We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stop for a bite at the top of the hill”

La Taverne des Remparts
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Oconomowoc, WI
Level Contributor
224 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Stop for a bite at the top of the hill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

After touring Beynac Castle on a cool rainy day we wanted to have coffee and dessert. This restaurant is right outside the entrance to the Chateau. Even though we didn't have lunch, just coffee, we were greeted warmly and served with a smile.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paytons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    55
    18
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples
Level Contributor
236 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Great little spot once you find it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

The cafe is just outside the castle walls at Beynac. It is much better than any of the options in the lower village and much more reasonably priced. Our first visit we had already had a terrible lunch down below so we just had some hot chocolates after touring the castle on a rainy day. A few days later we chose to go up for lunch as we were passing but knew we could get a decent meal. A Croque Monsieur for 9 euro includes a small salad and more pommes frites than you should eat (go ahead, suck in your belly, you know it!) and they have numerous other choices that sounded quite good.

It's probably really busy in summer but in October we owned the place! The owners are very pleasant, too.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank rca2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

Restaurant in the shadow of the castle at the top of Beynac (there is a car park if you don't fancy the climb). We stopped there for a quick lunch, expecting it to be very touristy and expensive and had a great surprise!
The food is excellent and the service really efficient and friendly.
We went back there for an early dinner a couple of days later and were greeted like old friends! They even remembered which excellently situated table we had had at lunchtime and rebooked it for us for the evening.
Worthwhile booking as it does get crowded, and the only downside might be that last food orders are taken at 8.30 p.m.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lucile_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

dinner on the terrace in a pretty town.....good food.....yes, service was a little slow -- drink more wine!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank peachome1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beynac-et-Cazenac, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best dinner with a view of the castle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

We love eating at this restaurant. The omelettes are my favorite in France. The daily specials are a great value and the owner is tres sympathique. Quite possibly the best frites in the region and with a view of the castle, you'll want to linger longer than usual.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicente01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Taverne des Remparts also viewed

Beynac-et-Cazenac, Dordogne
Beynac-et-Cazenac, Dordogne
 
Beynac-et-Cazenac, Dordogne
Beynac-et-Cazenac, Dordogne
 

Been to La Taverne des Remparts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing