We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect restoration creating a typical French Chic hotel with an excellant but quirky restaurant next door”
Review of Hotel le Clos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel le Clos
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A perfect restoration creating a typical French Chic hotel with an excellant but quirky restaurant next door”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

A fantastic and sympathetic restoration of this old building has created a beautiful hotel with all comforts at a sensible price.Really friendly and informal staff create the right atmosphere.As with many French hotels they serve breakfast but there is no restaurant.No worries as they will recommend the restaurant almost next door - Le Berger du Temps .I've never been in a restaurant where the diners have taken so many photographs of the restaurant contents.really quirky ! A must visit restaurant that also senves excellant food.Seeing is believing !

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have a mezzanine floor so worth checking if you struggle with stairs !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W JOHN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OUDOT A, Propriétaire at Hotel le Clos, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Dear John

Thank you for your warm feedback . All the staff try to give a family atmosphere to our place and we are very touched that you have notice this point .

Hope to welcoming you soon

Alain Oudot and his staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    100
    13
    3
    7
See reviews for
49
180
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2,492 reviews
376 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,310 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

A converted 18th century farm, with a huge walled garden, will tweak my interest anytime. The garden is exquisite, where cocktails are served in the evening and breakfast on sunny days. Exposed stone walls are softened by hanging fabrics and flowing drapes.
Romantic is the mood and feel to this cute abode. great find and my reward is a tap on the top of my head in appreciation, by my femme. Down Boy!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Eli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OUDOT A, Propriétaire at Hotel le Clos, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
It is a real pleasure for us to see that we are appreciated on the other side of the world!

My staff and myself thank you warmly for your comment!

Alain Oudot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Hotel Le Clos is a very welcome oasis in a perfect location to break up the long journey down south. Compared to characterless chain hotels which merely offer shelter and respite from driving, for little extra cost it offers typical French character with it's beams, stone walls and shutters. It is nicely decorated throughout in simple regional style, well run and clean. Whilst there is no restaurant, the staff are happy to recommend and book local eateries on your behalf. The breakfast consists of boiled eggs made to order and an impressive self serve range of continental cheeses, fresh fruit, pastries and all you could wish for in a hearty breakfast before hitting the road. The journey to St Tropez became an enjoyable part of our holiday and not merely a long drive broken up by a bed for the night in a bland soulless room.

Room Tip: All rooms over look a quiet courtyard or gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OUDOT A, Propriétaire at Hotel le Clos, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Thank you very much for your appreciation! We are very pleased to know that you felt comfortable in our hotel before taking the road to the south !!

We sure hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in Beaune.

Alain Oudot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We love to stay in smaller hotels that are a bit off the beaten track and Hotel le Clos was perfect. It is about a 10 minute easy drive from this little suburb into the beautiful old town of Beaune known as the wine capital of Burgundy. There is lots of good parking in Beaune so staying out of town and driving in is absolutely no problem at all. The hotel is a converted 18th century farmhouse that tended vinyards until the Phylloxera epidemic killed off the grapes in 1900 and then became a regular farm after that. It is still surrounded by fields with cows, has lots of vintage winepresses and other equipment around, and has a lovely, country feeling to it. Our room was spacious and well appointed with free wifi that worked reasonably well. The staff, including the attentive owner, were extremely helpful at recommending and making reservations for dinner at restaurants in Beaune. They all spoke reasonably good English and were patient with my attempts to speak French. The breakfast buffet was comprehensive and we were able to sit out in the lovely garden for breakfast in the morning and cocktails or a Kir before going to dinner in the evening. We would definitely return to this charming hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christobel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OUDOT A, Propriétaire at Hotel le Clos, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Thank you for a such pleasant and warn description of our place !!!

Your positive feedback about our reception staff, and the quality of the buffet breakfast has been passed on to all our staff members.

We thank you very much for your words of appreciation. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again someday.

All the staff of " Le Clos"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genève
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Magnificent house in a great park, less than 10 minutes from the center of Beaune. But why then so many details revealing a lack of real customer-focus? Taken separately they do not come as a major problem, but all put together and given the room rates that aren't on the low range of the scale and the 4 stars ranking, they lead to a disappointing experience; here is a summary list:
- Bathroom and toilets are bare and as cold and invoke a school dorm's rather than a "hotel de charme". in addition these have no ventilation system, the bath has no curtain nor glass separation which makes taking a shower without flooding the room a complicated exercise and in general simple things like hooks and bars for the towels etc.. are lacking.
- No fridge and no coffee/tea station in the room, for a 4 stars this is rather unusual
- Room furniture and decoration is at best minimalist; yes it is accepted that the regional classic style commands a certain austerity but that does not mean coldness.
- Switches to control lightning system in room is unpractical (and here again: coldness as the lights are either too bright or not well placed) at least in a duplex room like the one we stayed in.
- No stand to put the luggage on and in the duplex room the only place to store clothes is on the mezzanine level. The access stairs are steep and narrow: very impractical and uncomfortable to carry your suitcase up there, and certainly not suitable if you suffer any physical problem
- Breakfast hours could be more liberal for a place that has no restaurant and does not serve food the rest of the day: if you arrive a bit too close to breakfast closing hours you are politely but firmly invited to be quick enough
- Terrace is beautiful but why discouraging guests to take a table there for breakfast by leaving the 2 big umbrellas tightly wrapped in their strapped covers. The message is clearly "we won't bother opening them for you and if you are blinded by the sun, sit inside!" And that's exactly what happened: on our 1st day a few like us made an attempt to have breakfast on the terrace. On the second day all those who made that attempt were sitting inside (us included), the terrace was empty despite the good weather outside.
- For a place located in the heart of the Burgundy region the wine offer is poorly managed: when we asked for a glass of white wine we were offered: "Chardonnay or Aligoté". Period! no mention of a producer, no mention of a regional origin (appellation), nothing. Were we even drinking wine from Burgundy?
- The park that offers chairs and sun loungers is disfigured by "No picnic" signs scattered around. How untactful, and how ugly. Makes you feel so unwelcome in the garden even when you have no intent to sit there and "picnic".

All this together makes us think that the reflection on how to make this a place that keeps the promises coming with the beauty of the place and the 4 stars ranking has stopped short at some point: lack of sufficient funds to invest more? lack of customer-orientation? lack of understanding why small details matter in a "hotel de charme" ? .... who knows. Too bad, but as it is today we would not go back there; and yet it has all to be a perfect place. So with a little more attention to customers and limited investments, management could make it a great place to stay, relax and visit beautiful Beaune.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcF506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We selected Hotel Le Clos from the Alistair Sawday book for a 2 night stay on our way north through France with friends. Just as described- simple room overlooking courtyard - wonderful breakfast outside - gardens to relax in - charming host and so close to Beaune and the the motorway system. I hate to admit it but they had a Nespresso machine in the bar and so I was able to have my favourite coffee at breakfast as well!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LillyLune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OUDOT A, Propriétaire at Hotel le Clos, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
We were also really happy to welcoming Alistair Sawday' traveller and thank you for your positive feedback about our reception staff, and the quality of the buffet breakfast .

Even if Nespresso is not a "speciality" of burgundy it was a pleasure to pleased you with your favorite coffee at breakfast !!!

Hope to welcoming you again

Alain Oudot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed here as a stop off on the way to the Riviera (2 adults and 2 teenage boys). The rooms were simple but very clean, light and airy. The staff were all very friendly and happy to speak English when our French proved too poor! Breakfast was excellent and the whole character of the place encouraged us (me) to dig deep (it's not cheap) and book again for our trip back to England. It's really not too far from the centre of Beaune; certainly close enough to dissuade me from staying in the middle of Beaune itself. We will definitely find an excuse to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmaskill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OUDOT A, Propriétaire at Hotel le Clos, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
What a pleasure when we read your feedback ! we hope you will found one or many excuses to stay with us again !!!!

Alain Oudot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montagny-les-Beaune
5.5 mi away
Le Montrachet
Le Montrachet
#1 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
#2 of 62 in Beaune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
5.5 mi away
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
#2 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Abbaye de Maizieres
Abbaye de Maizieres
#15 of 62 in Beaune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chateau de Challanges
Chateau de Challanges
#19 of 62 in Beaune
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hostellerie Le Cedre
Hostellerie Le Cedre
#3 of 62 in Beaune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Clos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Clos

Property: Hotel le Clos
Address: 22 rue des Gravieres, 21200 Montagny-les-Beaune, Beaune, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune > Montagny-les-Beaune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Montagny-les-Beaune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel le Clos 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel le Clos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Clos Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing