We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chalet Charme”
Review of Gite Arbonne

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arbonne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gite Arbonne
Ranked #2 of 2 Arbonne B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Chalet Charme”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

If you are a boulderer, this is a perfect base for climbing in Fontainebleau and you can walk to most of the best climbing venues within an hour. It has a relaxed family atmosphere, the owners are always helpful and you can hire boulder mats. Sandra cooks some fine food and breakfast is always a treat. If you like a chilled-out base without any rowdiness, this is ideal and reasonably priced - good for a lone visit or for a couple travelling who want the 'cabin-in-the-woods' experience without the horror!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_Watson_Ecosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    9
    1
    1
    6
See reviews for
13
23
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bilbao, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2013

After many trips to Fontainebleau, I finally found my place!!
In this magical place you feel in nature, making you part of the forest.
I want to emphasize the humanity of the staff and the authenticity of the place.
This being a magical place and unique to relax and unwind from the stress.
Highly recommended for couples or groups who require privacy and require nature away from the city.
The cozy Chalets very well equipped to spend several days.
It's an unique site that I recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alberto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2012

What's remarkable for this place is that there are not only nice and cosy accomodations, but the friendly and welcoming owners make worth every stay, even if its only for stopping by for a hot tea in front of the chimney. It is rather a very friendly place with a familiar atmosphere than a "normal" gite! Everyone is warmly welcomed at Sandras and Frederic's gite! Furthermore it is located perfecly for reaching the nice forest and the climbing sites. We will return next spring definitely!

Room Tip: The treehouse is definitely something very special, but the small huts have their charme too. Every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alegrianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caracas, Venezuela
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2012

To feel at home is a special and unique feeling, being comfortable, at peace, feeling you belong and the bliss of being inspired by your surroundings it's a feeling that is really hard to find.
I've spent three weeks in Gite Arbonne and from the moment I stepped out of the taxi the feeling of home started producing itself.
The couple who tend the place and their beautiful family welcomed me with a positive and helpful attitude, guiding and aiding me in making the most of my holiday in the Forest of Fontainebleau.
The place is beautiful, surrounded by the beauty of the forest I just needed to open the door of my room and was at the heart of it. The room was super clean, and had everything I needed to be super comfortable.
If you are going to Fontainebleau Gite Arbonne could be the best choice to make it a wonderful and amazing trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrenchVenezuelaClimb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

i have stayed in a few of the gites surrounding fontainebleau and this is by far the best one! the couple who run the place are incredibly nice, multi lingual, and all around genuine people. i had an amazing time while i was there. the different gites are all very cozy and comfortable and very clean. the area where it is located is quiet and very peaceful. when i come back to font i will be sure to stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

I spent a couple of days at Gite Arbonne when traveling alone, and there are so many things that are special about this place...First of all, the owners are very kind and helpful and they have many good advices to get to know the surroundings. Second, the place...all surrounded by trees, silent at night, very peaceful. The bedroom was cosy and the breakfast awesome, with home-made bread!!! Besides, around the house there is a nice little "playroom" both for kids and grownups (there is a slack line that you can feel free to try :) And finally, Gite Arbonne has a great location, surrounded by many forests, places to climb (the owners can rent you some crash pads), to bike, hike, ride... Well, a great place for getting a touch of nature!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oihana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We planned two nights in the chalet in middle of Fontainebleau forest. As per internet site was very nice place. We came with two kids, bring with us all needed for barbecue and kids was very exciting about this place. Once we came there and see this place I didn’t know how to behave: the “chalet” was dirty, very small and disgusting. Our hostess was very not nice – she gave us short briefing about what we are not supposed to do and disappeared. She back late in the evening to tell us that she serving the breakfast in the chalet, but not before 09:00.
The bedding linen was definitely used, so we had to sleep dressed. We didn’t use a kitchen because it also was dirty. I found some bug in our bed and after this couldn’t sleep all nights. The bathroom with some sliding door (that you never can really close) was extremely small and when you seating on the toilet bowl your heap rubbing the wall (not clean one). It wasn’t any soap there. And the sink was small like in the train. It was backpackers hostel style (as I imagine it).
I wanted to leave immediately, but it was about 17:00 and we were with kids and very tiered, so we stayed for one night and in the morning run away. By the way, the “breakfast” was forlorn and matching to the place.
I want to mention that overall environment, the forest, Fontainebleau, Barbizon was very nice places, and idea to stay in chalet in the forest was great. Just pick some other place to stay!

Room Tip: stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vikistravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arbonne
3.0 mi away
LAU'BERGE de la Cle d'Or
LAU'BERGE de la Cle d'Or
#3 of 3 in Barbizon
23 reviews
6.0 mi away
Mercure Royal Fontainebleau
Mercure Royal Fontainebleau
#7 of 12 in Fontainebleau
258 reviews
4.9 mi away
Novotel Fontainebleau Ury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
La Demeure du Parc
La Demeure du Parc
#2 of 12 in Fontainebleau
115 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotellerie du Bas-Breau
Hotellerie du Bas-Breau
#1 of 3 in Barbizon
176 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Les Pleiades
Hotel Les Pleiades
#2 of 3 in Barbizon
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gite Arbonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gite Arbonne

Property: Gite Arbonne
Address: 159 Chemin du Bois de la Fontaine, 77630 Arbonne, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Arbonne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Arbonne
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lover of nature and the forest of Fontainebleau, Gite Arbonne welcomes you in an exceptional place in the heart of hiking trails and climbing areas. Chalets in wood, tree house or room in guest house, we stay at your disposal to help you for a wonderful stay at 45 mn of Paris ! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing