We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic chateau, convenient to Vougeot wine tasting, relaxing for families, avoid the restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Chateau de Gilly

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau de Gilly
kc
Level Contributor
182 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Classic chateau, convenient to Vougeot wine tasting, relaxing for families, avoid the restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Yes, the grounds and pool are beautiful. It was a breath of fresh air from the July heat of Paris. It was convenient to Burgundian wine tasting, and the must see Chateau de Clos Vougeot (don't miss visiting this!) The rooms and bathrooms were dated which decreased the of the value of our stay ( this all depends on your room rate). Despite several phone calls and emails ahead of time, our room configuration was not correct upon arrival. We had 5 rooms reserved, 2 of which needed 2 separate beds on the same floor with a full bed (parents and children, 2 person per room max). The staff did their best to accommodate us, but we ended up quite a ways away from our teenage children. The front desk staff was pleasant, but spoke limited English. The "bar tender" was a high strung, nervous man. We wanted to enjoy a drink before dining in the bar room (I loved this room! Quintessential castle!) but were not made to feel very welcome. The breakfast was 25 euros per person, which really is a waste if you are not a big breakfast eater. The staff was nice enough to serve us 5 euro espresso and café au lait on the terrace. One evening the 11 of us dined in the restaurant which was supposed to be so good...Not good and $$$$$. Another evening we dined at "le Chef Coq" at the "La Gentilhommeire" hotel which was just down the road. This is where we will stay next time. One other comment is that we were in Burgundy to taste wine. If I had not had my own connections, it would have been very difficult to have the experience I had. The hotel does give some coupons out for wine tasting, but not for the ideal venues.

Room Tip: WE were on the 2nd floor above the reception which was fine. The view toward the pool and topiary w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kpenning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    176
    75
    51
    22
See reviews for
87
312
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I went to the Chateu de Gilly, and my last day, I awaked early to take my last breakfast. I cut a piece of bread, and when I was eating it, I started to feel bood in my mouth. It was a piece of glass that made me a damagge. It can be possible, that in a bread, will be glass inside it.
I dont think , knowing, europeans standars, it can be happen. I talked with the manager and she sayed, that was the first time. I dont think,thats right. For a present she gave me a dijonn mustard. I think it was a very special present in this moment. i DONT THINK AN EUROPEAN PEOPLE WILL ACCEPT THIS. NEVER I WILL COME AGAIN! NOBODY HELP ME TO RESOLVE THIS PROBLEM. ALSO I FOUNDED SPARKLES IN THE ROOM.

Room Tip: Really people in this chateau dont care with the visitor, . I lived it. Nobody help me. THe only per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pattySantiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateaux_hotels_gef, Directeur général at Chateau de Gilly, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Madam,

I'm sorry about what happened during your stay and I reiterate again my apologies.
And as we have said, this is the first time.

For your information
Upon 6h45-7am the employee personally called me to inform me of this incident.

The reception phoned several doctors who could not move in the minute (most doctors in France require that customers come into their offices, and at this time they were all closed).

When you were in the breakfast room, and perharps you have not seen or heard that we make effort to find a solution to your concern : We called the emergency service in France (15) .
The doctor on duty informed us that unfortunately, there was nothing to do, just wait, tongue bleeding a lot , which is very impressive, and this for anyone , foreign or French people.

On the breakfast room, the waitresse give you some ice to put on your face.

When someone is suffering, whether foreign or French people, they are all treated exactly the same. We are here to help people…

We've sent an email to you for asking news about this incident, and you have offered your accommodation.
Yours sincerely.

Rémy BESOZZI - General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thezan des Corbieres
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

The hotel was everything it promised to be. Beautiful surroundings and our room looked out on to the gardens. The room was excellent and comfortable. The hotel staff could not have been more helpful. The breakfast was very good and a wide choice of things were on offer. The rating of 'Very Good' applies only to the hotel side the restaurant is another matter. The restaurant room is very impressive with vaulted ceilings but there it ends. The restaurant is described as 'gastronomic' it isn't. By serving cheese and wine from the area does not make a restaurant gastronomic. The food was cooked well but unexciting. We ordered two drinks to start and we were surprised to see the waiter walking across the courtyard to fetch them from the bar in the hotel part.. what do they do if it rains??? Could they not keep a separate bar store in the restaurant? For what we paid for the wine and the meal we felt it was very, very overpriced. Sadly for Chateau de Gilly we dined at the nearby restaurant just across the roundabout the next night and had a fabulous meal and so I would advise people to stay at the Chateau and dine eslewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Purr00h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carshalton surrey
Level Contributor
86 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Perhaps we were lucky going there slightly out of season but we found this was a truly peaceful place to stay.We had the only room with a small private balcony and the room was a high standard.We found all the staff friendly and could not be faulted.The prices in the restaurant are on the high side and the breakfast was not good value.They do a nice rose wine which is cheaper than others on the menu.We had a very peaceful time sitting by the pool which is secluded.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carshalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmette, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

This old beautiful hotel located in the charming village of Gilly is a gem. Gorgeous gardens with contemporary sculptures, fantastic large rooms with spectacular views, delicious breakfasts, secluded pool and peaceful common areas. We have stayed three times and can't wait until we can visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diane w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

The reviews on Chateau Gilly are very mixed, but the clue is in its name. It's an old chateau, and it doesn't hide it, but in our view makes the most of its heritage, yet it does have aspects it could fix up.
The good : Beautiful setting. Fantastic, imposing communal rooms. Vast majority of staff are friendly and helpful. Bedrooms are ... appropriate for a 500 year old chateau. They haven't tried to over modernise and yes a bit tired but perfectly good.
The not so good : The restaurant is in a great catacomb like basement, but it is overpriced, stuffy and surly staff. If you are a vegetarian, take your own main course !
The pool area needs sorting : Loose paving stones. Weeds and hedges overgrown. Unloved.

What gets me .... these are all comments made by several previous reviewers and it appears, not fixed !! Not that hard for the hotel to do something about this.

Room Tip: Join Small luxury hotels club (for free) and you get a free upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

This beautiful and luxurious hotel in Burgundy was the best hotel experience we had in France. The gardens were well maintained and peppered with contemporary sculptures displayed within artfully groomed gardens. There is a lovely pool, and our two rooms - we had two suites - were spectacular. The staff at the hotel were all very professional and also helpful. Everyone spoke english, even though we used our French. The cuisine was superb, beautifully presented, and quite dear, but well worth it. If you want to spend some money and stay in a palace where you will feel like royalty, this is surely the place!

Room Tip: Although there were young children at this hotel, it really isn't appropriate for anyone under 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConnitoArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gilly-les-Citeaux
1.6 mi away
Le Richebourg
Le Richebourg
#1 of 1 in Vosne-Romanee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel de Vougeot
Hotel de Vougeot
#1 of 1 in Vougeot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
3.8 mi away
Les Deux Chevres
Les Deux Chevres
#1 of 4 in Gevrey-Chambertin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Chateau de Saulon
Chateau de Saulon
#1 of 1 in Saulon la Rue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel L'Oree des Vignes
Hotel L'Oree des Vignes
#2 of 2 in Gilly-les-Citeaux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Chateau de la Berchere
Hotel Chateau de la Berchere
#7 of 9 in Nuits-Saint-Georges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Gilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Gilly

Property: Chateau de Gilly
Address: 2 Place du Chateau, 21640 Gilly-les-Citeaux, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Gilly-les-Citeaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gilly-les-Citeaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau de Gilly 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau de Gilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Gilly Hotel Gilly-Les-Citeaux
Chateau De Gilly Vougeot
Chateau De Gilly Hotel Vougeot
Chateau De Gilly Burgundy, France - Gilly-Les-Citeaux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing