We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely week which my kids loved”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Les Cottages du Lac
Certificate of Excellence
Chantilly, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely week which my kids loved”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Recevied a very warm welcome at the residence. Pleasant cosy feel that wasn't too 'overbearing' and nicely pitched. They offer free activities for adults and children which are very discreet if you're not interested. Lovely pool if a bit small with different depths and managed to get a sunbed even at busiest times.Nice reception with pool table, books (mostly English ones) you can borrow, affordable snack bar. The lake was ok and we went canoeing but isn't as attraticve as the Biscarosse lake and is a 20minute drive from the nearest beach. Appartment was great, lovely decoration and quality fittings. We had an appt that overlooked a turfed up field (in the first stages of a new construction so check when you book...) but there was garden space for our kids to run around and we were not overlooked. But many of the appartments' terraces overlook the parking area so let them know your preference. Mobile reception was patchy but wifi is available and you're on holiday after all! Accommodation a bit pricey but it is more upmarket compared to where I have stayed , just could do with being closer to a beach. But if you're looking for comfort in a secure and pleasant envt for your family then it's ideal and worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for an unspoilt view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne13823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    126
    27
    11
    4
See reviews for
187
59
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We ve enjoyed our stay at the cottages du lac , lovely flats , very calm , we've slept very well ... we love the surrounding in the nature of "les landes" .... Ideal for Holiday in family and if you are looking for nature break , perfect for relaxation with walk in the forest or by the lac .... The staff is very lovely and helpful ! We will definitively come back ...

Room Tip: The Chalet looks really nice , but we have only tried the flat this time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marieetcosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We stayed at Les Cottages du Lac in Late May 2013. We booked a 2 bedroomed cottage and on arrival were very impressed with the accommodation and location . The cottages and apartments have been designed in a way that you are not overcrowded or overlooked and are beautifully furnished throughout . The small community is gated and there is a lovely pool and reception area . On arrival we were met by delightful staff and there was a lovely english lady on hand to help with any queries and the french staff also could not do enough to help. Our cottage was lovely and clean with fresh bed lined and a lovely outside area with chairs and lounges. A 2 minute walk through to the beautiful lake with beach area and playground which is also gated with security codes so not everyone can enter the complex which we liked as we have small children.
At the end of May there were only a handful of other guests there so very quiet which was perfect for us and the children .
If you are looking for excellent accomodation in this beautiful area then do not look anywhere else as Les Cottages Du Lac are perfect and we will definitely return.
The only downside for us a family was there was no cooker / only a hob so we had to rent a hot plate for cooking .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank howese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

After a change of plans and booking a 2 bed apartment at the Cottage du Lac close to our arrival I was unsure what to expect especially with the lack of reviews and the excellent price. However, there was no need to worry!

La cottage du Lac is tucked away in the "Landes" forest, right on a lake (as the name suggests). After a short wait (reception was closed on our arrival), we were quickly checked in by the friendly staff and located a top floor apartment. Apartment blocks are low rise , with just one story and well spaced out , so you do not feel on top of others.

The apartment was very modern, spotlessly clean and has all the utilities one would expect, including a dishwasher, cooker (no oven), microwave, coffee maker, fridge etc. The living room come kitchen is spacious and our family of 4 had plenty of room.

The main bedroom has plenty of wardrobe space and although not “massive” is comfortable for 2 people. The additional bedroom was small but with bunk beds makes it ideal for children.

The bathroom and separate toilet are both modern and we had no shortage of hot water.

The top floor apartments have a nice size balcony leading off the living room, making for a pleasant area to sit at any time of the day. The balcony is surrounded by an approx 3.5-4 foot high timber frame, making it reasonably safe if you have children, also give you some privacy. The balcony also has a table and four chairs.

Ground floor apartments do not have the timber frame around the sitting area which is "open" and I much prefer the privacy of the top floor balcony.

The complex also houses standalone chalets which have their own private garden areas, although they are not fenced off. Parking is located outside the apartment block.

The complex pool area large with the added bonus of been heated! There is a small bar area beside the pool. In addition you will find a small fitness area (get there early if you plan in using it, as it can only house 3 people), a sauna and a small football/basket ball area. You’ll also find some table tennis tables here too. During our stay, the kids club was also open and our children enjoyed meeting children from all over Europe here.

There is also a laundry room close to reception.

Just outside the complex you will find a small man made beach area. You will also find a bicycle hire company just outside the complex (entrance end). There are numerous cycle paths nearby and as the terrain is extremely flat, makes them perfect for all levels.

For supermarkets etc, you will have to travel approx 5 minutes (drive) to Parentis-en-Born, where you’ll find a large SuperU and a few others. You can also go to Biscarrosse (approx 10 minutes drive away) for more choice including chains like Lidl, Carrefore etc. Note, like most French towns, Supermarkets close for half days on Sundays.

If you are looking for a "beach" you will find a beautiful one alone the D305 (Route des Lacs), approx 15 minutes drive. This area has plenty of activates (boat riding, sailing on the lake) along with bars and restaurants, while set against the backdrop of the forest. The water was shallow for a reasonable distance. You will find some magical beaches on the coast itself, ask locally for recommendations.

My verdict? Les Cottages Du Lac, was a surprise and a very welcome one. The complex is modern and clean with great facilities for all ages. My family loved it and the only complaint was we were leaving! My only compliant was, the wifi reception was terrible - thats it! Will we be back, most certainly!

Room Tip: top floor (1st floor) apartments offer more privacy on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IrishWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland (Co. Wicklow)
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We returned to Cottages du Lac for a holiday this summer - I wrote a review about our last visit in July 2010 (Relaxing and Peaceful Holiday).
Cottages du Lac again provided a nice, clean, well equipped and comfortable base for our holiday. The complex was well run and seems to be making little additions all the time (the sauna and small gym near the pool are new and were not there the last time we stayed).
We would be happy to recommend this again - a few tips which would update from our previous review:
- We had two lovely meals out in the nearby Parentis village/town in restaurants near each other - one called 'Chez Flo' at the small Hotel du Centre and one called 'Cousseau' (we cooked in the cottage and ate in 'our garden' a lot of the rest of the time !!)
- The sailing school on the lake was 2 minutes walk from the cottage we stayed in. They happily rented a catamaran to my husband and son for an afteroon, who had done sailing lessons at the school on our previous visit and really enjoyed the afternoon on the lake (Ecole de voile tel 05.58.78.58.47)
- There are lots of day trips to do, but one we really enjoyed was to the town of Arcachon - lovely to visit for a wander along the pier, some shopping or boat trips - a really enjoyable day had there.
Combined with the lovely weather, we had another great holiday. Their information is now at www.lescottagesdulac.fr

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ANiDh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donegal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012 via mobile

I've just returned from a week staying in these cottages on the south-west / Western coast of France, and hopefully the following info will be of some benefit to anyone heading that way on holidays.


Flights: Dublin - Ryanair 2 adults & 2 children return.€900. No frills and no problems Biarritz airport is quite small and user friendly

Car hire: Car3000 are an Internet based car rental company and will find you the cheapest deals available, we requested a citron berlingo multi-space or similar and one was reserved for us with Alamo cars. Price €300 for 14 days
Car perfect, no problems  
Driving in France very achievable ( with TomTom's help!)

Cottages du Lac:

1 week in 3 bed cottage ------€700

This resort is a mixture of apartments and cottages located on Parentis lake around 15km east of Bicarosse town on the Atlantic coast of France. The complex is small in size but is well serviced by a reception area, snack bar and very nice family swimming pool area, other facilities include a gym, sauna, kids club and numerous sports areas. The place is well staffed and life passed at a relaxed,slow and laid back pace....

The cottage we stayed in was decorated very tastefully, and much more luxurious than any other holiday accommodation that we have stayed in previously. We were sharing with my parents and space was never a problem.  
The location overlooking the lake was a real bonus and the morning and evening vista’s were worth the trip alone.
If you are looking to get away from it all then this could be the place for you......

The Lake has a lifeguarded swimming area and water sports for hire (try the 7 foot inflatable balls that you can have a run in, guaranteed laughs) and other attractions including fishing points, we found it very safe and clean and we really enjoyed our time down there.

The village of Parentis is a real gem,  typical French bakeries and deli shops with markets a couple of times a week. We had dinner in restaurant Chez Flo in the middle of the village and would recommend it to any one visiting the area.

Nearest beaches were in Bicarosse and Mimizan, in both  locations the beaches were fab with strong surf and life guarded swim areas but in my opinion both towns were a little too tourist orientated with surplus amounts of gift shops etc, we had spent the previous week further down the coast around Messanges  and preferred its less developed coastline.

All in all we really enjoyed our stay in this location and will return again, the lake, the village and the cottages were 5* quality and real good value for money, if your lucky enough to be heading that way, Bon voyage

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank mlce22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

just back from a fantastic 12 day stay here. It was our first time to the area and it did not disappoint. The 2 bed apt was fantastic (doulble room, bunk bed room and sofa bed) , the pool and bar were great with table tennis , basketball and soccer court on site also. The complex is set on a lake beach which had surfing , kayaking and sailing all available at a very resonable cost. kayaks were 5 euro for an hr and windsurfing was 10 euro for an hr. The village is only a 15/20 min walk in and has everything u need ( Super u , intermarche , market, Dr , bakery, bank etc) The cylce pths in the area are superb and all off road sycling so u can go as far as u like and it suits kids of all ages . (Ours were 16,12 and 8 and were able to cycle to Biscaroose town 9k away) Biscarrosse coastal beach is a 20 k cycle(inl a mountainy stretch) or a 20 min drive and well worth going to .Bikes can be hired on the site and like everything else hire was very reasonable and deals avail if u ask !! Mimizan beach is spectacular and is about the same distance in the opposite direction. Surfed here with the kids and only 10 euro a surf board for a half day so very good value. The Aqualand is 25/30 mins drive and is a fanastic day out with lots for everyone - adults included ! We had meant to get to the tree climbing park in Biscarrosse but ran out of days ! So thats def on our list for next year.

There was only 1 small drawback and that was that the site did not have many on site organized activities for the kids but to be fair it was still June so it might have been a bit too early - but alot of Irish do travel at this time so it would be perfect of there were a few things organized on site for late June too .

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Millfarm6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parentis-en-Born
8.0 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Domaine de Gascogne
4.5 mi away
Hype Hotel
Hype Hotel
#1 of 11 in Biscarrosse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lakeside
Lakeside
#3 of 4 in Parentis-en-Born
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
La Caravelle
La Caravelle
#3 of 11 in Biscarrosse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
4.2 mi away
Siblu Villages - La Reserve
6.5 mi away
Camping Mayotte Vacances
Camping Mayotte Vacances
#2 of 20 in Biscarrosse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Cottages du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Cottages du Lac

Property: Les Cottages du Lac
Address: Route de Lahitte, 40160 Parentis-en-Born, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Landes > Parentis-en-Born
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Parentis-en-Born
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Cottages du Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Aquitaine, the Landes area's "Cote d'Argent" (Silver Coast) is well known for its pine forests rich in fauna and flora, the largest forested area in Europe offering a welcome lungful of fresh air for nature lovers. Its fine sandy beaches are bathed by the Atlantic Ocean. A powerful, invigorating ocean which has shaped the life and character of the people of the Landes, providing huge open areas perfect for open-air activities including surfing, sailing, kiting, mountain biking and walking In a rural environment sandwiched between the ocean and the forests, its many lakes offer a peaceful rural setting with countless spots perfect for fishing or bathing safely and securely Located midway between the major vineyards of Bordeaux and the Basque country, Parentis en Born is a great starting point for all kinds of trips and adventures or for discovering the many golf courses in the Aquitaine region. In this outstanding natural environment, the "Cottages du Lac" holiday apartment complex with its three-star tourism holiday apartment rating is comprised of detached homes and apartments looking out onto the Biscarrosse-Parentis lake in the heart of the Landes forest. The holiday cottages and apartments blend in perfectly with the landscape and provide amazing views over the surrounding natural environment. They are the perfect place to enjoy a peaceful and relaxing stay as a family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Les Cottages du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Cottages Du Lac Hotel Parentis-En-Born
Les Hotel Du Lac
Les Cottages Du Lac France/Parentis-En-Born, Aquitaine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing