know that I shouldn't expect to go to a foreign country and expect them to speak English, but: A. German is only one of three languages spoken in Switzerland and B. Every other website I've used has a button for and English version to attrack international tourists. I don't know why I bothered making the effort to book here.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catannes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Haag
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2009

We stayed in the Schloss Hotel and had a lovely big room with a big balcony overlooking the gardens and the lake. We hadn't booked a room on the lakeside but were upgraded for free when we arrived. It was clean and comfortable though the beds were somewhat squeaky. It provided us a great base to explore Lucerne and trips into the mountains. The staff who were very friendly recommended we go up the Titlis mountain which we did and we had a great time. The food which is served off premises in the other part "The Swiss Chalet" was excellent. The indoor swimming pool was really warm, heated up to 34 degrees!

Downsides was it had wifi internet for the guests but was wholly inadequate to useless, you were lucky if you could get a weak signal for less than a minute at any point in time. Some people from the Swiss Chalet had figured out that they could sneak into and use the swimming pool and hog the towels, loungers etc without paying for it which wasn't nice. There was no airco or fans in the room which made them hot and stuffy in August.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilah2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nürnberg
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2009

we really like this hotel,,rooms are in a good shape,,bathrooms are new.and we love the boat...the hotel ve private paddle boad for their guest.very nice garden and a good breakfast,location is also very nice.good value of money.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shivangiagrawal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merlischachen
0.0 mi away
Schloss-Hotel
Schloss-Hotel
#1 of 3 in Merlischachen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jagd-Schloss
Jagd-Schloss
#3 of 3 in Merlischachen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
2.7 mi away
Seehof du Lac Hotel
Seehof du Lac Hotel
#6 of 17 in Weggis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Rigi Kaltbad
Hotel Rigi Kaltbad
#1 of 3 in Rigi Kaltbad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
2.7 mi away
SeeHotel Gotthard
SeeHotel Gotthard
#3 of 17 in Weggis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
2.6 mi away
Post Hotel Weggis
Post Hotel Weggis
#11 of 17 in Weggis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Chalet Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Chalet Lodge

Property: Swiss Chalet Lodge
Address: Luzernerstrasse 204, Merlischachen 6402, Switzerland (Formerly Schloss-Hotel Swiss-Chalet)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Schwyz > Merlischachen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Merlischachen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Swiss Chalet Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Typically Swiss The quaint Swiss-Chalet Bed & Breakfast, a wooden house built in the 17th century in a typical Swiss farmhouse style, offers a special atmosphere. Low ceilings, a lot of wood and creaky beams are an experience which you otherwise find in the lofty heights of the mountains. We offer you free parking spaces at the large parking area on the opposite side of the street. Both restaurant and bar are located in the same building. There we serve as well the breakfast from 06.00 – 10.00 o’clock. Check-in & Check out will be in the Schloss-Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Swiss Chalet Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schloss Hotel Merlischachen
Swiss Chalet Lodge Switzerland/Merlischachen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing