We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location; good food”
Review of Hotel du Chateau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel du Chateau
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We wanted a central location to explore the area and this is it. It's easy to find and there's the entire village and chateau to explore just up the hill behind the hotel. The hotel's restaurant is good; we had 2 dinners and a lunch there and all the meals were reasonably priced and done well. Breakfast is available but we chose to grab a croissant at the local bakery (2 doors up the street) and head out on our day sightseeing. The room we had was small: a double bed, a chair and the smallest toilet room and shower room ever. However, we had a balcony that overlooked the Dordogne River and parking across the street (free in May; paid beg. in June) so we were fine with the smaller room. The staff was welcoming and helpful if not entirely comfortable in English. Internet was supposed to be available just in the lobby (very small) but because our room was directly above the lobby, we had internet access most of the time. This room was perfect to watch and experience the huge storm that blew through one day giving us an hour of rain, lightning, thunder, and wind. A short time later, the sun was out and the view was stunning. Also, there is an excellent restaurant just up the hill from the hotel, La Tonnell. Built right into the rock, it is worth experiencing both for its ambiance and its excellent food. We will definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms vary in size even for just a couple; if you need a bigger room you may not get a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teacher36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

We enjoyed our stay quite a bit. Nestled between a castle and the river, the area combines a beautiful countryside mixed with old-world charm. It was a great place for walks, including exploring the castle. We also visited Castelnaud, which is a short drive away. From Paris to Carcassonne, this area was my favorite place in France. It oozes history and feels charming.

The owners were very helpful and friendly. We rented the upstairs apartment that served admirably. Yes, it's old — but in a charming way. Isn't that why you go to southern France? You could imagine yourself living there a thousand years ago. The room overlooks the river, stone buildings, and a stone street.

And the price is reasonable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jery P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Beynac-et-Cazenac is a wonderful location for all the reasons we were hoping—close to the ancient Cro-Magnon grotto drawings, the quaint city of Sarlat and of course foie gras farms. And Beynac-et-Cazenac itself has charm. The only thing we missed out on was renting a canoe to explore the Dordogne River (weather was uncooperative). Now, as for Hôtel du Château, La Balme: it really could use a renovation (and we believe they were working on doing just that). The owner/manager appears to be working very hard, he checked us in, tended bar, served us our wine in the “lobby/lounge,” and in the morning, checked us out, etc. etc. He keeps long hours. Our room was small, stark, but clean; the bathroom (smaller than a closet) was refitted with a small shower unit that was clean and modern. The room’s “french doors” open up onto a terrace that runs the length of the building, overlooking the river. Having said all this, the Hotel is clean and definitely a reasonable rate, so it’s fair to say that it is more than adequate, but could use some detailing. The real plus is the restaurant. We ate dinner both nights and were very pleased with the menu, the price and the service. The food was excellent and well presented. “La Balme” is not the only hotel in town, but just about. It works well for budget-minded, and the location is great. (PS> Don’t miss the opportunity to visit amazing Grotte de Font-de-Gaume. And a visit to one of the geese farms is a unique experience—we chose Elevage du Bouyssou.)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robbgrimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

When we travel, we prefer convenient locations, rather than 5 star comfort. Hotel du Chateau was perfect for us. The room and bathroom were adequate and roomy enough for three. Parking is conveniently across the street, with plenty of spots (in April). The overall location is ideal for day trips through the region - castles, prehistoric caves, boat cruises, etc... But best of all, for us, was the actual location, at the base of the castle. We enjoyed our evening walks up the narrow medieval roads and the quaint historic buildings. Being in the right place at the right time creates special memories. The location permitted us to experience the town at night and at our own pace.
Staying here enhanced our trip, and we are glad that we did so.
Our daughter loved the pet goose, too.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the road up to the castle. It was very quiet and convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This hotel is in a fine location in the village of Beynac at the foot of the Chateau overlooking the river Dordogne. It is ideal for exploring the region by car. Rooms are large and quite comfortable. The restaurant was very pleasant. The lobby bar and sitting area are a gathering place for the village with a comfortable vibe.
I cannot say enough in praise of host Olivier-- he went many extra miles in being gracious and helpful.
An excellent choice for a great location somewhat removed from the more touristy towns. The village is wonderful early in the morning.It suited me perfectly.
Sarah (Dallas Tx)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We arrived in the village of Beynac &instantly fell in love with the locationWe walked into this hotel &booked on spec thinking we would stay 2nights but stayed for 7 it is so well placed to explore the Dordogne by car.If you like to be in the centre of the village this is the perfect hotel.The owners Isabelle &Oliver are always helpful,Oliver gave us lots of info on places to visit.our room was very light &modern ,because of the location there is early morning noise from the village but you need to be up &about promptly as there is so much to see!!The weather was amazing so we used the unheated pool for a dip after exploring this beautiful area.Because it was so hot we took a canoe trip which is a fantastic day out you are taken down river &can use until 6pm to canoe 15 km back to Beynac ,not to be missed. We ate some evenings on the terrace by the river all the food is excellent ,very hearty portions lovely wine !

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborahdora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

The position of the hotel could not be better overlooking the gorgeous Dordogne River!
Our host Olivier was most charming & helpful and made us feel very welcome.
As a 2 star hotel it just meets this rating & is quite cheap accordingly.
But.... and there are many buts.... the place is very tired and in need of a spruce up!!
The verandah was covered in cobwebs and dirty like it hadn't been cleaned for months!
Our room was a dark,tiny space and v. basic and a bit grotty with next to no furniture with only 1 chair & a tiny bedside 'table', the tiny threadbare towels were an insult, 1 hook in bathroom that was so loose it spun on its hinge; flimsy, cheap plastic cups (cheapest I'd seen anywhere); no soap; no fridge; no extra blanket; no hair dryer;
The shower cubicle was one good feature but with a dangerous 'flip-mixer' tap in the confined space.
The breakfast was basic so the many cafes or boulangeries (especially the little one in the next village of La Roque Gageac which was AMAZING!!) are preferable but to be fair the dinner we had in the hotel restaurant was beautiful and good value with the tireless, helpful waiter 'run off his feet'

Room Tip: try to get room at front with view as back rooms very dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank europaolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beynac-et-Cazenac
1.1 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pontet
Hotel Pontet
#1 of 2 in Beynac-et-Cazenac
131 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel L'Oustal de Vezac
8.3 mi away
Le Relais des Cinq Chateaux
5.0 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Chateau

Address: La Balme, 24220 Beynac-et-Cazenac, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Beynac-et-Cazenac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Beynac-et-Cazenac
Price Range: £46 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Chateau 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel du Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Chateau Hotel
Du Chateau Beynac
Hotel Du Chateau France/Beynac-Et-Cazenac, Dordogne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing