We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boutique hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Vieux Moulin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel du Vieux Moulin
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Chablis
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Very good attention to detail. We stayed in the least expensive room which was comfortable (if a little noisy as it's right next to the weir) with an extremely spacious bathroom, lovely communal breakfast and sitting room with a beautiful view over Le Clos vineyard, staff very friendly and helpful, both during the booking process and during our sadly short stay. This is definitely somewhere to come back to, next time we'll upgrade!

Room Tip: Room no. 1 is next to the weir
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    20
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
52
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
123 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Traveling by bike through Burgundy we stayed at this Hotel for one night. It name suggest that it is a hotel but it is more a very luxurious Bed&Breakfast. The location is amazing. Sitting on top of a stream in the middle of Chablis overlloking the winefields of Chablis it does not get better. The rooms are well designed and there is a very large shared livving room with terras. The people from the hotel helped us with a safe storing place for our bikes so we didn't have to park them on the street. The restaurant/wine bar on the ground floor has a very friendly young staff and serves a excellent dinner. Definitely a place to stay for a longer period.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankDijkstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Gushing water and bird song are music to my soul, green rolling hills, Premier Grand Cru vineyards and pebbly windy streets stimulate my thirst for adventure. After un uneventful drive from Paris we entered the surrounds of Chablis. The waving wheat fields, softly lowing healthy Charolais cattle dotted on the hillside and yellow canola fields glowing in the twilight made a splendid invitation to crest the hill and venture into the real Chablis of vines,tractors and Caves. My husband found this Hotel on a previous trip and could not wait to take me there for our 30th Anniversary, knowing that I would love the history and age of this village. Etienne, a delightful young man who carried our suitcases to our room, also worked in the Cave, and showed us as part of a Tour the 13th Century massive wine press made by the Monks who used to run the town.He was also a Lawyer who specialised in Wine Law. He was very mature, polite, elegantly engaging and a hard worker, lending a hand at everything, did I forget to mention historian and Tourist Guide! Any mother would be proud of this son! The Hotel was in the middle of major refurbishment of the restaurant, cellars and Cave but the rooms were delightful and the breakfast plentiful and tasty.Sitting on the sunny Terrace looking out over the canal at the vineyards, reading the papers and having breakfast consumed whole mornings, to idle was magic! The town is rich in history, pre-Roman, Joan of Arc, the ancient Synagogue, Monks extensive Abbey, a Chateau and grounds and wine making, all creating a beautiful melange of experiences for those who choose to look. On Sunday There was a market in the town. All I could do was wish that I was staying in a cottage by the canal, riding my bike around the extensive trails ( the partisserie had the BEST pastries and bread!) and cooking the magnificent produce on offer; huge white asparagus, cheeses to die for, terrines, pates and glorious berries. We tried every wine and all the restaurants the favourite being William Fevre Grand Vins De Chablis, fantastic snails and everything else! You must book a few days before. We loved the Hotel, the Staff were fabulous we departed on 12.00 midday, and we will return for a longer stay.Thank you Chablis and Hotel du Vieux moulin

Room Tip: If you like running water ask for the room that straddles the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Akkadiamum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

Hotel Vieux Moulin in Chablis remains one of my favorite hotels. Located over the stream passing through the town, Room 2 is directly above the dam and a unique experience. Staff was always helpful.

Room Tip: Room 3 has beautiful deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JackA5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2011

We stayed here for one night in February, this is a beautiful small hotel in chablis, very comfortable and rooms are modern and imaginatively designed. There is lounge area with an honesty bar, breakfast is also served there. The hotel appeared to be running on minimal staff - perhaps because it is low season, in addition the hotel restaurant was closed, not sure if this is permanent or not. A very relaxing place to stay and a good choice of restaurants nearby, would recommend it and would return in the summer.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yugosunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2010

I made a booking request directly with the hotel and, as there was no answer four days later, I called them. The receptionist said that they had a problem with their emails, so she took the credit card details etc over the phone. In the course of the afternoon, I got an email stating that the hotel was fully booked! After another mail, the lady admitted that she and her colleague had... some sort of communication problem...so the booking was eventually reconfirmed. Remember: this place has 5 rooms and 2 suites!
Yet, for 160,00 EUR/night, don't expect to find staff at the reception in the evening, which is why you get an access code for the main door.
Furthermore, you might also expect a "honesty bar" to be cheaper than a staffed bar, but prices are on the high side as well.
At first sight, the room looked very fine with a great view over a creek and parts of the village. As the name suggests, this is a former mill built across the water. As soon as you open a window, there is a lot of noise from the scenic little waterfalls!
As a contrast to that, there was virtually no sound coming of the smallish flat-screen TV set. When I complained about that in the morning, I was told that this set had a problem for some time, but that we could move to the adjacent room. As there was only one more night to go, I declined this offer.
As last Friday was extremely hot, I switched on the air-condition in the evening before my wife and I went to have dinner. As we returned, the temperature was just as high as before as the aircon had absolutely no cooling effect. So I opened the window and in less than no time the room was invaded by hundreds of little flies that usually swirl around the impressive outside lightening of the Vieux Moulin.
Upon checking out, I mentioned that this had been one of the worst hotel stays ever (I spend about 200 nights/year in hotels) the receptionist said that they had the problem with the air condition for some weeks and that they were waiting for some spare parts to fix it. Chablis is not in the middle of Africa or on some remote island in the South Pacific, but right in the middle of France, and I told her that, for the price paid, I would have expected something else, above all a different attitude towards guests. Believe it or not, she offered us a free breakfast for one morning (2 x 12,00 EUR).
Initially the title of this review should have been "Third world service for first world prices", but this would have been unfair to the competent management and dedicated staff in fine hotels in developing countries where stays can be absolutely delightful.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YvesLuxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
208 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2009

The hotel was clean and the rooms were fine. If you opened the window from the room the noise was deafening and therefore you had to rely on air con which was not too bad.

The restaurant was prenentious and the food poor. If more effort had been put into the substance rather than presentation, it would have been an improvement.

The first course arrived and much was made of the unwrapping of the gift wrapped food. When the fork went in, the food still had ice in it. This was not cold - it was frozen. The manager put three dishes back in the microwave and returned with the same half dug in food except, we could'nt tell which dish belonged to which diner!

The restaurant was run like Fawlty Towers as when the chef called, our waitress nearly dropped the wine and ran away!

The internet connection was not working.


The hotel staff were friendly but ineffective. This is one to miss.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chablis
0.4 mi away
L'Hostellerie des Clos
L'Hostellerie des Clos
#1 of 4 in Chablis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Vignes de Sarah
Les Vignes de Sarah
#4 of 4 in Chablis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hotel Auberge de la Beursaudiere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel aux Lys de Chablis
22.5 mi away
La Cote Saint Jacques
6.6 mi away
Moulin de la Coudre
Moulin de la Coudre
#1 of 3 in Venoy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vieux Moulin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vieux Moulin

Property: Hotel du Vieux Moulin
Address: 18 rue des Moulins, 89800, Chablis, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Yonne > Chablis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Chablis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Vieux Moulin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing