We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very relaxing”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Colombine

Private heated salt water pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private heated salt water pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Private heated salt water pool
Large spacious garden
Dining table
The kitchen
The kitchen
Lounge
Bedroom 1, king size bed, the entire property is on the ground floor
Bedroom 1, king size bed, the entire property is on the ground floor
Bedroom 2 Twin beds
Bedroom 2 Twin beds
Bathroom with bath, wet room shower and wc
Bedroom 3 can either be a twin room or large king double
Bedroom 3 can either be a twin room or large king double
Walk in shower and wash basin, next to a separate wc
Floor plan
Weekly farmers markets
Weekly farmers markets
Typical cafe culture in the area
Bordeaux museums
Vibrant Bordeaux
Amazing St Emilion
Historical towns to discover
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Duras, Lot-et-Garonne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Brenda B
Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very relaxing”
Reviewed 21 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

From reading all the previous reviews we realise that everyone has different priorities & expectations from a holiday home, we can only comment on ours.
The house is beautifully situated, well furnished, comfortable, and well equipped. The beds comfortable, nice linen etc. Dish washer, washer and microwave all fine. However the oven was very dirty and old, the age doesnt matter too much if it is clean, we are told it is to be replaced soon, we only used it once. Good wi-fi, and TV reception, if this is important. The pool excellent, well maintained with easy access. The shaded outside dining area is lovely particularly as we were lucky enough to have wall to wall sunshine for two weeks- 30/08 -13/09, many shaded areas within the garden too.
There is a very open feeling to the grounds, but the whole large area is shared with the owners house, however it is fairly private. If it is important to anyone, the area is not fenced in at all.
We did feel that in the matter of cleanliness, the house could use a little more TLC . We have spoken to the owner with regard to this.

Dave & Chris were very helpful with a couple of specific matters.

If there is something we would like to see & that is some "fly netting" on one window in each bedroom, we were lucky with the heat, and to have a window open at night would have been good.

We have visited this area many times & would not hesitate to return to Colombine or recommend it to others.

Romsey,
Hampshire

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quietness, situation and lovely pool
Liked least: Hard furniture !! uncomfortable sun loungers, but did get a change when asked.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2014
We welcome all feedback and as a result have replaced the oven and dealt with the other comments received.
In relation to the gardens, we would just like to clarify that although the grounds are shared with our house, this is only occupied for about 4 weeks a year so the rest of the time guests have sole use of the approximately 16 acres.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barry h
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“home in france”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Our third stay here, our third enjoyable, relaxing holiday despite the weather being less than its normal French self !!!! Hope to return again.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyDavi...
Cardigan, United Kingdom
1 review
“Idyllic country location but still close to lots of pretty villages! Stunning cottage, lots of space & a fantastic pool!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I would highly recommend this accomodation to anyone!! As we drove up the drive on our arrival the cottage and outside pool/eating area just simply blew us away! When we ventured inside it was just as breathtaking as the outside space! The building has been very well renovated with stunning stone walls. So pretty! There is lots of space inside and out, is very well equipped with everything you would need and is suitable for wheelchair access etc. The outside seating area is fantastic both in the day for a bit of shade and in the evening to listen to the abundance of wildlife and creatures in the garden. We will miss the evening chorus from the frogs and crickets etc. The pool and sunlounger area is lovely and very clean. The location is idyllic, very quiet and private but not too far from many little pretty villages! I would highly recommend visiting the morning markets in nearby villages, these take place in different villages on different days. We went to Duras market on Monday morning, Eymet on Thursday and Monsegur on Friday. There are also lots of pretty chateaux's to go and see in the area and you cant beat having a coffee in one of the many cafes as you soak up the french atmosphere and do a bit of people watching! We had an amazing holiday and cant wait to go back to Colombine but hopefully for longer next time!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronica...
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“R & R extreme”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed for 3 weeks at the end of May beginning of June. The weather was mixed at the beginning but turned to brilliant sunshine toward the end. The setting is beautiful, with the singing of the frogs and crickets at night and glow worms lighting the evening. The accommodation is spacious and well suited for those with mobility concerns. The local amenities are typically French and the people are welcoming and speak enough English so you can get along with little French speech. The management team for the accommodation are exceptional and went way beyond what would be reasonably expected of them to assist us. All round this is definitely the place to go for rest, relaxation, sunshine and beauty.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Weather
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ray S
Ewell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace and tranquility”
Reviewed 23 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

After a long search for a suitable property, we finally chose Colombine as it offered everything we needed. Being six adults and one 7 month old baby. One adult requiring wheelchair access, with cot and highchair for the baby. The property is well furnished and well equipped and is set in a quiet and peaceful location. Ideally suited to explore the bastide towns and villages of the region. Our only regret was the very disappointing weather, we missed the summer heat by two days making it too cold to enjoy the pool.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Weather
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barry h
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“return to peaceful bliss”
Reviewed 18 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

As promised we returned to Columbine in August and had an even more relaxing holiday than last year. Already booked for 2014 can't say more than that.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: tranquility
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing