We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best vacation rental we've stayed at”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mont Joie

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Beynac-et-Cazenac, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Tripleboc...
Fairfax County, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The best vacation rental we've stayed at”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in September 2014

The Perigord region, and particularly the Valley of the Chateaux, is just a beautiful area of France. Beynac is a great little medieval castle village and makes a great home base for exploring the area.

Mont Joie is a spectacular vacation rental. Everything has been modernized so nicely but without losing the historic character. We often had fellow tourists who were walking through the streets of town peer into the kitchen window to check out the place.

The views from the living room and balcony are extraordinary. There are several other historic castles and chateaux visible from Mont Joie, as well as the town below and the Dordogne River, complete with its waterfowl, anglers, and paddlers. Hot air balloon tours pass by every afternoon.

In the morning, walk down the medieval road featured in the movie "Chocolat" to get fresh croissants for breakfast as the mist rises up off the river.

Beynac castle is really cool. We enjoyed our tour of it, as well as the trebuchet demonstrations at nearby Castelnaud. We also enjoyed the anthropological park in Beynac.

The streets of Beynac are steep, narrow, and cobbled. The house does come with a "parking grotto", which I was brave enough to put our rental minivan in a grand total of once (the hard part was the turning around). Mont Joie does have lots of stairs, so those with mobility issues or toddlers should be aware of that.

As a rental property, the house came with a nicer quality of linens and kitchen implements than most. Those were the sharpest kitchen knives I've ever used in a rental property! Everything was clean and well maintained. There were lots of books, board games, CDs, and DVDs for entertainment at the house, as well as a wide variety of cable stations and an added bonus of a telephone line that allows for free calls to the US, which we were having too much fun to make use of!

The welcome notebook was the best I've ever seen. I am a technical writer myself, so I appreciate the excellent instructions on the use of the dishwasher, washing machine, entertainment system, etc. Lots of helpful tour information in there as well.

There's a cool little room with bunks for kids. My kid wouldn't sleep in there at night, though, so I can attest that the beds are pretty comfortable, having slept in there myself.

We cannot wait to go back to Mont Joie. There is a lot more we'd like to see in that area, and Beynac and Mont Joie in particular were so relaxing and interesting. It's not the cheapest rental place, but to be so comfortable and enjoy such stunning views was well worth it!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelD
National City, California
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Perhaps the best place we have ever stayed”
Reviewed 22 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A splurge, but well worth it. Beynac et Cazenac is an amazing place to stay and live for a week or more. It is within an hour or two of all the regional sights and sites, from St. Emilion to Pech Merle. It is just a quick drive to Sarlat, but not nearly as busy and at least as beautiful. Lots of cycling, rowing, and walking activities, plus history around every bend of the river.

And the house...

The views from the upstairs balcony and the downstairs patio are beautiful and serene. The house itself is made of thick stone, that insulated us from a late June heat wave, and gave us a cool place to hide during the worst of the heat. It is quiet, too-- we got a great night's sleep all week. A beautiful fireplace for winter that we did not try out-- but it looked great.

What we especially loved: the setting, the house, the nice furniture (comfy beds and couches), the well-stocked kitchen. Plus a nice welcome basket to see you through your first Sunday morning-- including milk, cereal, bread, butter, jam, and cookies. Excellent wifi throughout the house. All first-rate; we could not have asked for more.

As others have noted, the house is on three levels, and there is a short but steep walk up to the house from the town. But if you are in reasonable shape, it is no problem (everyone in our group was 55-60 years old).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Living in an wonderful old stone house in a small, beautiful, historic French village.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneAusHK
Hong Kong
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sensational”
Reviewed 16 February 2015 for a stay in November 2014

We have stayed in so many places over the years and this is by far, the most welcoming, beautiful and comfortable yet. The owners have set the house up with everything you could possibly need. The internet & UK TV was great and to discover the board games was a bonus. Plenty of books, movies and comfy furniture & the wood burning heater was atmospheric & wonderful. My husband, our 9 yr old and I booked Mont Joie after researching the the various home sites and the reviews were absolutely accurate!!...Actually, it was even better than the reviews. Beynac and the surrounding area is picturesque and enchanting.
We rented at the beginning of winter and, despite the cold weather, the home was warm, inviting and the views were breathtaking. Many people avoid touring during the colder seasons but we loved the fact that the area was quiet and the weather was not uncomfortable. As the previous reviews have commented, the information included in the house manual gave so much useful, local information. (& easy to read/understand instructions for everything)
Martine, the housekeeper, was charming and helpful and one can feel assured that if there were any problems or anything you needed, help was on hand. Our daughter fell in love with the kids bunk room with artfully drawn medieval theme and, despite her sleep issues, couldn't wait to climb into bed each night. This house would be perfect for anyone (except with disability or age issues-due to the steep path) A special place indeed !!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and historical character
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PattiL201...
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Step Back In Time!”
Reviewed 6 January 2015 for a stay in October 2014

We chose Beynac for it's history and location on the beautiful Dordorgne River. Mont Joie turned our visit into an experience of Medieval Southwest France. Being just below the castle, you really feel it's place in that history. Cobblestone, narrow streets; stone houses and beautiful gardens are fabulous! Mont Joie has every amenity you could hope for: view of the river, sun streaming in the windows, full well stocked kitchen, two King-beded, ensuite bedrooms. Martine, housekeeper, was fabulous, we ran into her all over town where she introduced us to all her friends!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaSAus...
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 15 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We highly recommend Villa Mont Joie. Nestled on a steep hillside beneath the castle Beynac, it is beautiful, comfortable, and has breath-taking views of the river, valley, castles in a panoramic sweep. It fundamentally comprises three rooms on three levels. On the top floor, there is a great room with a well-appointed, modern kitchen apportioned close to the entry. One floor down is the master suite, with a walk-out veranda over-looking the valley where we sat in starlight each night. One floor further down is a second master suite. Our group consisted of two couples, and everyone was happy with accommodations.
We stayed for a week, and could have easily extended for a month without seeing everything. We had delayed getting tickets to Lascaux and were told they were sold out, but . . . pas de probleme! Christophe, who with his lovely wife Sarissa is the caretaker of the Villa, got us tickets. Christophe is a tour guide and we spent two days with him (in his amazing Tessla) and saw caves and villages that we otherwise would have missed. We highly recommend his services.
Beynac itself is a tiny village, but has a lovely restaurant, La Tonnelle, that is a three—minute walk. It also has a few shops/patisseries/galleries, and the castle itself is a must-see.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grigi_in...
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding luxury residence ”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Mont Joie is the perfect 16th century home in the perfectly picturesque Perigord village of Beynac, location of the film Chocolat. It is very large and well appointed with authentic period furnishings and first rate kitchen and amenities. Very comfortable beds as well. The views of the Dordogne river and surrounding chateaux must be some of the best in France. Two weeks here for our family of four was lovely. The agent Sarissa and housekeeper Martine were lovely and efficient. The owner, Vincent, has really gone out of his way to provide a wealth of local information and recommendations. We very highly recommended Mont Joie.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denny H
Nambucca Heads, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just Go!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The Dordogne is beautiful enough and Beynac is picture, but the crowning jewel of our holiday was staying at Mont Joie. This accommodation suited us perfectly, a family of five, lovingly furnished, great facilities, excellent wifi and plenty of room, but Ohhh the views over the Dordogne! Hot Air Balloons floating by, picturesque Chateaux in the distance, and the river mirroring the sky. You could stay there all day and just sit. From booking to return of deposit, the Owner, Vincent could not have been more helpful and accommodating. His information about the area is invaluable. If you have doubts, let me relieve them, this is a great place to go and Mont Joie is a great place to stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing