We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small and lovely” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clair Cottage

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Clair Cottage
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chisseaux
Certificate of Excellence
Summerfield, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Small and lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed here one night on a road trip through the Loire Valley. Clair Cottage is in the tiny town of Chisseaux but quite close to Chenonceau Chateau (but too far to walk). This is a small family run hotel and restaurant with secured parking on the premises. Our room was at the front of the hotel overlooking the street. It was a small to medium size room with a double bed, night stands, a small dresser with a TV, and a small closet. The bathroom was very modern and had a skylight. Everything was very clean. While the bed was comfortable, there was a surprising amount of traffic on the road outside our window so our sleep was fit full. There is no AC, but it was nice with the windows open (except for the road noise)! If you stay here, ask for a room at the back of the building.

We had breakfast in the adjoining restaurant and it was good, with lots of fruit and pastries. The staff was very pleasant and didn’t laugh at our terrible French!
We were glad we stayed here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not overlook the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jkw99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    53
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
26
50
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed two nights in the larger of the quadruple rooms and were very pleased, as were the children. The accommodation was clean and very comfortable - two rooms linked by a shared bathroom with a double bed and three singles respectively. Staff were friendly and unobtrusive. There is a gated car park available with access via a pin code given on check-in.

The breakfast is delightful but copious. We ordered four breakfasts when we checked-in but in hindsight two would have been more than enough for two adults & two children. Each breakfast is composed of a demi-baguette, croissant, pain-au-chocolat, mini-pain-au-raisin, cereal, fruit, cheese, ham, yoghurt, juice and jams, selection of teas, coffee or hot chocolate. The green tomato jam is worth a try!

Dinner was very enjoyable - beating the Relais Chennonceaux hands down! Don't be put off by the modern looking dining room, the chef is very good. We ordered a steak, 2 wholemeal crepes and a Goat cheese salad and all meals were a success.

Whilst it doesn't have the same olde-worlde ambience of some of the other establishments, Hotel Clair was welcoming and offered good food and comfort.

Room Tip: One breakfast is enough for two to share. Two-minute drive to Chennenceau Castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodieSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
129 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

This just a short drive from the chateau (would not consider it a walk away); room was really nice, hotel was great, had a nice dinner on the patio. Downside was the poor attitide of the staff; not one seemed to care about me or my stay. Would not return; too many choices with helpful staff to tolerate rudeness.

Room Tip: Do not stay here without a car
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank haconstruct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2005

We stayed for two nights at Clair Cottage. Our first impression was that it is quite a long walk from the main attraction of Chenonceau (where accommodation is noticably more expensive), and right on a busy main road. But we enjoyed it more than we expected to. The room was plain, clean and quiet. Nothing fancy, but at this price we wouldn't expect it to be. The real treat was the surprisingly high quality of the dinners in the restaurant: we ate there both nights and thoroughly enjoyed it, especially the local perch dish. The owner was also very helpful and pleasant. Recommended for a quality budget stay.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sydney_AustraliaMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chisseaux
0.8 mi away
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
#1 of 5 in Chenonceaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel la Roseraie
Hotel la Roseraie
#2 of 5 in Chenonceaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
2.5 mi away
Chateau de Chissay
Chateau de Chissay
#1 of 2 in Chissay-en-Touraine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Le Relais Chenonceaux
Le Relais Chenonceaux
#3 of 5 in Chenonceaux
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hostellerie du Chateau de l'Isle
Hostellerie du Chateau de l'Isle
#1 of 1 in Civray-de-Touraine
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
6.5 mi away
Ibis Amboise
Ibis Amboise
#13 of 25 in Amboise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clair Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clair Cottage

Property: Clair Cottage
Address: 27 rue de l Europe, 37150 Chisseaux, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Indre-et-Loire > Chisseaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chisseaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clair Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Clair Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing