We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel du Chateau
Nearby Hotels
Chateau de Monrecour(Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse)(Great Value!)
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Le Clos Roussillon(Vitrac)(Great Value!)
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Le Perigord(La Roque-Gageac)(Great Value!)
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Relais de Moussidiere(Sarlat-la-Caneda)
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Restaurant Plaisance(Vitrac)(Great Value!)
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Altica Sarlat(Sarlat-la-Caneda)(Great Value!)
US$60
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pontet(Beynac-et-Cazenac)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
La Treille(Vitrac)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveller rating
42
62
35
28
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
62
35
28
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdirectly across the streetstayed here for one nightthe main roadbreadglass of winetowncastlebeynacdordognepotstoneenglish
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 181 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights as my friends were getting married up the road, I found this place to be just perfect to be honest, amazing value and right In the middle of one oft he most beautiful little villages. I'd stay here again and would recommend it to others. Also has a lovely little pool!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olivier A, Propriétaire at Hotel du Chateau, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Bonjour,

We thank you very much for cooperation, and would be happy to see you again.
Many regards,
Isabelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We (7 of us) stopped at this hotel for an evening meal as the location on the river was idyllic. The food was mediocre and poor value and the waitress (Margot) was sullen, rude and just wanted rid of us as soon as possible so that she could join her friends smoking and listening to rap music though their car window. The food was practically thrown at us - a case of tourist area, you won't be back so we couldn't care less.
My advice would be keep on driving and find somewhere else that will appreciate your custom !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miggins1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Everything about this hotel has been done as cheaply as possible. Our room was decorated in contemporary but minimalist style. For example there was one bedside table in a double room. The room was a good size with a view to the river.

Continuing the minimalist theme, the bathroom had the smallest, thinnest towels I have ever seen in a hotel. I think they were supposed to be bath towels but looked more like pre-owned hand towels. Hand wash and shower gel were provided in dispensers attached to the wall. When we first arrived the toilet was running continuously but we solved this by the time honoured method of turning the inlet valve off and turning it on again.

Breakfast didn’t disappoint, also being on the sparse side. Not much to choose from and table napkins the size of one sheet of toilet paper!

The hotel is in a fantastic location but this doesn’t make up for its failings.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PaulineSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Positives are there was a good folder of information about the hotel in the room and the offer to be able to buy water downstairs in the bar. But this hotel is tired. The last renovation was not done well and the paintwork is starting to look patchy. Our terrace room was not quite what it seemed. The skylight cover was raised when we came upstairs after dinner and emitting cooking smells from the kitchen below! The breakfast was very basic with a rude sign saying only one croissant per person. They have obviously had the croissant monster come through on more than one occasion! The fruit had seen better days and coffee and orange juice had run out and we had to request refills. Considering the chateau is the one thing this town has going for it, hotel staff didn't know when it closed - luckily we decided it would be one hour before the time we thought we had seen advertised and a quick march up the very steep hill meant we caught the last tour. Love the chateau, love the view and worthwhile making the effort to park below and walk up, but find somewhere else to stay....

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryannM53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olivier A, Propriétaire at Hotel du Chateau, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

We are really sorry about the bad impression you had, We will of course take your remarks into account . We have tried to make your stay as pleasant as possible and to give you a hand with your locked suitcase. Yours sincerely.
Isabelle and Olivier, the owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We wanted a central location to explore the area and this is it. It's easy to find and there's the entire village and chateau to explore just up the hill behind the hotel. The hotel's restaurant is good; we had 2 dinners and a lunch there and all the meals were reasonably priced and done well. Breakfast is available but we chose to grab a croissant at the local bakery (2 doors up the street) and head out on our day sightseeing. The room we had was small: a double bed, a chair and the smallest toilet room and shower room ever. However, we had a balcony that overlooked the Dordogne River and parking across the street (free in May; paid beg. in June) so we were fine with the smaller room. The staff was welcoming and helpful if not entirely comfortable in English. Internet was supposed to be available just in the lobby (very small) but because our room was directly above the lobby, we had internet access most of the time. This room was perfect to watch and experience the huge storm that blew through one day giving us an hour of rain, lightning, thunder, and wind. A short time later, the sun was out and the view was stunning. Also, there is an excellent restaurant just up the hill from the hotel, La Tonnell. Built right into the rock, it is worth experiencing both for its ambiance and its excellent food. We will definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms vary in size even for just a couple; if you need a bigger room you may not get a balcony.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teacher36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews