We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and pool”
Review of Hotel L'Hippocampe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel L'Hippocampe
Reviewed 11 August 2010

The owners were lovely and friendly and the room was spacious and clean. The pool was wonderful and really well looked after gardens.

Only drawbacks were :
No fridge in room and location a way from shops meant it was difficult to have a cold drink without spending a fortune.
Also breakfast at 10 Euro per person was an expensive option with a 4 and 6 year old.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisatrenoweth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2009

The owners of this hotel could not do enough for us, we spent a month in Europe, and this was the best hotel experience we had - the first time i have posted on trip advisor, we were so impressed that we would love to see this hotel do well. The room we had was great for a family and we were two adults, two teenagers and a six year old - a lovely balcony, clean pool, copious breakfast - and Madam actually brought breakfast to our room on a tray because she didn't want us to miss it the first morning, after a late arrival! If you are staying in this area, don't hesitate to book this hotel for value and personal care!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boudinblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2008

Our room at L'Hippocampe was fresh and clean. The floor space seemed a bit small, possibly because the ceiling was slanting. The bathroom included a large shower with shower curtain. The location was not scenic, but it was only about one mile from the menhirs of Carnac and the new visitor center at the Menec menhirs. At 50 euros, it was a good value. The desk clerk/owner greeted us warmly and gave us helpful maps and advice about finding the sites in which we were interested.

The restaurant on site boasted a Parisian-trained chef. We tried the oysters, fresh from the L'Hippocampe oyster farm. They were our first oyster adventure and the host kindly gave us advice about how to eat them. They were probably world-class oysters but we don't have any background for comparison.

After finding the web site, we were reluctant to book because it asked for a deposit several times larger than the room rate. After a phone call, we learned this deposit was necessary only for long-term stays.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Irish-Adventuress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sandrine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Olivier C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quintnico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plouharnel hotels
0 mi away
Carnac Lodge & Hotel
Carnac Lodge & Hotel
#1 of 1 in Plouharnel
281 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Villa Mane Lann
La Villa Mane Lann
#1 of 1 in Plouharnel
63 reviews
1.3 mi away
Camping les Bruyeres
Camping les Bruyeres
#5 of 6 in Plouharnel
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Camping de Loperhet
Camping de Loperhet
#1 of 6 in Plouharnel
92 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Hippocampe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Hippocampe

Address: route de Carnac - Kerhueno, 56340 Plouharnel, France
Region: France > Brittany > Morbihan > Plouharnel
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Plouharnel
Price Range: £57 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel L'Hippocampe 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel L'Hippocampe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing