We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ideal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ibis Budget Caen Nord Memorial
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Saint-Contest
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    151
    94
    29
    15
See reviews for
99
139
27
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oostende, Belgium
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I was pleasantly surprised with the service and room comfort. Room is efficiently laid out so that it very practical. The staff is very friendly and the wifi is very good as it should be. Really a good value for the price. Breakfast is good for the price you pay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My first stay with this chain and I was pleasantly surprised. Austere, but I was on a tight budget and was not willing to pay for frills. Room was small but efficient and clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. Microwave in lobby allowed me to heat water for tea. Next door to a grocery store so I walked next door to get food so we could pack a lunch and snacks for our travels. We wanted to visit all 5 invasion beaches and it was easy to get to them from this location. Booking online from the US was easy. Parking is easy and free. One of the best values I have had traveling in a long time!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckhurst Hill, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2013

The hotel is well located close to the main town. Easily accessable on a through route. Rooms are basic but clean and comfortable for this level of budget hotel. Booking on line is easy and straightforward.
Very good value.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank martinobrien154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Taking into account the expectation that I had before coming, knowing the accorhotels lines, everything was as expected. The price / comfort ratio is very good, as well as the breakfast. I have nothing to complain.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank RazvanTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

OK, It's a budget hotel, so you expect a budget experience. The hotel is self-service, so make sure you have your reservation number with you. Car parking is on site and free, and you're within 100m of a fuel station and within 2km of the city centre of Caen. The "Memorial Caen" is nearby and there is bus service right outside the Memorial - about a 10 minute brisk walk away.

The hotel has been recently refurbished, so the rooms are decorated in the now familiar green. The bed is comfy and pillows fresh. The bathroom is in a corner, and probably needs ripping out, as it's clear it's a little dated. All the fittings in the bathroom were plastic, and the shower space was about half the size I've come to expect from the old étap brand.

The hotel is right on the edge of the Périphérique of Caen, so there is a bit of traffic noise, and the walls don't insulate this well. Good idea to ask for a room at the right hand side of the hotel away from this. The hotel seemed a little underused (I think I counted 3 other cars in the car park).

All in all - a pretty decent hotel and getting what you pay for.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielH984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quimper, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Next door talked loudly late at night for some time. They had their window one and smoked many cigarettes. Even though our windows was shut the smell of cigarettes was obvious. The breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Rlmorris45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Contest
0.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Caen Memorial
B&B Hotel Caen Memorial
#3 of 5 in Saint-Contest
122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premiere Classe Caen Nord - Memorial
0.3 mi away
Ace Hotel Caen Nord MeMorial
Ace Hotel Caen Nord MeMorial
#2 of 5 in Saint-Contest
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Inter-hotel Otelinn
Inter-hotel Otelinn
#19 of 41 in Caen
222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fasthotel Caen Memorial
Fasthotel Caen Memorial
#5 of 5 in Saint-Contest
61 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brit Hotel Caen Nord - Memorial
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Caen Nord Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Caen Nord Memorial

Property: Ibis Budget Caen Nord Memorial
Address: rue du clos Barbey, 14280 Saint-Contest, France (Formerly Etap Hotel)
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Saint-Contest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Saint-Contest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Budget Caen Nord Memorial 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Budget Caen Nord Memorial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Budget Caen Nord Memorial France/Saint-Contest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing