We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful location for relaxing, cycling or...”

Review of Domaine Lavie

Domaine Lavie aerial view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Domaine Lavie aerial view
Welcome to Domaine Lavie Terrace Cottage (sleeps 2)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Domaine Lavie aerial view
Welcome to Domaine Lavie
Terrace Cottage (sleeps 2)
Terrace Cottage lounge
Park Cottage (sleeps 6)
Park Cottage kitchen/dining area
Park Cottage double bedroom
Orchard Cottage (sleeps 4)
Orchard Cottage double bedroom
Courtyard Cottage (sleeps 4)
View of the pool from the courtyard
14m x 8m 'Pool-with-a-view' shared by the four properties
Old gate in the courtyard
Seven acres of lawns, gardens, parkland and woodland to enjoy
View of the surrounding woodlands
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
8 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Salies-de-Bearn, Bearn, Bearn-Basque Country, Pyrenees-Atlantiques, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CathS72
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful location for relaxing, cycling or exploring”
Reviewed 19 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Domaine Lavie is a cluster of gites around the courtyard of an old manor house, each backing on to the beautiful south-facing garden with its large pool. We stayed in 'Orchard Cottage' which was perfect for our family - clean, well-equipped (for both British and French cooks), comfortable and with bags of character. We were there during a hot spell, and the thick stone walls kept the cottage beautifully cool during the day. The owners, Jules and Ian, were very friendly and hospitable, and provided a really helpful 'welcome pack' of bread, milk, tea, coffee, wine, etc. We split our time between lazing around the garden and exploring the local area - Salies, Navarrenx, St Jean de Luz and the Pyrenees are all recommended. We were pleasantly surprised by how many flat cycling routes suitable for the family there were, as well as the more mountainous routes for the serious cyclist. The unheated pool was a little bracing in April, but we understand they have plans for solar heating soon. As in most of rural France, WiFi is not amazingly quick, but it was fine for checking emails and searching on the Internet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful location, the pyrenees, the swimming pool
Liked least: Sunburn!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
masuke
Washington, DC area
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Perfect Place for Scouting the Bearn and Beyond”
Reviewed 23 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We visit France every winter from the U.S. and by some accounts this was a uniquely bad week of weather; maybe so, but we went for beautiful drives every day as far as Pau and St. Jean de Luz and found evocative and friendly local attractions in every direction. The cottage was as well outfitted as any we have ever leased and Julie and Ian as helpful and available as imaginable. A great selection of properties at all sizes and prices, each with a lovely view. Try the winter, even at its harshest, it is a joy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It felt remote, but was convenient to grand and small attractions.
Liked least: We had to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scots L
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Superb location”
Reviewed 30 June 2013 for a stay in May 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Self-catering houses in the old buildings surrounding a lovely large French country house. Our villa was wonderful, and faced the orchard which had fig trees! There were bats as well - just splendid.

In terms of equipment, and bedding etc. the villa was well stocked and comfortable. There was a small selection books and DVDs in the house as well, catering for an English speaking clientele, so that was handy too.

The view from the pool area was lovely, gentle rolling fields and hills, and the whole Bearn region is very pretty. If you head up side roads and down lanes you'll find beautiful rivers, quiet picnic spots and so on. The Pyrenees are just an hour or so away by car, and just stunning - again get off the beaten tourist track!

Salies de Bearn itself is very quiet, the loudest thing after 9pm is a dog barking. This, as far as I am concerned is a good thing! Don't go here if you want "nightlife". Usual French small town, clean, pleasant etc. although as it is a thermal spa, if your French is up to it, it's worthwhie booking some treatments and a morning in the spa itself. Perfectly good supermarkets and small shops for food and other items.

My only gripe was that as we were the first visitors of the season, and the owner seemed to be having some personal issues, the pool hadn't been cleaned properly, the water was clean enough, but the bottom of the pool needed some serious work, I understand that this has now been resolved.

There are several villas on site, one overlooking the pool, which is good if you like to be at the centre of it all, but we liked the one facing the orchard - with it's own personal patio space, queit, secluded, and out of the way. Oh, there are barbeques available too.

I would recommend this for people who are self-starters, like to arrange their own days and evenings, enjoy walking and exploring. - it's a lovely quiet area of France, very picturesque, and Domaine de la Vie is a great place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, peace, and views
Liked least: the African hornets
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarface3...
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Welcoming, comfortable, hospitable; in a word 'perfect'.”
Reviewed 7 February 2013 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed with Mary and Roger Brennan before, both in the main house with a larger party, and in Park and Terrace cottages. Such a great welcome awaits, with a 'get you in' pack for arriving guests. Just about everything that you might need for a fortnight's holiday has been thought of and, if not actually provided, appears very soon after asking. Delightful and hospitable hosts, Mary and Roger do their utmost to ensure that you have a comfortable stay.

Salies is such a good base for all sorts of things to do; the coast is only an hour away the French Pyrenees (although you can see them form the pool terrace) is about an hour and a half away. Pau is closer at around 30 minutes, as are lots of very pretty and quaint French towns and villages with their weekly markets. Needless to say we love the area, which has so much to offer, and keep coming back. We have even had a 10 day holiday in winter and skied every other day in a different French ski resort on each trip - hardly another Brit in sight! We also have been to the Guggenheim Gallery in Bilbao from here; it is very do-able as a day trip. If you really want to see south west France, and north west Spain, at it's most enjoyable this is an excellent place to stay and to base your holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendly, relaxed ambience of Domaine de Lavie, and the brilliant location fo Salies de Bearn.
Liked least: The fact that budget airlines have stopped flying into Biarritz and Pau. The drive from Toulouse or Bordeaux airport can take up to 2 hours or more.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Feb 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We hope to see you again in the very near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandycaro...
North Wales
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best equipped self catering cottage we have ever stayed in in France.”
Reviewed 9 October 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Well appointed beautifully presented, with good quality equipment, everything you could possibly need for a weeks self-catering. Pool towels even provided. A lovely peaceful week's stay, with plenty to see in surrounding countryside on days out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review we are so pleased you had such a good holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing