We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and warm”
Review of Casa Sonia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Sonia
Ranked #1 of 1 Busquistar B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We stayed a couple of nights in what we thought was the cutest or a least the more authentic village in Las Alpujarras.

Located at the heart of Busquistar, it is an ideal base camp for hikes in the valley. After a long day you may sit around the stove and relax in the cosy living room (provided with board games for rainy days). Sonia is a very welcoming host and will cook a hearty dinner with local produce (make sure you call in to let her know of your coming). She also gave us plenty of useful advice for the rest of our trip in the region.
The rooms are clean and warm with beautiful wooden beams. A small terrace with some chairs provides a great view on the valley.

We thought it to be a great escape from the spiritless touristy hotels of the big cities.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have a beautiful view overseeing the valley and the village's roofs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2012

The hotel is un Busquistar, one of the most authentic villages in the Alpujarras. Our room was simple but clean and sufficiently large. The owner, Sonia, is very attentive and ready to help her guests by giving them very useful information. Breakfast very good.
Ideal base for hiking.
remark: the hotel can only be reached on foot. Parking 250 m far.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROetLU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

One of the most outstanding bed and breakfast or Casa Rural we have ever stayed in, Just dont ask a local for Calle San Francisco they wont know it, just ask for Cas Sonia!
The food was delicious, the friendliness superb and the attention to detail was special.
Cant speak too highly of this establishment.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJ3264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

very very lovely. faultless, including the breakfast

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolly p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2007

I was so charmed by this wonderful rural hostel in such a tranquil traditional village as Busquistar. Cars are not allowed in the interior, thus you have to be willing to trek up or down on foot through the narrow streets of this mountainside village.
Even after braving the mountain roads to get there, it was definitely worth it.!

One of the nicest rustic hotels I've been in. It's got the basics, they kept it simple, but very tastefully doneThe owners, Marjolijn and Adwin (from Holland) are very friendly and hospitable. In the very cosy hotel lobby there is information enough about the available hiking trails and walks in the surrounding area.

I can't wait till we return with few good books and some hiking shoes!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ZANDVELD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank javier T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmigaDeSonia, Owner at Casa Sonia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Sababu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmigaDeSonia, Gerente at Casa Sonia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Busquistar
2.2 mi away
El CastaNar Nazari
El CastaNar Nazari
#1 of 1 in Busquistar
305 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mecina Fondales Hotel
Mecina Fondales Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mecina Fondales
93 reviews
10.7 mi away
Alcadima Hotel
Alcadima Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lanjaron
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Villa de Bubion
4.8 mi away
La Fragua II
La Fragua II
#1 of 2 in Trevelez
58 reviews
3.9 mi away
Meson Poqueira
Meson Poqueira
#3 of 3 in Capileira
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Sonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Sonia

Address: Calle San Francisco, 18416 Busquistar, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Busquistar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Busquistar
Price Range: £57 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Sonia 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tastefully modernized guest-house located in the traditional village of Busquistar in the Natural Park of Sierra Nevada.Breakfast is included in the price and dinner is available with prior arrangement. There are 6 spacious and comfortable double rooms all with private bathroom and heating. The house also has a terrace and a lounge with wood burning stove. A library of information of short walks and longer treks in and around the Natural Park is available and we offer the transfer of luggage for hikers walking on to the nearby villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Sonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing