We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in the Forest of Dordogne”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beynac-et-Cazenac
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Balcon en Foret - Chambres d'Hotes Dordogne
Toronto
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Gem in the Forest of Dordogne”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Just outside of Beynac in the Dordogne region of France, this lovely B&B is quite amazing. Lovely country setting, just outside the very touristy town. The hosts, Sandra and Baudouin, were both wonderful, helpful, knowledgeable and very pleasant. Perfect B&B hosts. It is only about a 5 minute walk into Beynac through the woods. The place was renovated to keep the charm and feeling of the area, with much stone and wood, a lovely fireplace and a four poster bed. The suite had an extra room for our teenage son, and a large room with a table and some chairs around the fireplace. The breakfasts were unbelievable. We were walking around the Dordogne and when we left Balcon en foret, we felt like we weren't going to be able to eat again for a long time, which was helpful, since we had a 25 km walk that day. The breakfast kept us going. Lots to do and see in the area. And it was really nice to be out of the centre of Beynac. Wonderful.

Room Tip: St. Hubertus suite was fabulous, but I am sure that the other one is just as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarilynT1Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
46
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We are another couple feeling guilty for not adding a review ealier. We stayed with Sandra and Badouin in May 2012 and wish to add our thanks and appreciation for the relaxing time we spent at Balcon en Foret. We regret we couldn't stay longer to enjoy the wonderful breakfasts and their sparkling, easy company.

From our very first email, Sandra's professionalism and efficiency put our minds at rest; we were booking from the other side of the world.

Due to some delays we arrived very late on our first night yet Sandra and Baduoin had stayed up to greet us and to ensure we settled in. They naturally go that extra step.

Like all the other reviews for Balcon en Foret , we only have the fondest memories and hope to return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 255068Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
American Canyon, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Balcon en Foret in Oct 2012 - in the St. Hubertus suite. It was amazing! This is the 'french country by the river' experience we were looking for. The suite and the property itself is absolutely beautiful. The suite is very comfortable and spacious, with a huge master bedroom with fireplace and small dining table, separate study, toilet room and shower/bath upstairs. Sandra and Baudouin are warm, friendly and fabulous hosts that would give us tips each day on what was worth seeing and where to eat. They are the type of people that make you feel immediately at ease. We did enjoy a dinner made by Sandra and it was absolutely delicious! We live in the Napa Valley so our expectations of food and wine are quite high - and this dinner did not disappoint! The area itself is also amazing - we saw several castle ruins, cave paintings and visited the market in Sarlat. In our entire two week France vacation we went to four areas - Paris, Dordogne, Lyon and Provence - and this was our favorite of the entire trip. If you stay here you will not want to leave - it is truly wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scorpioliz72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We had a fabulous stay at le Balcon in September, staying in the beautiful St Hubertus suite, which was wonderful in so many ways, (and ideal for our family of 3!)
The room was a treat - spacious, with a separate study (with desk, nespresso machine and wine fridge with a selection of local wines at cellar door prices) which became our daughters bedroom, and the beautiful main room, very spacious by ordinary european accomodation standards, with dining table, furniture, a 4 poster-bed and a lovely wood-fire that we lit every night, and beautiful views across the valley!

Sandra and Badouin have put a lot of thought into making everything just right, and they are fantastic hosts, enjoy a glass of wine and a chat, and are very helpful in organising activities, restarants and other activities (and they can recommend a fantastic local laundry). We weren't fortunate enough to enjoy one of Sandra's highly recommended meals, but her passion for food and local ingredients was evident.
The property is located 3 minutes drive, or an easy walk from Beynac, which is perfectly suited for enjoying everything the Perigord Noir has to offer, and it is just magic sitting on the balcony overlooking the forrest, or perched in one of the many lounge chairs scattered throughout the garden or under the big oak tree.
Sandra and Badouin are warm welcoming and relaxed hosts, who put you at ease from the moment you arrive, and do everything possible to ensure a memorable stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank napoleanadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

We loved our stay earlier this year, it was truly wonderful and flawless. I had planned a special 10 day tour with my wife through France and booked a couple of days at le Balcon et Forêt for a romantic change of pace after New Years Eve in Toulouse.

Sandra and Baudoin were lovely hosts and made us feel like friends. They were very welcoming, friendly and sensitive to us. We were lucky to find a few hours with them chatting about all sorts of things. Their recommended us a lovely restaurant in the village with excellent food and wine (definitely try the Perigordian salad with duck and foie gras!). There is a nice stroll to the village from Tral Pech and other walks around the river (though not many places to cross nearby). The castle is definitely worth a visit too. As it was out of season, we practically had the whole place to oursleves!

We greatly enjoyed our stay and is one of the few B&Bs we would very enthusiastically stay at again. Sandra and Baudoin are a lovely couple and have created something very special in the Dordogne.

Room Tip: Although the bathroom is at the top of a staircase, I'm glad we chose the Suite St Hubertus with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grinch_at_xmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2012

We stayed in Beynac for 3 days (November 2012, St Hubertus suite). It was our first stop during our wine & food travel through France. Due to tough climate and working conditions in Russia, we really needed to have some calm days in a small town without any Internet and TV access. Despite of 200 km from Toulouse airport we discovered a wonderful place with friendly atmosphere.
I really appreciate Sandra and Baudouin's attention to your recreation, needs and wishes. They prepared for you tasty breakfast, said where to go and what to visit.
And if it is possible, we wil lcome back!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TataSMoscow_Russia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We stayed at Balcon en Foret for three nights in September of 2011. I feel badly about not posting a review sooner, as we are still dreaming about our time there a full year later! My husband and I had our three-year-old daughter with us and Sandra and Baudouin were very welcoming of our little one. They had wonderful ideas for us for day-trips and the property was in an ideal location to explore the Dordogne. We stayed in the Baron Perché which was beautifully decorated. I was very thankful for the Nespresso machine stocked with capsules! Each room was ideal and the views from our windows couldn't have been more perfect -- figs bursting on the tree outside, fields of hay. Breakfast was a marvelous treat each morning, we still keep a photo on our fridge at home of the fantastic spread they prepared for us each day, so that we can imagine we are still there! A highlight for us was sharing a glass of wine with our hosts at the end of the day. I can't imagine there could be a better place to stay in the Dordogne! I know your stay here will be the highlight of your trip to France!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anders0nfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beynac-et-Cazenac
1.3 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
219 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Pontet
Hotel Pontet
#1 of 2 in Beynac-et-Cazenac
111 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#2 of 2 in Beynac-et-Cazenac
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hotel l'Esplanade
Hotel l'Esplanade
#1 of 3 in Domme
280 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#5 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
594 reviews
6.6 mi away
Le Relais du Touron
Le Relais du Touron
#1 of 3 in Carsac-Aillac
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balcon en Foret - Chambres d'Hotes Dordogne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcon en Foret - Chambres d'Hotes Dordogne

Property: Balcon en Foret - Chambres d'Hotes Dordogne
Address: Tral Pech, 24220 Beynac-et-Cazenac, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Beynac-et-Cazenac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Beynac-et-Cazenac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balcon en Forêt is temporarily closed for renovations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Balcon En Foret - Chambres D'Hotes Dordogne France/Beynac-Et-Cazenac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing