We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be put off by this being a Casino”
Review of Hotel Du Parc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Du Parc
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Salies-de-Bearn
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Salies de Bearn is the most beautiful pristine medieval town.
We have stayed at Hotel du Parc twice. First time we wondered what on earth we had let ourselves in for. Majestic old building with dark interior, wooden clad walls. Wonderful surprise when we were shown our room which was spacious and modern.

The casino part is isolated to one part of the ground floor and not at all intrusive.

This time we stayed in a nearby apartment as the hotel is quite expensive. However we used the hotel for dining on two occasions.

Despite the opulence of the restaurant this was the cheapest meal we had in our 2 week holiday in France. The food was fantastic. The house wine was great.

Thoroughly recommend the hotel if it is within your budget.
If not try an apartment and just dine at this hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely but a corner one has windows on all sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kath95978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

I have stayed at this hotel (which is also now a Casino) many times and each time I feel as though I should be wearing a long dress and floating down the beautiful staircase, which is unfortunately no longer on show. The hotel stood empty for many years until it was modernised. However, although the rooms are very comfortable and modern the main entrance and lounge have been kept, as far as possible, in the Victorian era and the original façade on the upper floors can still be viewed looking not unlike a scene from a wild west film with the lovely ballustrade circling round leading up to the glass roof. When the hotel was modernised they could no longer use this corridor and room entrances because the ballustrade did not confirm to 'French norms' in height. As a result when you take the lift to the upper floors you are faced with a blank wall, the otherside of which remain the original bedroom doors and nothing more - very cleverly done.

We had dinner and enjoyed a very pleasant evening, taking a digestif in the armchairs, that seem to lean back forever!

We only took a basic room as all we needed was somewhere to sleep, and perhaps eat, but being regulars we were given a reduction. The second full weekend in September is always the Fête du Sel (Salt Festival) and well worth a visit if you want to experience a typical French fête. Take advantage of the Thermal Baths (Spa) which is a stones throw from the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing on to the Jardin Public or the hotel's own garden or you may be facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank June B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

delightful looking village where people go for water cures at the beautiful water cure building next door to hotel.
we were given a very small room in the heritage listed biding. the renovation of the room was very adequate and the room looked good but we discovered that the heavy curtains, which are adequate to blind the huge spot light that lights the building at night right outside out window, did not have a thin layer of curtain as well so we could not have any privacy in our room during the day if we wanted to, and any one outside could look into our room as it was on the first floor of the building only.
we could hear the TVs in the adjoining rooms for the best part of the evening and at night and also in the morning.
we woke up to the sound of heavy gardening equipment outside in the garden.....
also there was an odd light that keep our room lit up during the night, almost like a night light, that we could not turn off, at the level of our curtain rail.... we could not find its provenance...very odd.
so what should have been a good night sleep in one of the quietest French village around turned out to be anything but

Room Tip: a room in the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed here one night on a stopover on our way home from Madrid. The town was having a festival and it was very lively, so that helped. The room was huge, with a king size bed and a bed settee for our two boys. The breakfast was great, a real selection of foods and drinks that had everyone satisfied. Comfortable, clean and the staff, particularly Donna, were very helpful. There was a Casino on sight, but it wasn't really our thing ... we were also a little young for it ... by about 30 years!! All in all, a nice hotel, right next to the Spa if you wished to take the waters.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, I believe they are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allypally2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We stayed four nights with a Groupon. We had a superior room (number 305), very bright, it was a huge room with a view on the Thermal Spas and the music kiosk. Large bathroom too. The bedroom was very quiet and the bed was a king size with a good mattress.

The TV was small and far from the bed, attached to the opposite wall, you need good eyes or wear glasses.
You can manage yourself the heating or air conditioning which was appreciated as we didn't have good weather.

The hotel itself is magnificent, dated 1891. Staff is efficient and friendly although not very smiley at the restaurant.

The restaurant was good, fast service, maybe too fast for our tastes. Prices are very reasonable even the wine. You can also dine on Sundays evenings. Correct continental breakfast in the morning from 7 to 10 am during the week and 8 to 10 h 30 am the week end. It was good to be able to stay in bed late and not to have to get early for the breakfast. Bar lounge is agreeable although prices are expensive for the quantity you get.

Room Tip: at the third floor number 312 and 314 are next to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BunnyR31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

The hotel room was really bright with lots of fresh air, we had a corner room with lots of french doors, very nice. The beds were comfy and it was nice and quiet Dinner at the hotel was mediocre as was breakfast. There arent a lot of options, it seems, in this city.

Room Tip: the corner room was spacious and airy because of all the french doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shira K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

we recently stayed at this hotel whilst on a business trip. we had one days work and then three days to enjoy ourselves. The room was lovely, we had a lovely sitting area with a wardrobe, settee table and chair and a huge king size bed and sliding doors to a bathroom that had a full bath with power shower over, twin basin and loo and all fully tiled in lovely modern beige tones. we had two sets of balcony doors that went the length of our room with lovely views of the town, mountains and small park opposite. it was a lovely town, very old, but very picturesque with nice restaurants and very friendly people. The hotel breakfast was just continental, but there were hams cheeses and pastries and a bowl of fruit and some yoghurts, enough to keep you going. the restaurant meal in the evening was superb if a little slow. we hada wonderful few days there and would definately go back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tinajb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salies-de-Bearn
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Golf le Lodge
Hotel du Golf le Lodge
#1 of 4 in Salies-de-Bearn
91 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Helios
Hotel Helios
#3 of 4 in Salies-de-Bearn
32 reviews
8.8 mi away
Kyriad Orthez
Kyriad Orthez
#1 of 1 in Orthez
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Au Petit Bearn
Hotel Restaurant Au Petit Bearn
#4 of 4 in Salies-de-Bearn
13 reviews
4.1 mi away
Auberge du Relais
Auberge du Relais
#1 of 1 in Berenx
63 reviews
13.8 mi away
Gnac E Pause
Gnac E Pause
#1 of 1 in Saint-Lon-les-Mines
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Du Parc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Parc

Address: Blvd Saint-Guily, 64270 Salies-de-Bearn, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Bearn-Basque Country > Bearn > Salies-de-Bearn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Salies-de-Bearn
Price Range: £59 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Du Parc 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Bearn, nestled between the Basque coast and the Pyrenees, treat yourself to a stay at the Hotel du Parc and Casino in Salies de Bearn. The Hotel is a magnificent 19th century building, registered as a National monument. Enjoy the calm grounds, comfortable rooms, the beautiful foyer and the buzz of gambling hall. 51 Elegantly refurbished rooms A perfect blend of modern comfort and traditional architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Du Parc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing