We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor food and rude staff”
Review of Hotel du Chateau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel du Chateau
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We (7 of us) stopped at this hotel for an evening meal as the location on the river was idyllic. The food was mediocre and poor value and the waitress (Margot) was sullen, rude and just wanted rid of us as soon as possible so that she could join her friends smoking and listening to rap music though their car window. The food was practically thrown at us - a case of tourist area, you won't be back so we couldn't care less.
My advice would be keep on driving and find somewhere else that will appreciate your custom !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miggins1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Chateau
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Everything about this hotel has been done as cheaply as possible. Our room was decorated in contemporary but minimalist style. For example there was one bedside table in a double room. The room was a good size with a view to the river.

Continuing the minimalist theme, the bathroom had the smallest, thinnest towels I have ever seen in a hotel. I think they were supposed to be bath towels but looked more like pre-owned hand towels. Hand wash and shower gel were provided in dispensers attached to the wall. When we first arrived the toilet was running continuously but we solved this by the time honoured method of turning the inlet valve off and turning it on again.

Breakfast didn’t disappoint, also being on the sparse side. Not much to choose from and table napkins the size of one sheet of toilet paper!

The hotel is in a fantastic location but this doesn’t make up for its failings.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PaulineSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Positives are there was a good folder of information about the hotel in the room and the offer to be able to buy water downstairs in the bar. But this hotel is tired. The last renovation was not done well and the paintwork is starting to look patchy. Our terrace room was not quite what it seemed. The skylight cover was raised when we came upstairs after dinner and emitting cooking smells from the kitchen below! The breakfast was very basic with a rude sign saying only one croissant per person. They have obviously had the croissant monster come through on more than one occasion! The fruit had seen better days and coffee and orange juice had run out and we had to request refills. Considering the chateau is the one thing this town has going for it, hotel staff didn't know when it closed - luckily we decided it would be one hour before the time we thought we had seen advertised and a quick march up the very steep hill meant we caught the last tour. Love the chateau, love the view and worthwhile making the effort to park below and walk up, but find somewhere else to stay....

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryannM53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olivier A, Propriétaire at Hotel du Chateau, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

We are really sorry about the bad impression you had, We will of course take your remarks into account . We have tried to make your stay as pleasant as possible and to give you a hand with your locked suitcase. Yours sincerely.
Isabelle and Olivier, the owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We wanted a central location to explore the area and this is it. It's easy to find and there's the entire village and chateau to explore just up the hill behind the hotel. The hotel's restaurant is good; we had 2 dinners and a lunch there and all the meals were reasonably priced and done well. Breakfast is available but we chose to grab a croissant at the local bakery (2 doors up the street) and head out on our day sightseeing. The room we had was small: a double bed, a chair and the smallest toilet room and shower room ever. However, we had a balcony that overlooked the Dordogne River and parking across the street (free in May; paid beg. in June) so we were fine with the smaller room. The staff was welcoming and helpful if not entirely comfortable in English. Internet was supposed to be available just in the lobby (very small) but because our room was directly above the lobby, we had internet access most of the time. This room was perfect to watch and experience the huge storm that blew through one day giving us an hour of rain, lightning, thunder, and wind. A short time later, the sun was out and the view was stunning. Also, there is an excellent restaurant just up the hill from the hotel, La Tonnell. Built right into the rock, it is worth experiencing both for its ambiance and its excellent food. We will definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms vary in size even for just a couple; if you need a bigger room you may not get a balcony.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teacher36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We enjoyed our stay quite a bit. Nestled between a castle and the river, the area combines a beautiful countryside mixed with old-world charm. It was a great place for walks, including exploring the castle. We also visited Castelnaud, which is a short drive away. From Paris to Carcassonne, this area was my favorite place in France. It oozes history and feels charming.

The owners were very helpful and friendly. We rented the upstairs apartment that served admirably. Yes, it's old — but in a charming way. Isn't that why you go to southern France? You could imagine yourself living there a thousand years ago. The room overlooks the river, stone buildings, and a stone street.

And the price is reasonable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jery P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Beynac-et-Cazenac is a wonderful location for all the reasons we were hoping—close to the ancient Cro-Magnon grotto drawings, the quaint city of Sarlat and of course foie gras farms. And Beynac-et-Cazenac itself has charm. The only thing we missed out on was renting a canoe to explore the Dordogne River (weather was uncooperative). Now, as for Hôtel du Château, La Balme: it really could use a renovation (and we believe they were working on doing just that). The owner/manager appears to be working very hard, he checked us in, tended bar, served us our wine in the “lobby/lounge,” and in the morning, checked us out, etc. etc. He keeps long hours. Our room was small, stark, but clean; the bathroom (smaller than a closet) was refitted with a small shower unit that was clean and modern. The room’s “french doors” open up onto a terrace that runs the length of the building, overlooking the river. Having said all this, the Hotel is clean and definitely a reasonable rate, so it’s fair to say that it is more than adequate, but could use some detailing. The real plus is the restaurant. We ate dinner both nights and were very pleased with the menu, the price and the service. The food was excellent and well presented. “La Balme” is not the only hotel in town, but just about. It works well for budget-minded, and the location is great. (PS> Don’t miss the opportunity to visit amazing Grotte de Font-de-Gaume. And a visit to one of the geese farms is a unique experience—we chose Elevage du Bouyssou.)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robbgrimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

When we travel, we prefer convenient locations, rather than 5 star comfort. Hotel du Chateau was perfect for us. The room and bathroom were adequate and roomy enough for three. Parking is conveniently across the street, with plenty of spots (in April). The overall location is ideal for day trips through the region - castles, prehistoric caves, boat cruises, etc... But best of all, for us, was the actual location, at the base of the castle. We enjoyed our evening walks up the narrow medieval roads and the quaint historic buildings. Being in the right place at the right time creates special memories. The location permitted us to experience the town at night and at our own pace.
Staying here enhanced our trip, and we are glad that we did so.
Our daughter loved the pet goose, too.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the road up to the castle. It was very quiet and convenient.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beynac-et-Cazenac
1.1 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
258 reviews
8.3 mi away
Le Relais des Cinq Chateaux
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pontet
Hotel Pontet
#1 of 2 in Beynac-et-Cazenac
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel L'Oustal de Vezac
5.1 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
661 reviews
5.0 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Chateau

Address: La Balme, 24220 Beynac-et-Cazenac, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Beynac-et-Cazenac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Beynac-et-Cazenac
Price Range: £52 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Chateau 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel du Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Chateau Hotel
Du Chateau Beynac
Hotel Du Chateau France/Beynac-Et-Cazenac, Dordogne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing