We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky, but in a good way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Design & Spa Bassin D'Arcachon
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
120 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Quirky, but in a good way”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Yes, quirky is the word that comes to mind when reviewing this hotel. I can only think that the architect (or the owner) also owned a plastic moulding factory that wasn't doing so well, as moulded plastic features heavily in the rooms. It is difficult to describe how one wall has 3 moulded panels that encompass the TV, sound system, an iphone charger and the air conditioning unit, but that is how it is. Aside from this, the room is clean, quiet and, save for a creaking and hard chair (plastic), reasonably comfortable. The French custom of having a separate toilet and bathroom remains here, which is mildly irritating as they are not right next to each other. Elsewhere, hotel is very modern and bright - I didn't eat in, so can't comment on the food. The hotel is a fair way out of Arcachon, but I hired a bike in Le Moulleau and completed the round trip through the town out to the hotel and the next morning out via Pyla for the return - there are very good cycle paths all around this area, which makes cycling a great way to get around. Also tried kayaking on the l'Eyre using courantdeyre at Port de Bigamos, which I can recommend - very tranquil and full of trees to navigate around.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamallovertheplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    261
    121
    64
    13
See reviews for
50
432
13
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed a week's stay at this beautiful hotel. We booked a family suite which had two connecting rooms each with a bathroom and kitchenette. The outdoor pool was small but very enjoyable and never busy. Nearby there were lots of places to eat (the hotel restaurant was a bit pricey!). It was quiet (until the Stade Francais rugby team turned up, lol)! The rooms were beautiful, clean and contemporary. Loads to do nearby but you do need a car as the hotel is on an industrial estate. We luckily only paid £750 for the week. Not sure I would have paid the full €320 a night!! Great if you can get a bargain deal.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baptistkathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed in Quality Suites & Spa Arcachon in La Teste-de-Buch in August 2011 for three days and truly wished to stay longer! This is a really brilliant hotel – first of all, for its incomparable futuristic design ensuring the unforgettable stay even after visiting a lot of memorable places within all Europe.

The rooms are designed in 6 different colour schemes, and are looking exactly like in the photos in the hotel website. The rooms in the 1st floor are designed in 2 different colour schemes: light violet and dark violet. The 2nd floor rooms are red, pink, French green and grey. Contemplating what room to choose, firstly I asked the reception staff to show all available rooms before the check-in. The girl in the reception was very kind: she asked her colleague to show the various rooms, and I chose in my opinion the most beautiful – red :))

Whereas the hotel is brand new, everything is impeccably clean. The double room has a very big and comfortable king-size bed, the large flat screen TV fixed on the wall, and is equipped with all modern facilities: perfect quality WI-FI (free of charge), very efficient air-conditioning, kichenette with the fridge, stove, microwave, electric kettle, hospitality tray with the tea and coffee, and all necessary crockery. It’s a significant advantage to have a well-appointed kichenette in the room, considering the availability of a few supermarkets in the vicinity, where you can find practically everything.

The room has a balcony overlooking the outdoor swimming pool. The balcony is equipped with the nicely designed chairs and table.

The hotel is located in the side of the industrial park of La Teste-de-Buch, in Avenue d’Europe, which extends in parallel to the motorway connecting Bordeaux and Arcachon. Despite of its proximity to the motorway, the hotel is really quiet, there is no traffic noise. The hotel is seen from the motorway, on the left side, when driving from Bordeaux towards the Atlantic coast, and is very easily found. There is a lot of space around the hotel (this is one of my preferences, because I don’t like to stay in crowded places). The lovely coastal town Arcachon is 6-7 kilometers away. The beautiful Atlantic beaches, as well as the Great Dune of Pilat (the largest sand dune in Europe!) are located in the similar distance.
We didn’t use the spa facilities, so have no opinion in this regard. But I enjoyed to use the outdoor swimming pool, which is a moderate size, very clean, with plenty of comfortable beach chairs around.

To be honest, I have to mention some deficiencies. Those deficiencies are related to the bathroom. The bathroom itself is very nicely designed, however, the shower has an insufficient pressure, so it’s really inconvenient to use. Secondly, the absense of lighting of the mirror in the bathroom. There are only obscured lights on the bathroom ceiling, so it’s absolutely impossible to make-up for ladies at the bathroom mirror... Probably this lighting was not installed yet, because the hotel was just opened? Nevertheless, I believe that the hotel management can easily remedy those deficiencies.

Overall, the Arcachon area is one of the most amazing places in Europe I’ve visited during many years of my travelling. The Quality Suites & Spa is an ideal place to stay, if you want to explore the Bassin of Arcachon, when travelling by car. It’s important to note that the car is a must. The hotel has an ample free parking with a lot of space (it’s seen in the photo).

Despite of the mentioned small deficiencies, I truly recommend this hotel and evaluate it as excellent :))

Room Tip: The hotel rooms are oriented to the East and to the West. My tip: ask the room in the 2nd floor orie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Libra1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Povoa de Varzim, Portugal
Level Contributor
161 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and our overall impression is average. Rooms are large (excepto for the wardrobe) and confortable but the view is awfull. We reported a problem with air conditioning and that was repaired. Above all, I have to point out the kindness of reception staff. They were (Nicole, Alexya and Angela) very friendly, efficient and professional. In the day of our departure, we asked for a taxi to go to the train station but the taxo was only available 35 m later and we would misds the train. But the recepcionist (Nicole) offered us transport from the hotel to the train station in an hotel van. This was really something that touched us.
The negative points about this hotel is the location because without a car you can't leave the hotel as the bus stop is quite far (15 m walk) and the bus is only 1 per hour. Another negative point is the price because we paid the price of a 5 stars hotel and thius isn't. Above all, it was the firts time we had to pay if we wanted to go to the spa. This is not very correct because, apart from the spa, the hotel doesn't have any other special attraction to convince people to come. We will never return for the same price and conditions and we will not recommend this hotel to friends. The breakfest is very incomplete and disorganized and is not woth the 12 € we had to pay for it..

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

You will need a car to reach this hotel, preferably with GPS. Located in an industrial estate, GPS warns it is located on an unpaved road. While the hotel is sold as "Arcachon", the town is six Kilometres away. It's a new hotel with an interesting funky design. Main problem is the quality of service. Breakfast is a shambles - a carelessly-thrown-together cold buffet that restocked haphazardly by disinterested staff. Warm milk with sub-standard cornflakes for 12 euros per person is not good value. Access to the indoor pool/sauna/steam room costs 26 euros per person - an additional cost that is not clear at time of booking. Bedrooms are comfortable though few are decorated in restful colors. No doubt, some will like predominantly green and pink decor. Building work on a large site adjacent to the hotel caused little disturbance. KD.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with darker, softer colors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJD33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Teste-de-Buch
10.3 mi away
Domaine Du Ferret Balneo & Spa
4.1 mi away
Hotel Le B d'Arcachon
Hotel Le B d'Arcachon
#1 of 32 in Arcachon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Arcachon La Teste
Ibis Arcachon La Teste
#4 of 32 in Arcachon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel les bains d'Arguin
Hotel les bains d'Arguin
#3 of 32 in Arcachon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.9 mi away
B&B Hotel Arcachon Gujan-Mestras
3.3 mi away
Inter Hotel le Nautic
Inter Hotel le Nautic
#5 of 32 in Arcachon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Design & Spa Bassin D'Arcachon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Design & Spa Bassin D'Arcachon

Property: Best Western Plus Design & Spa Bassin D'Arcachon
Address: 960 Avenue De L'Europe, 33260, La Teste-de-Buch, France (Formerly Quality Suites & Spa Arcachon)
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > La Teste-de-Buch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in La Teste-de-Buch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Design & Spa Bassin D'Arcachon 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western FR, Hotel.de, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Design & Spa Bassin D'Arcachon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing