We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab view, fab food, great hospitality”
Review of Vue de Duras

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duras
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vue de Duras
Ranked #2 of 9 Duras B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fab view, fab food, great hospitality”
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Fiona and Hugh are the perfect hosts, always making sure I was comfortable and going the extra mile at every opportunity. The house is beautiful, in amazing surroundings, and I was made to feel very welcome. I stayed for 4 nights and also took advantage of Fiona's offer to provide evening meals as I was there without a car. Fiona is a great cook and every meal was of restaurant standard. I am already looking forward to going back again to continue house hunting in the area - it's a particularly good base for that, being close to Duras.
Christine L.

Room Tip: I stayed in the room with the attached balcony, which was a lovely place to catch the sun and look a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
27
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

The view from 'Vue de Duras' is panoramic, taking in the castle and surrounding countryside, resplendent in white plum tree blossom. However, better still are the warm welcome, comfortable accommodation and good food offered in this little hideaway on the hillside. Fiona and Hugh make you feel at ease and at home form the start. They are relaxed and ensure that the house, your room and your eating experience with them help you to relax also. For us and for the other guests they demonstated an ability to suggest activities and places to visit, even taking us to visit a local domaine for wine tasting. I would recommend this as a worthwhile place to recharge you batteries.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 850Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh-Duras, Owner at Vue de Duras, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Many thanks Michael for your review. I thought that you'd like to know that the Château Terra wine you bought at Domaine Gourdon won a gold medal at the 24th Concours des Vignerons Indépendants in Paris on 23rd March. Best regards, Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

W e have stayed with Hugh & Fiona several times over the past 12 months and now, having purchased our own property round the corner, will only be able to have tea and coffee.
The house is excellent and in great shape, rooms are well, and recently, decorated and above all warm in the cold periods. Breakfast is very good - plenty of home made items, and the evening meals are equally as good.
Hugh and Fiona are both good company and can offer plenty of advice on all things local.

Room Tip: Wisteria has double aspect and a balcony and good for a slightly longer stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aubeterre-sur-Dronne, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2013

A freezing March day (and night)... I stayed with Hugh and Fiona in their very comfortable and warm bed&breakfast near Duras. Charming company, comfortable bed and an excellent breakfast. I will stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Many thanks to Hugh and Fiona for such a lovely couple of days at the Vue de Duras, and what a lovely view it is. High quality accommodation, good food and good company from our hosts. Many thanks, highly recommended.
Mark, Elaine & Katie.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed at the Vue de Duras during a trip around the Dordogne and received a very warm welcome from Fiona and Hugh. The house, pool and surroundings are delightful. We joined the hosts and other guests for dinner (although I understand this is not a regular occurrence) and had a really fun and enjoyable evening. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc_of_Distinction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful stay at Vue de Duras with Hugh and Fiona in their beautiful home. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel so welcome and special. We stayed in the Wisteria room and loved its twin aspect and amazing views. Breakfast was indeed a feast and we had our evening meal with them on three out of our six nights. Fiona has many talents and cooking is certainly one of them.
The B & B is a great base for interesting days out and Hugh and Fiona were really helpful with any infornation we needed, and upon our return were always ready with a welcome cup of tea.
We left to continue our French holiday in the Alps but feel sure we will return. Vue de Duras is a very special place run by two equally special people whom we now think of as friends.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duras hotels
0.4 mi away
Logis Hostellerie des Ducs
1.3 mi away
Labarthe
Labarthe
#1 of 9 in Duras
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
2.9 mi away
Le Manoir de Juillereau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Petit Clos Chambres d'hotes
Petit Clos Chambres d'hotes
#1 of 1 in Saint-Jean-de-Duras
5.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
2.9 mi away
Le Petit Coup
Le Petit Coup
#5 of 9 in Duras
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vue de Duras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vue de Duras

Property: Vue de Duras
Address: Gargot Sud | Savignac de Duras, 47120, Duras, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Lot-et-Garonne > Duras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Duras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chambres d'hotes / B and B and Gite situated three km from Duras, Lot et Garonne, surrounded by plum trees and vines with stunning views across the valley. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing