We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of La Plancha de l'Ecluse - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Plancha de l'Ecluse
Cuisines: French
Restaurant details
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dissappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

We booked on the basis of the other reviews. Lots raved about the mussels but there were none on the menu. Not sure why we booked as large retaurant and there was only one other couple there. Food was pleasant but nothing great. View of the canal was across the road and car park. Not as delightful as I was expecting. Our waitress was freindly and helpful. Did not expect a hard flavourless tomato in my salad ( except in UK).

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 54Maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    4
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A pleasant lunch in pleasant company”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

We were on a holiday in Nerac, and the La Plancha was recommended to us by friends who had been at Easter.We were a party of three only one of whom spoke French.
The young waiter was very helpful, guiding us around the various set menus. The restaurant is smarter inside than the exterior suggests.
We dined on a variety of dishes starters,mains,and desserts. My Trout with almonds was delicious and an excellent tart to finish.
At 11euros for a set 3 courses, this represents excellent value.
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great place for Mussels!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

While boating on the Baise through Nerac, we dined at La Plancha specifically for mussels, which we had heard about online. We were not disappointed. The place is much more attractive inside than the riverside facade suggests, but still very casual.. They were not busy when we dined and the service was excellent. Six of us each enjoyed a huge bucket of one of the many preparations of mussels accompanied by really exceptional frites.(I think 12 euros) I can't attest to any of the other menu items (fair selection) but mussel eating doesn't get better than this! By the way, Nerac is a beautiful and friendly town. We stayed 3 days!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetFtMyersFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
105 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Mussels, mussels and more mussels”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

This restaurant has a lovely view out over the Baïse River and is right next to the final lock boats use before the Port of Nérac.

The huge pots of muscles we ate were delicious, and a single pot could easily feed two adults. The mussels were flavorful, plump and didn't have a single piece of grit. I highly recommend the curry cream sauce!

The service is friendly and the prices reasonable.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HT3777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Plancha de l'Ecluse also viewed

Nerac, Lot-et-Garonne
Nerac, Lot-et-Garonne
 
Nerac, Lot-et-Garonne
Nerac, Lot-et-Garonne
 
Nerac, Lot-et-Garonne
Nerac, Lot-et-Garonne
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing