We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will not want to leave!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beynac-et-Cazenac
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Balcon en Foret - Chambres d'Hotes Dordogne
American Canyon, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“You will not want to leave!”
Reviewed 1 January 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Balcon en Foret in Oct 2012 - in the St. Hubertus suite. It was amazing! This is the 'french country by the river' experience we were looking for. The suite and the property itself is absolutely beautiful. The suite is very comfortable and spacious, with a huge master bedroom with fireplace and small dining table, separate study, toilet room and shower/bath upstairs. Sandra and Baudouin are warm, friendly and fabulous hosts that would give us tips each day on what was worth seeing and where to eat. They are the type of people that make you feel immediately at ease. We did enjoy a dinner made by Sandra and it was absolutely delicious! We live in the Napa Valley so our expectations of food and wine are quite high - and this dinner did not disappoint! The area itself is also amazing - we saw several castle ruins, cave paintings and visited the market in Sarlat. In our entire two week France vacation we went to four areas - Paris, Dordogne, Lyon and Provence - and this was our favorite of the entire trip. If you stay here you will not want to leave - it is truly wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scorpioliz72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
46
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We had a fabulous stay at le Balcon in September, staying in the beautiful St Hubertus suite, which was wonderful in so many ways, (and ideal for our family of 3!)
The room was a treat - spacious, with a separate study (with desk, nespresso machine and wine fridge with a selection of local wines at cellar door prices) which became our daughters bedroom, and the beautiful main room, very spacious by ordinary european accomodation standards, with dining table, furniture, a 4 poster-bed and a lovely wood-fire that we lit every night, and beautiful views across the valley!

Sandra and Badouin have put a lot of thought into making everything just right, and they are fantastic hosts, enjoy a glass of wine and a chat, and are very helpful in organising activities, restarants and other activities (and they can recommend a fantastic local laundry). We weren't fortunate enough to enjoy one of Sandra's highly recommended meals, but her passion for food and local ingredients was evident.
The property is located 3 minutes drive, or an easy walk from Beynac, which is perfectly suited for enjoying everything the Perigord Noir has to offer, and it is just magic sitting on the balcony overlooking the forrest, or perched in one of the many lounge chairs scattered throughout the garden or under the big oak tree.
Sandra and Badouin are warm welcoming and relaxed hosts, who put you at ease from the moment you arrive, and do everything possible to ensure a memorable stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank napoleanadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

We loved our stay earlier this year, it was truly wonderful and flawless. I had planned a special 10 day tour with my wife through France and booked a couple of days at le Balcon et Forêt for a romantic change of pace after New Years Eve in Toulouse.

Sandra and Baudoin were lovely hosts and made us feel like friends. They were very welcoming, friendly and sensitive to us. We were lucky to find a few hours with them chatting about all sorts of things. Their recommended us a lovely restaurant in the village with excellent food and wine (definitely try the Perigordian salad with duck and foie gras!). There is a nice stroll to the village from Tral Pech and other walks around the river (though not many places to cross nearby). The castle is definitely worth a visit too. As it was out of season, we practically had the whole place to oursleves!

We greatly enjoyed our stay and is one of the few B&Bs we would very enthusiastically stay at again. Sandra and Baudoin are a lovely couple and have created something very special in the Dordogne.

Room Tip: Although the bathroom is at the top of a staircase, I'm glad we chose the Suite St Hubertus with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grinch_at_xmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2012

We stayed in Beynac for 3 days (November 2012, St Hubertus suite). It was our first stop during our wine & food travel through France. Due to tough climate and working conditions in Russia, we really needed to have some calm days in a small town without any Internet and TV access. Despite of 200 km from Toulouse airport we discovered a wonderful place with friendly atmosphere.
I really appreciate Sandra and Baudouin's attention to your recreation, needs and wishes. They prepared for you tasty breakfast, said where to go and what to visit.
And if it is possible, we wil lcome back!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TataSMoscow_Russia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We stayed at Balcon en Foret for three nights in September of 2011. I feel badly about not posting a review sooner, as we are still dreaming about our time there a full year later! My husband and I had our three-year-old daughter with us and Sandra and Baudouin were very welcoming of our little one. They had wonderful ideas for us for day-trips and the property was in an ideal location to explore the Dordogne. We stayed in the Baron Perché which was beautifully decorated. I was very thankful for the Nespresso machine stocked with capsules! Each room was ideal and the views from our windows couldn't have been more perfect -- figs bursting on the tree outside, fields of hay. Breakfast was a marvelous treat each morning, we still keep a photo on our fridge at home of the fantastic spread they prepared for us each day, so that we can imagine we are still there! A highlight for us was sharing a glass of wine with our hosts at the end of the day. I can't imagine there could be a better place to stay in the Dordogne! I know your stay here will be the highlight of your trip to France!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anders0nfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We had a feeling that Balcon en Foret was going to be a special place to stay and it certainly was. From the first email exchange with Sandra and Baudouin we knew that this was the bed and breakfast we were meant to stay at while on our holiday in France. The location of the B&B could not have been better and the views were incredible. You could literally take a short walk on a trail right from the B&B that goes down to the picturesque village of Beynac. Everything was in easy driving distance as well.

It is nothing short of spectacular. It truly is a "Balcony in the Forest". In person the bed and breakfast looks exactly like it does on the website. The truth is, it is even better in person! You can see how incredibly hard Sandra and Baudouin have worked to achieve this. We stayed 5 nights with them in the Baron Perche suite and it was simply beautiful and very well done. It was warm and inviting. I also have to mention that the bathroom was enormous and had very pretty tile, with tub/shower and vanity as well. There is also a stove
for a fire and two comfortable chairs to relax in, which we took advantage of many times. Other nice touches
include a small wine refrigerator, Nespresso Machine, and wine glasses.

We had requested table d'hote the first and last night of our stay and again it was amazing. I would highly recommend booking dinner at least one night. Sandra is an excellent chef. We were truly spoiled by
breakfast as well....fresh squeezed juice, croissant, breads, french toast, meats, cheeses, homemade
jams and yogurt and did I mention Baudouin makes the best coffee, good and strong!

What stood out most to us was our hosts, Sandra and Baudouin who are two of the nicest people you could
ever meet. They were so welcoming, easy to talk with and had such terrific sense of humor which made us feel
at home. Of course they were only to happy to help with any questions about what to see and do in the area as
well as where to eat, shop wine etc.. We felt so comfortable there that we found ourselves coming back earlier and earlier from our touring each day just to sit out on the terrace and take in the view and quiet to just relax, read, or drink some wine.

We took away so many fond memories of our stay with Sandra and Baudouin and were truly sad when it was time to leave. Balcon en Foret was simply perfect to us and we highly recommend staying here.

Jodi and Jim, New York

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JodiS809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, Ca. USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

This was the most pleasant surprise of our month long trip in France. Sandra and Baudoin have truly found their niche in life. We stayed for 3 nights in Baron's Perche and were welcomed with an amazing dinner prepared by Sandra and we could not have imagined a more beautiful setting to enjoy it in. This property is set in such a serene location, yet is a short walk via a trail to the town of Beynac. We received excellent recomendations for both restaurants and activities during our stay. In my research prior to travel, Beynac seemed a good base for exploring the Dorgogne Valley. Upon completing our stay, Balcon en Foret is the ideal place to base in the Dordogne. Sandra and Baudoin really have a way of sharing their love, passion, knowledge and respect for the Valley, its people and the culture! They are truly good people and we cannot wait to return within the next few years. I highly recomend staying at this amazing property.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDRSanDiego_Ca_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beynac-et-Cazenac
1.3 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Pontet
Hotel Pontet
#1 of 2 in Beynac-et-Cazenac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel l'Esplanade
Hotel l'Esplanade
#1 of 3 in Domme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#2 of 2 in Beynac-et-Cazenac
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
1.6 mi away
Le Relais des Cinq Chateaux
4.7 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#5 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balcon en Foret - Chambres d'Hotes Dordogne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcon en Foret - Chambres d'Hotes Dordogne

Property: Balcon en Foret - Chambres d'Hotes Dordogne
Address: Tral Pech, 24220 Beynac-et-Cazenac, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Beynac-et-Cazenac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Beynac-et-Cazenac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balcon en Forêt is temporarily closed for renovations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Balcon En Foret - Chambres D'Hotes Dordogne France/Beynac-Et-Cazenac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing