We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good stop on along drive!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fasthotel Caen Memorial
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Saint-Contest
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A good stop on along drive!”
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

I have stopped there during a long drive from Lille to Brittany region, coming from Brussels. The hotel is quit small but quit convenient for a quick stop. Rooms are neat and clean, and prices are pritty good specially if you get the offers. There is a bar and breakfast service available but not free..

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MHammad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    33
    18
    6
    5
See reviews for
29
23
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We stayed in this hotel during a recent trip to Caen. The hotel is located on the outskirts of Caen, in a small commercial area. The check-in process was relatively straightforward - the automated check-in did not recognise our booking but fortunately there was a friendly and helpful member of staff at reception.
Our room was on the 2nd floor and was very basic with a bed, TV, wardrobe unit and a plastic moulded bathroom pod in the corner. We found the hotel very creaky, probably due to the timber construction - we could hear every movement made by the people above us and by people using the stairs next to our room.
The hotel is very cheap (we paid €40), the staff are friendly and it serves it's purpose as a place to sleep for a night very well. Exactly what I would expect from a budget hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pécs, Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Container building at the edge of town. I spent 1 nights here in June, 2010. The chamber with the little bath-corner was tidy and functional, nothing extra. A little smell maybe. Bed comfortable. I slept well. Breakfast basic. Appropriate for purpose.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gergely P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

The hotel is in a commercial area with a couple of other budget hotels, formule1 for example. The staff were friendly with some English spoken. We were within a 15 min walk of the war memorial. It appeared to be popular with budget business people. The room was compact and the bathroom tiny. The hotel is of timber construction and noise travelled easily. Other residents did not disturb us except when using the access stairs. It was clean basic budget accommodation . The attached bistro served evening meals and an adequate continental breakfast. They were kind enough to place the ice blocks for our cold bag in their freezer overnight.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stockjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

The photos ot this hotel are deceiving. Fasthotels are low budget hotels mainly used by travelling work crews. The rooms are very small and shabby. The bathroom is also very small resembling one of the French public coin-operated toilets. The automated check-in system is a ridiculous way that the chain uses to save money on staff. Our booking was messed up on their system and we had to drive across Caen to get the tourist bureau to phone the number that was on the box in case of problems. When we returned, we were met by an obviously annoyed caretaker who got us our keys. This was not a good value for the money. There are much better hotels nearby.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DWH59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint-Contest hotels

England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2010

Hotel location, for us was great, central to everything we wanted to see and do (which was normandy d day sites). Car is essential in my view. Hotel located in what i would describe as a industrial site, with supermarkets, french version of B&Q's etc, and other hotels similiar to this one, However, i will say that noise was not a problem.
The hotel reception is closed around 9pm. The car park is locked by barrier system at 10pm so if you need to enter/exit you will need a code for the key pad.
Room is very basic, we had a double bed (two mattress pushed together) Bunk beds for the kids - beds were okay. Room was cleaned everyday, and beds made. Bathroom is very very tiny, you can sit on the toilet, wash your hands and have a shower at the same time. If you are a large person - the bathroom may prove to be a problem for you.
For us it was okay, as we got in late every night and just slepted, showered and went back out the next day - it suited our needs.
Breakfast, is very basic (5 euros per person) continental breakfast, on a help yourself basis. I.E french stick, crossiants, jam, spreads Tea./Coffee/Orange Juice.
You can buy on site (if reception is open) water, coke etc price 2 euros. There are no tea/coffee making facilities in your room, and no vending machines to obtain drinks if reception is closed. So be prepared for that.
The staff are helpful, but speak very basic english, so if you dont speak any french be prepared. There is a cash point on site, but i believe its chargeable.
We found two restaurants within a few mins walking distant - very nice, suitable for all tastes. Caen itself, not much there really, there is a castle, that you can visit, I would recommend a visit to the Caen memorial which is about 10min car ride.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunset70England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Contest
0.0 mi away
B&B Hotel Caen Memorial
B&B Hotel Caen Memorial
#3 of 6 in Saint-Contest
129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Caen Nord Memorial
Ibis Budget Caen Nord Memorial
#4 of 6 in Saint-Contest
345 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premiere Classe Caen Nord - Memorial
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ace Hotel Caen Nord MeMorial
Ace Hotel Caen Nord MeMorial
#1 of 6 in Saint-Contest
109 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel La Fontaine Caen Centre
3.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Caen Herouville
Ibis Budget Caen Herouville
#2 of 5 in Herouville-Saint-Clair
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fasthotel Caen Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fasthotel Caen Memorial

Property: Fasthotel Caen Memorial
Address: rue du clos Barbey | Zac du Clos Barbey, 14280 Saint-Contest, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Saint-Contest
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Saint-Contest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Fasthotel Caen Memorial 1*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Fasthotel Caen Memorial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fasthotel Caen Memorial France/Saint-Contest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing