We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Astounding Preservation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelo Monasterio de Boltana
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boltana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Paris, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Astounding Preservation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

Beautiful location in the area of Ainsa, near wonderfully-restored hilltop towns of Aragon. I stayed at this hotel for one week and was amazed at the spiritual Indonesian-inspired furnishings within the historic monastery frame. The rooms were not amazing, but still very comfortable (matresses, bathroom, etc);
Service was always friendly and meals were delicious. There was even a chocolate fountain at breakfast, which was a bit overdone.
Unfortunately I did not get a chance to try the spa, but the pool was a welcome break after a hot day outside.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cali_girl_kara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,786 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    935
    538
    209
    59
    45
See reviews for
346
1,148
23
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

We booked a separate cottage which we thought would be a better option then the hotel, however the cottage was not 5 star at all, may be solid 4. I'd prefer we stayed at main building which seemed to be better option. Location wise, it is good place to stay when travelling through mountains. Another downside was that the Wi-Fi was working only in certain places inside the hotel.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmitry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Hotel is very near by car to some of my favourite spots in Pyrenees: Ordesa National Park, Pineta Valley and Monte Perdido. In terms of facilities is great. Architecturally is very nice. Service is alright. Spa and water circuit is very complete and well maintained.

I got a bit dissapointed in Restaurant by service and quality and extension of menu.

Other than that I enjoyed it and liked it very much. Ideal for couples. I recommend it and will hopefully come back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meridio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

We stayed for 3 nights at this hotel. I have to say that the facilities are great, the hotel is really beautiful, peaceful, and well located close to nice mountain villages. We though would be a great experience.
But service was really bad, not at all according to a 5 stars hotel. Food was terrible. I don`t know if it was because the hotel was fully booked and they were not prepared for that at all, or it's just always bad. Bar and restaurant service was terrible. Waiters tried their best to be nice, but they were rushing around all the time, food was terrible, dishes arrived always cold, and worst thing, it was all as expensive as the best restaurant ever! Worst thing is once there, you do not have much options to eat unless you take the car and go to another village (closest 6 km)
Breakfast was correct, but I higly recommend anyone staying to avoid lunch, dinner, appetizer, snacks, etc, etc as it's not worth at all what it costs.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulaEme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
123 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

Stayed here for a night on our way through Spain.Lovely location in the mountains,just outside Boltana.
The hotel is set in its own grounds with plenty of free parking in those gounds,though not secure parking.
The building is quite impressive inside,so long as you accept the monastery feel.If you want bright and modern interiors this maybe isn`t for you.
Check-in,like check-out was pretty straightforward.The room was a decent size,clean and equipped perfectly adequately.TV was modern with a couple of English language news channels..Bathroom was fairly large with enough towels and toiletries.
We had an evening meal in the large restaurant and the food and service was excellent.Breakfast next morning in the dining area downstairs was also plentiful,though the room was a little cramped and breakfast was not as relaxing as ideally I would have liked because of the number of people using the self service buffet at the same time.
The bar area is fine.
The swimming pool was a reasonable size, it was unused for our entire stay-perhaps because people were put off slightly by the quite cold temperature of the water.
Overall we had a pleasant stay during a tranquil time just before high season and if you`re in this neck of the woods it`s a good choice.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dongola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zaragoza, Spain
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

Foutunately we got a worthy offer, arriving on thrusday since wk are considerably more expensive.
The spa, the historical building and the common lounge together with a breakfast buffet with a chocolate fountain and champagne included were the best of our stay.
But talking about rooms I can't say the same, decoration was a bit shabby with yellowish patterned cots, cushions and curtains all together, heating didn't work and we had to change the room at midnight without receiving any apologies or compliment from the front desk.
Bathrooms were very nice as well as amenities, but as I said bedrooms are not what i expected.

Room Tip: Take advantage of offers and discounts
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank choni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilbao, Spain
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

This place is the most amazing hotel I have stayed at for a long time. Wonderfully renovated monastry, combining the old and the new beautifully. Spa, swimming pool, bar, restaurant. Great place to relax, and even spot a couple of famous sportsmen chilling out. Very recommendable for relaxing break from the world.
Didn't stay in a villa but did see them and they are great.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie0276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boltana
2.8 mi away
Hotel & SPA Pena Montanesa
16.9 mi away
Parador de Bielsa
Parador de Bielsa
#1 of 3 in Bielsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Sanchez
Hotel Sanchez
#3 of 9 in Ainsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Los Siete Reyes
Los Siete Reyes
#1 of 9 in Ainsa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Dos Rios Ainsa
3.0 mi away
Hotel Turmo
Hotel Turmo
#1 of 1 in Labuerda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Monasterio de Boltana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Monasterio de Boltana

Property: Barcelo Monasterio de Boltana
Address: Diseminado Afueras s/n, 22340 Boltana, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Aragon > Province of Huesca > Boltana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boltana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Barcelo Monasterio de Boltana 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Barcelo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Monasterio de Boltana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Hotel Huesca
Monasterio De Boltana Barcelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing