We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a review of the Hotel Restaurant”
Review of Chateau de Gilly

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau de Gilly
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“This is a review of the Hotel Restaurant”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

There is not a seperate heading for the restaurant, and so this review will likely appear under the hotel. BTW, though we did not stay at the Hotel, the grounds are amazing and the staff is wonderful. We had lunch on the hotel terrace, and it was a perfect day in BUrgundy, which led to a wonderful lunch. This was not a fancy meal, or particulaly over the top and well-prepared. BUT the staff was nice, English -speaking and the setting was lovely. In other words, it was a very good way to spend the afternoon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mookie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    192
    82
    52
    25
See reviews for
94
336
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We were lucky to find this property last minute. The hotel is beautiful to look at with a great outdoor terrace. The rooms have no air conditioning and are very hot in the heat of the summer. The restaurant is in a spectacular room but the service was terrible - we were left alone most of the night and had to continually ask for water, more wine etc. The pool is outdoor and a long walk from the main hotel - it would be nice to have waiter service there. The girl on reception had to help us with our bags as there were no bellboys!
Overall, a great looking property but the rooms and service do not live up to the expectations.

Room Tip: View of the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We were cycling in Bourgogne in July. The tour operator organised the trip for us. When I checked the comments on Tripadvisor about Chateau de Gilly. I was worried because I read some bad comments about the chateau.

I was wrong. We had a good stay in Chateau de Gilly!

We cycled from Beaune to Gilly -les - Citeaux. It was a 50km ride. The staff were so friendly when we arrived the destination with our bikes!

The room is huge and "stylist" (according to Norwegian standard). There is no air-con in the room I guess it is not economical to have an air con in such a huge room. However, it is ok. It was not hot at night in the summer. The temperature was approximately 16 degree at night. It was cool at night. Just have to open up all the windows in the room.

The breakfast was good. The dinner were excellent! The wine captain recommended good wines to pair with our dinner. Service is very excellent. Good food, good wine.

I would recommend people to stay at Chateau de Gilly. It will never go wrong.

Room Tip: 1. Avoid room near the lift. It could be noisy. 2. It is advisable to book your dinner at the Ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IvorynGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The chateau de Gilly offers a very pleasant stay at the center of the Cote d'Or, half way between Dijon and Beaune and few kilometers from the vineyards of the Cote des Nuits as well as from the site of Citeaux. The chateau de Gilly has been beautifully restored with good care of the original structures. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. Those overlooking the nice formal garden are especially pleasant since they take the sun in the morning and are in shadow from the afternoon (rooms are not air conditioned as expected in a XIV century building). The breakfast buffet is very good but it would be definitely more pleasant to have it offered on the bar terrace instead of a second floor room. The restaurant is certainly worth a visit for dinner. The staff is very courteous and attentive, making this hotel one of the most charming and best addresses where to stay in the region, also thanks to its reasonable rates.

Room Tip: Tradition rooms are an excellent value, overlook the beautiful formal garden and are cooler in the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

It was fine to be in a castle for a few days. Staff are very friendly and polite. Dinner at the restaurant is superb. However, do not expect any luxury. The chateau do not have many facilities, except for a pool. It would have been nice to have a sauna for the cold days.

Room Tip: antique castle but not many facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GrazielaChierichetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter Valley
Level 6 Contributor
364 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012 via mobile

I have always stayed at Chateau de GILLY when attending dinners at the nearby Clos Vougeot - it is an easy and reviving 20 min walk. The chateau is beautifully restored and has stunning grounds with a vigorous stream running nearby. The village is the ideal French provincial enclave with an impressive church.
The hotel is very well appointed, clean and well furnished. The rooms large and very inviting. The restaurant in the cellar is quite pricy but worth a treat for one evening. Otherwise in this central area of the Burgundy region there are some fabulous eateries around and the hotel are happy to recommend.
One small issue. Room was at an extremity of the chateau and the water was less than hot by the time it arrived! Ask for a more central room!

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Howard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Spend a stay with my family at this chateau!!! Wonderfull dream.. nice people... Very Good EVERYTHING!!! Food, Clean, Rooms, Gardens.... very well keeped... Will return for sure!!! I recomend... and not only to stay overnight....

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reinaldo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gilly-les-Citeaux
1.6 mi away
Le Richebourg
Le Richebourg
#1 of 1 in Vosne-Romanee
387 reviews
5.3 mi away
Chateau de Saulon
Chateau de Saulon
#1 of 1 in Saulon la Rue
646 reviews
3.8 mi away
Les Deux Chevres
Les Deux Chevres
#1 of 4 in Gevrey-Chambertin
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Chateau de la Berchere
Hotel Chateau de la Berchere
#6 of 10 in Nuits-Saint-Georges
64 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel L'Oree des Vignes
Hotel L'Oree des Vignes
#2 of 2 in Gilly-les-Citeaux
133 reviews
13.3 mi away
Relais & Chateaux - Hostellerie de Levernois
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Gilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Gilly

Property: Chateau de Gilly
Address: 2 Place du Chateau, 21640 Gilly-les-Citeaux, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Gilly-les-Citeaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gilly-les-Citeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau de Gilly 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Chateau de Gilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Gilly Hotel Gilly-Les-Citeaux
Chateau De Gilly Vougeot
Chateau De Gilly Hotel Vougeot
Chateau De Gilly Burgundy, France - Gilly-Les-Citeaux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing