We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip off website reservation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Monasterio de Boltana
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boltana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Becket, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rip off website reservation”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

DON'T MAKE A RESERVATION on the website !!!
I did, or thought I did, since I got no confirmation in mid- May. A week later the event there that we were going to was cancelled and I inquired if they had and could they please, cancel the reservation. They said they could cancel for full price only and later that day they sent the first confirmation of the reservation.
I asked the organisers of the event (The Order of St. James) to help and Barcelo charged me the full amount, without even responding to me. Don't trust them. With this level of E. coli in the management of the place, I'd never eat at their restaurant or swim in their pool !!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,942 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,004
    589
    229
    72
    48
See reviews for
387
1,242
23
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
430 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Spent one night. Was fine, nothing to go out of your way for but also pretty reasonably priced. Large somewhat corporate feel. Old monastery conversion is interesting.Villas in back were bit generic, almost like a nice motel. Next to pretty river which is nice.
Lunch in bar area was good, very friendly service. Breakfast buffet was also fine. Beautiful pool area, lots of grass, and large tile pool. (We played tennis in town, need to get key from restaurant Parador in Boltana, hotel staff didn't know this).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HClowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawkhurst, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I stayed here with my parents in July-August 2013. We had driven down from England, with a stop-over in France.

When we arrived, the place looked very nice. The receptionists were brisk but efficient, and we were soon on our way to our room. The villas are round the back, a short drive from the main building. It's not the most attractive layout - one long line of rooms, on two floors. The parking is also part of the view - not hugely attractive.

Coming to the room - when I first entered, I was pleased to find it has air con, and so was pleasantly cool, especially when the temperatures outside were reaching 38C! The room was fairly modern, especially the bathroom, which was nicely done, despite the lack of a toilet brush. However, the lighting in the room was really not up to scratch - it was very difficult to read in bed. On the topic of the bed, it was not long enough! The pillow kept falling off the end, as it was not against a wall, but then when I moved it against the wall, it didn't have a headboard, so wasn't the most comfortable. There wasn't a plug by the bed, so it was hard to have my phone as my alarm clock.

There is a pool at the hotel , but it is far too small for a hotel of its size, especially one that is marketed as a spa hotel. The opening times are also a little restrictive. There is also nowhere to dry one's swimming trunks after use.
The spa however, is excellent (if a little expensive). There are various small pools with water jets, two steam baths, and various novel showers - hot, cold, aromatic etc.

Another major downside is the cost of the WiFi. It costs 20 euros PER DEVICE PER WEEK to use it. with 4 devices in the family, a stay of 2 weeks becomes ridiculously overpriced.

On to the food now, and the breakfast is simply brilliant. There is a huge variety of food, be it hot, cold, cereal, bread, meat, cheese.The one problem was that there never seemed to be enough hot water for making tea.
The food in the hotel restaurant was fairly good ,but I was brought the wrong fish, and service quality and attentiveness could have been better.

All in all, this isn't a bad hotel compared to many in the world, but for the price you pay to stay here, you'd expect a lot more service and amenities.

Room Tip: The villas aren't the nicest - go for a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeeskiRamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Upon arrival the hotel is an impressive renovated monastery. It's more os a family hotel with a pool and gardens and lots of children. Staff were slow - it took over a day to replace our fridge which was not working, and to unblock the toilet from the previous guests. What this place has is charm and setting and the staff seem to think that is enough and they do no more. Plenty of parking and the breakfast has a vast range but is expensive as there's no alternative without driving.

Room Tip: do not overlook the pool if you want quiet as children enter early
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NightOwl1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights recently and as it was a 5 star hotel we had very high expectations which unfortunately were not met:
1) The Staff (except the restaurant waitress) were not very welcoming and sometimes seemed quite unfriendly.
2) Too many"extras" to be paid for: the wifi access had to be paid for for each device, you had to pay to access the spa even if you were not having a treatment.
3) The overall upkeep of the hotel was lacking: lights falling off the stairs, toilet coming off the wall, shower not cleaned properly.
Overall we were disappointed with this hotel.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank SmithJenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The facilities - room, bar and pool were very adequate in a location where there is nothing else to compare with. Staff were not, in the main, customer orientated. Bar snack food was disappointing and expensive. It seemed to me that most of the staff thought they were doing you a favour by being there.....not the best advert for this hotel group.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

After getting a call that morning from our original hotel that it was under water, and subsequently finding many roads across the mountains closed due to flooding, we found ourselves in Boltana. Many hotels in the area looked awful (and shut) but stumbled across this place which lifted our spirits after a day struggling to get anywhere.

Smart hotel with spa on outskirts of town, converted from a monastery with rooms in newer part of building. Surprisingly large rooms, with queen sized bed; very clean and well maintained. Restaurant was OK but nothing stand out; had better and paid less elsewhere. Breakfast was included in our rate and well worth it; haven't seen that much food at breakfast since I visited the US. The staff were welcoming, there's free onsite parking and the hotel itself is a wonderful building.

Not sure what the review that mentions this is "not suitable for someone self-driving across the pyrenees" is all about; if like us you've spent the day in a car this is just the place to unwind in.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boltana
2.8 mi away
Hotel & SPA Pena Montanesa
3.5 mi away
Hotel Sanchez
Hotel Sanchez
#2 of 9 in Ainsa
179 reviews
16.9 mi away
Parador de Bielsa
Parador de Bielsa
#1 of 3 in Bielsa
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Hotel Tierra de Biescas
17.0 mi away
Silken Ordesa
Silken Ordesa
#3 of 4 in Torla
289 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Dos Rios
Hotel Dos Rios
#1 of 9 in Ainsa
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Monasterio de Boltana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Monasterio de Boltana

Property: Barcelo Monasterio de Boltana
Address: Diseminado Afueras s/n, 22340 Boltana, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Aragon > Province of Huesca > Boltana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boltana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Barcelo Monasterio de Boltana 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Monasterio de Boltana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Hotel Huesca
Monasterio De Boltana Barcelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing