We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely accommodation and very welcoming host”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chablis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Maison du Moulin des Roches
Ranked #1 of 8 Chablis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Really lovely accommodation and very welcoming host”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This B&B is 1km outside of Chablis in the beautiful countryside. The house itself is well maintained and very comfortable. The host, Thierry, is charming, informative and helpful and the breakfast is excellent. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eli7474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThierryGrandet, Gérant at La Maison du Moulin des Roches, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you so much for your coming and your reviews. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
77
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last year with another couple and we promised we would return with more friends this year. We did and we were not disappointed. Having stayed in some top hotels in France, this wonderful B&B beats any other French accommodation hands down.
Thierry and Anne are amazing hosts, restaurants booked, wine tasting arranged, not to mention the sublime breakfasts (which was varied every morning of our 3 night stay. Nothing was too much trouble.
The new fitness and spa rooms are finished to the highest standard. As always Thierry's and Anne's attention to detail is unsurpassed.
We are all looking forward to returning next year to this stunning place.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JazzaCc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThierryGrandet, Gérant at La Maison du Moulin des Roches, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Amazing hosts for amazing Guests ! Thank you so much for choosing again our Guest House. So good to see you again this year and meeting your friends. I have heard a lot of laughter, have seen happy faces that makes me feel ... lucky devil to do this job ! Thanks for all,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We are on our last day of our 3 day stay at the "Maison du Moulin des Roches" at Chablis and we could not have made a better choice.
Spacious, clean, beautifully decorated room and bathroom, with beautiful views of the Chablis vineyards and countryside. Well equipped fitness room, and lovely breakfast. Courteous hosts: Anne and Thierry Grandet.

Room Tip: all rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutch65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThierryGrandet, Gérant at La Maison du Moulin des Roches, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you very much for your reviews. I am really more than happy to hear that our Guest House was the perfect tonic for you. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, Brasil
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

This was our second time here, we didn't even think staying elsewhere. It is not just the place itself (amazing rooms, great ambiance, the sound of the moulin in the background), the owners here do make a difference. Thierry and his wife make all the efforts to make you have a great stay - like welcoming us with 2 glasses of Chablis, preparing a tasteful snack prepared in a blink, having a great chat to practice French and discuss about the World Cup etc... It seems like you are staying in the house of friends, not just a B&B.
Definitely I have to agree with a lot of comments: our only regret was not staying longer!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cleby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThierryGrandet, Gérant at La Maison du Moulin des Roches, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you both for choosing again our Guest House. It was so pleasant for us to hosting you that it seems we had a party ! We know that you enjoy the place so we must do our best in the hope that you will never be disappointed here. It was so natural in fact ... Thanks for giving us this special time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This B&B was a highlight of our trip. If your travel plans take you to Chablis and you do not stay here, you are truly missing a fantastic experience. The home (exquisitely renovated by the owner and his wife -- in large part by their own hand) is elegant and beautiful. The rooms (ours and that of the couple we were traveling with) were elegant, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The grounds are a delight to walk. We were served a delicious breakfast each morning of our stay, which included abundant and delicious pastries, fresh fruit and fresh-squeezed juice. If I had to come up with one thing to improve, I'd be hard-pressed to do so. None of our other accommodations while in France was more enjoyable than this!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magjo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThierryGrandet, Gérant at La Maison du Moulin des Roches, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
I am now rather confused as your reviews are so nice and positive ! No I am kidding ! Thank you very much for your comments. We are so glad to hear that you have enjoyed so much our Guest House. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We spent one night in this cosy and beautiful B&B located in the countryside a few kms away from Chablis. The area is wonderful, and a trip to Auxerre is highly recommended. The B&B was recently renovated, the room was huge (1st floor, we had a family room for 4 people at the same price of the double room because it was the only one left) and beautifully decorated. The shower is amazing, huge and with lots of warm water - something rare to find even in 4 stars hotels. After a sound sleep (the place is very quiet) we woke up to taste a delicious breakfast. Couldn't ask for anything else, the price was entirely reasonable in relation to the accomodation and the service. The owner is very nice and really does take care of guests (and on top of this, he's a long distance runner!).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvaF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThierryGrandet, Gérant at La Maison du Moulin des Roches, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you so much for you review. I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed almost everything here. Thanks again. And if you want to do running the next time I also have a lot of tracks around the Mill !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
281 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We enjoyed staying here more than the chateaux or fancy hotels we stayed in on our trip-- this is a true gem! Thierry is wonderful and has thought of every detail, from the luxurious bed linens to the large and fluffy towels to the design of the breakfast room.
Speaking of breakfast-- this was the best of our trip. The fresh fruit was such a treat, and Thierry really knows where to get his bread and pastries in the morning! We were on a cycling trip, so he even offered to make us some eggs for an extra bit of protein.
It's a little walk from town, but don't hesitate to book here-- our only regret is not staying longer.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollyrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThierryGrandet, Gérant at La Maison du Moulin des Roches, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Oh thank you very much for your nice comments ! It was a pleasure to have you at La Maison du Moulin. I remember very well that you need to have a break before moving up again ! Congratulations to the more energetic Guests I have ever had !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chablis
0.6 mi away
L'Hostellerie des Clos
L'Hostellerie des Clos
#1 of 4 in Chablis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vieux Moulin
Hotel du Vieux Moulin
#2 of 4 in Chablis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel aux Lys de Chablis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Les Vignes de Sarah
Les Vignes de Sarah
#3 of 4 in Chablis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hotel Normandie Auxerre
Hotel Normandie Auxerre
#1 of 22 in Auxerre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
12.8 mi away
Mercure Auxerre
Mercure Auxerre
#1 of 4 in Appoigny
3.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison du Moulin des Roches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison du Moulin des Roches

Property: La Maison du Moulin des Roches
Address: Moulin des Roches, 89800, Chablis, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Yonne > Chablis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Chablis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Maison du Moulin des Roches: Luxury B&B in Chablis - BurgundySituated just outside Chablis the lovely mansion in its own beautiful gardens is a welcoming guesthouse and a superb place from which to explore the wonderful country and vineyards of the region. Located within a stones throw of the most revered vineyards of the Bourgogne.Resting in seven hectares of its own tranquil pastureland, Le Moulin offers a blissful environment of horses, herons and kingfishers in which to roam and relax. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing