We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Utter relaxation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Le Grand Maine

Private pool and second garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private pool and second garden
Direction from Villeneuve de Duras, we are next door to Grand Mayne Vineyard Grand Maine Gite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Private pool and second garden
Direction from Villeneuve de Duras, we are next door to Grand Mayne Vineyard
Grand Maine Gite
Access to the Gite on the first floor
Gite balcony and view of the neighbours plumb orchard
Lounge with access to the balcony
Spacious kitchen / breakfast room
Master bedroom
Double / Twin room with view of the private garden
Twin room overlooking the private garden
First private garden for a picnic and BBQ or just relaxing and sunbathing
Great views from the large private pool garden
Borrow our Gite bike to collect that all important croissant and pain in Villeneuve half a mile away
A review from one of our younger guests
Every Friday in the holiday season the local vineyard Grand Mayne hold wine sampling, BBQ & music
Duras night market every Thursday during the high season, dancing, music and local produce available
Plenty of places to visit for children of all ages available locally
Lovely views around the local area.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Duras, Lot-et-Garonne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
JoT764
Cullercoats, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Utter relaxation”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We've just returned from a week staying at this gite in rural France. The owners, Nicola and Adrian, are very accommodating, knowledgeable and welcoming, without being too intrusive. The gite was clean and very well furnished with everything we needed. Sadly the weather wasn't quite as nice as we'd hoped for, but luckily we paid to have the pool heating - best decision ever! The area is gorgeous - the local boulangerie around 10 mins walk away and a huge supermarket 10-15 mins drive away. The gite is located 5 mins walk from a vineyard, well worth a visit and quick tour! We enjoyed trips to Duras and Bergerac. We had lunch at La Terrasse in Duras which was lovely. The kids loved playing in the extensive garden - just watch out that Solo the dog doesn't pinch the balls or the diving sticks!! Only downside was that kiddie friendly stuff was quite a drive away - this would only matter if the weather wasn't brilliant. Ours were quite content in the stunning pool for 2-3 hours per day (which was fully alarmed and kept clean). All in all, a wonderful holiday and highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: Distance to child-friendly places
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley S
Staplehurst, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely Glorious”
Reviewed 14 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We really did have a wonderful fortnight in Nicola and Adrian's home. From the moment we arrived we felt very relaxed and at home, the house is very comfortable and a real home from home.

Nicola and Adrian offer a wonderful dining option which we took advantage of for our arrival after a very long drive down. We enjoyed a few long evenings chatting and sharing stories, we really do feel we have made some wonderful friends. Solo the dog is a superstar who is greatly missed by the children.

Having stayed in France several times previously we were slightly nervous about staying above the owners but I have to say It really did make the holiday a unique experience, Nicola and Adrian were on hand for any questions but we really did not know they were there most of the time.

We will certainly be returning here one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham R
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

After 25 years of holidaying in France this property ranks along side the best we have stayed in. Really well equipped, very comfortable and a lovely pool, we couldn't ask for more.
We were made to feel very welcome and we had all the ingredients of a really great holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool area
Liked least: Distance from village - not a big issue though
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: fantastic all round experience
Liked least: the fact we only stayed for one week !!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Faversham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall ambience, the peaceful location and the spaciousness of the accomodation.
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Greasby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: arriving
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the pool and the location
Liked least: our son making the dog bark with his constant football / ball throwing!!!
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing