We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful house in well preserved medieval village”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of La Petite Maison

Picturesque Petite Maison in the village of Beynac
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Picturesque Petite Maison in the village of Beynac
The comfortable living area separates the bedrooms Sleep in a fairy tale setting: Napoléan bedroom with period four post bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Picturesque Petite Maison in the village of Beynac
The comfortable living area separates the bedrooms
Sleep in a fairy tale setting: Napoléan bedroom with period four post bed
Spectacular Beynac village with its charming houses and 12th Century Chateau
Relax in the comfy sitting room
Newly finished Louis XV Bedroom bathed in local honey-colored stone
Ensuite bath to Louis XV bedroom with exposed rock formation
Ensuite bath in the upstairs Napoléan bedroom
Les fleurs sur la terrasse
Get a birds-eye view of Beynac in a hot air balloon
Fully Equipped Kitchen makes eating in easy and stress-free
View from upstairs window
Symbol of Beynac, one of many architectural details of the house
Nearby biking path for an unforgettable experience
La Petite Maison is situated on the footpath leading to the Beynac Chateau
Entrance to La Petite Maison from the cobbled lane welcomes you home each night
Shop like a local on Market day in nearby St. Cyprien
Louis XV bedroom with its honey-colored limestone walls and antique furnishings
Gated terrace just outside the kitchen window
View of Beynac from Castelnaud
Rows of medieval and Renaissance houses line the cobbled lanes of Beynac.
Spend a lazy day canoeing down the Dordogne River. The views are breathtaking!
Hot air ballooning is a memorable and unforgettable splurge
Candle-lit evening at nearby Marqueyssac gardens with great views of Beynac
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Beynac-et-Cazenac, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Nora M
Oakland, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful house in well preserved medieval village”
Reviewed 15 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012
2
people found this review helpful

I highly recommend "La Petite Maison." It's in a terrific location right on the path up to the medieval chateau/fortress at the top of the hill. The whole village is well preserved, and quite quaint. Evening walks were just spectacular. There is so much to do in the region, and the owners provide extensive lists of activities for travelers of all ages. I followed much of what they recommended and was thrilled. Be sure to take the canoe trip down the Dordogne river. The food specialies of the region were another real highlight, be sure to try them out, you won't be sorry. I especially appreciated the well outfitted kitchen, enjoyed cooking with the local produce and such. Sharp knives, if you cook you know how important this is, and how rare in a vacation rental! We rented a beautiful (and super expensive) appartment in Paris afterward, and their kitchen was so sad compared to La Petite Maison's.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great kitchen, well desgined and full of everything a real cook needs
Liked least: Little village was noisy on our first night. Bring ear plugs.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol M
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Charming French Country Retreat”
Reviewed 1 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012

This charming cottage was perfect for my husband, me and our daughter. Both bedrooms offered their own individual charm and we found ourselves each liking the others. Lots of storage and very comfy beds. We cooked several meals at home and the kitchen was equipped with most everything required. It was conveniently located next to our favourite wine shop and the delicious La Petite Tonnelle Restaurant. It was very helpful having free long distance to North America as well as WI-Fi. There was a wonderful "welcome" basket in the cottage upon our arrival and Sarissa was very friendly and helpful in getting us settled. A beautiful area for all your castle viewing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The charm of the Dordogne Valley
Liked least: The rain
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huehueten...
Victoria, BC
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Amazing atmosphere and great value”
Reviewed 21 July 2011 for a stay in August 2010
3
people found this review helpful

Beynac is a central spot for exploring the beautiful Dordogne and Petit Maison is the perfect rental for a small family. Look at the VRBO website for the multitude of excellent reviews on this property. Petit Maison is one of the most photographed houses in Beynac as it straddles two cobblestone lanes on the way up to Beynac Castle. Petit Maison is authentic inside and out. It's within walking distance of good restaurants, a pharmacy, a grocery store and a good boulangerie. Vincent was great to deal with and he provided plenty of information regarding the area before and during our stay. Our family rented Vincent's other property in Beynac (see: Mont Joie) at the same time.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
papandsap
San Jose, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Experience in France”
Reviewed 7 July 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

My husband, teenage son and I truly enjoyed this lovely home in Beynac during our visit in July 2011. Not only was the location superb, but the historical ambiance, beautiful furnishings and high-standard amenities (great beds & showers) made our visit even more special. It was without a doubt the best rental we experienced during our month-long visit to France. The owners' written instructions were so fully detailed that we never had any questions. I don’t think there is one potential concern that they haven’t anticipated in a detailed, professional manner.

Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith_KMC
Webster, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A fantastic week (almost)”
Reviewed 9 March 2011 for a stay in April 2010

The "almost" comment is because we lost a day and a half to the Iceland volcano. I rated Excellent simply because La Petite Maison was the core of an Excellent overall experience.

The house is unique and has character; which means you have to deal with some idiosyncrasies. May not suit some but to me was part of the experience.

Because of the volcano, SNCF strike, Google maps error and my not reading directions properly (Souillac, Sarlat(!), Beynac) we got to Sarlat so late we stayed there a night. We were to return a couple of days because we enjoyed the town very much.

We spent the first day exploring the town and the chateau. After that we typically had a leisurely morning "at home", a driving tour in the afternoon with a nice dinner at the end before "home". I made the daily walk (climb up / down and back) to the shops at the 'upriver' end of town for bread and food. Very nice people. I enjoyed getting samples of cheeses I'd never had before.

As we're right on the path to the chateau I felt quite privileged to be relaxing in that location.

The climb to the chateau is very rewarding. Had a nice chat with the Dutch woman who has a store half way up. The restaurant by the chateau could have charged a fortune for drinks for panting tourists - but was reasonably priced and quite pleasant.

We had good food everywhere; dinner at La Petite Tonelle and lunch in Monpazier (not sure which resto) were the most memorable.

Daytrips to Sarlat, Hautefort and around the nearby countryside.

A lovely experience!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2018 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing