We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only hotel in Duras” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Logis Hostellerie des Ducs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Logis Hostellerie des Ducs
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Duras
Brighton
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The only hotel in Duras”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2011

This is the only hotel in Duras - part of the Logis de France chain. Conveniently located in the centre of the town and next to the tourist office. Friendly but somewhat inconsistent service during my 4 day stay there. Smart restaurant serving classic cuisine. The meal I had there one night was okay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    38
    20
    6
    4
See reviews for
22
45
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

Duras is quite a small village with lovely surrounding countryside. We stayed with family who had rented a gite in a nearby hamlet and so only slept at the hotel. This is probably why we didn't feel very welcome! The room was adequate, clean and functional, but the service left a lot to be desired. We had to ask for a breakfast each and getting a coffee after 10am was too difficult.
Went to the Monday morning market which was small and fun, and Duras is a great location to visit the vineyards and taste the local wine. There was a few nice bars, although not all are welcoming to the English. Reasonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReadingTweds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duras
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2010

I have lived near to Duras for about seven years and eaten in The Ducs about twice a year with never a bad meal. Having read the reports on this site I was quite reluctent to book again, thinking that it must be under new managment or something.But we wanted somewhere a little special for a Birthday celebration.
Well my conclusion is that nothing has changed,except that normally the bill would be about £200.00 and last night it was £120.00 for the same order. It was service with a smile as always and last night was very good value,I know that if we had gone to the pizzeria in Duras we would of spent the same amout of money.It was excellent service and value.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lamourachenord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2009

Duras is a smallish town with a couple of nice cafe's and castle with wonderful views. Night market was great fun; various stalls selling stuff as well as food & wine stalls plus entertainment. Hotel was OK, rooms are small but very clean. No air-con so it was quite warm. Pool was nice and also very clean. Owners speak very little english! Hotel has own secure car park at the rear. Breakfasts were great; we ate in the restaurant once and although it was was quite expensive; the food was very good. Have to agree with another reviewer about the service - it was not overly friendly or quick but as we were 2 families, we didn't really notice! All in all, a reasonable 2 - 3 star hotel which I would stay in again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jillicentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2009

I have been staying in a gite near Duras, so I can't comment on this hotel's accommodation. But I did have the misfortune to take a party of six people to the Hostellerie des Ducs for dinner.

The restaurant fails miserably both in terms of the food and the service.

We decided to treat ourselves to the "menu gastronomique" at 32 euros per head. In fact we paid a further 3 euro-per-head supplement to have the "rib of beef". This was undoubtedly the toughest and most tasteless piece of beef (if that was indeed what it was) I have ever encountered. Unfornately all six of us had ordered the same, and so six plates of gristle were left uneaten.

But the service is what really takes "le biscuit".

The staff clearly didn't like us because we were British -- an attitude that used to be common in France, but which I have rarely encountered in recent years. Our food was literally thrown on to the plate, some of it being dropped on to the ground for good measure. And then it was plonked in fromt of us with a surly scoul from the unsmiling waitress.

When I got back to the gite where we were staying, I found other comments in the guest book from other British people who had had a similar experience. Pity I didn't read this before I set out.

A waste of an evening -- and an expensive one as we paid far more here than we had at other excellent restauarants in the area.



English.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2008

just returned from a 2 night stay at the hostellerie des ducs.We needed 2 rooms as there were 5 of us in total . The hotel was lovely although air conditioning would have been a bonus.The rooms were of average size but extremely clean and well equipped.The staff were very accomodating .The doors are closed at 10pm however you are given a code to enter should you return later !The children loved the pool which was very quiet throughout our stay.The village of Duras is very pretty with the chateau de Duras a very pleasant 2 min walk from the hotel it gave us a great glimse of medieval life ,the views from the top turret are fantastic.The main square again a mere stroll from the hotel had a variety of cusine on offer and whilst we believe the hotel food to be very nice the 3 children prefered the menu of pizzas and pasta a short stroll away and the cakes in the pattiserie .A great hotel very peaceful and quaint .

  • Liked — central position ,very quaint
  • Disliked — no air conditioning
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tillielancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2007

My friend and I stayed at this sweet little hotel for a few days to vist our friends who were now living there,we were the only people there!As Duras is tucked away a bit,it means you have to have a go at schoolgirl french as the owners speak very little english ,and that's how it should be!I think I had room 9,although it was basic ,it was very clean,good bathroom and the view from the window overlooked the castle.The room was lovely and peaceful ,no noise from outside.In the morning they had the local market so we saw a lot of coming and going with french sticks tucked under their arms and baskets of fresh fruit and veg.We had a charming breakfast,little pots of pressed apples,all sorts of bread,fruit,jam,meats ,cheese,toast and although we didn't sit in the restaurant (we were in the reception area) it didnt matter.The owners told us that the restaurant wouldn't be open during our stay,well ,we were the only ones in,so if you do and want to eat in I would check it direct with them before you go.You do have some restaurants in Duras and the cafe in the square,do have a drink around 5-6pm(April) the sun is lovely and you have super views of the castle.Back to the hotel,Although I only give it 3 stars for the accomadation,for charm alone 5stars,we will be back!

  • Liked — the old age charm
  • Disliked — we couldn't eat at night as the restaurant was closed
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EastMidlandsMarash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duras
6.5 mi away
L'Etape Gasconne
L'Etape Gasconne
#1 of 1 in Allemans-du-Dropt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hotel Le Capricorne
Hotel Le Capricorne
#1 of 5 in Marmande
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
22.2 mi away
Hostellerie de Plaisance
Hostellerie de Plaisance
#1 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Chateau de Sanse
Chateau de Sanse
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Radegonde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
10.8 mi away
Les Vieilles Pierres
Les Vieilles Pierres
#1 of 1 in Eymet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
24.2 mi away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#2 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Logis Hostellerie des Ducs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Logis Hostellerie des Ducs

Property: Logis Hostellerie des Ducs
Address: Boulevard Jean-Brisseau, 47120, Duras, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Lot-et-Garonne > Duras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Duras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Logis Hostellerie des Ducs 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Logis Hostellerie des Ducs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Logis Hostellerie Des Ducs Hotel Duras
Hostellerie Des Ducs Duras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing