We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Grande do Bachao
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fecha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

I loved this gorgeous country inn. About 20 minutes outside of Santiago de Compostela. In a gorgeous rural setting surrounded by hills and forest. The accommodations were very nice, the house is charming, and the host was so helpful and friendly. This was by far the best place we stayed during our 2 week trip in northern Spain. The highlight was dining in their restaurant for breakfast and dinner. Amazing cuisine with generous portions and local flavor. Definitely have dinner here during your stay. The first night we had scallops that were perfectly cooked and beautifully presented. The second night we had fish that was delicious. And they had a great wine selection as well. Worth the extra drive to stay at this magical getaway.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

Thank you to everyone at Casa Grande do Bachao. Everything here is made with love and shared with you like you are a guest in a friend's home. It has very peaceful and tranquil surrounds, comfortable rooms with everything you need, delicious meals, perfect for families with children, wonderful views with splendid walks and hosts that really know how to make you feel at home by just being themselves. Great location for trips to the amazing Galician coast and Santiago de Compostela knowing you have the perfect place to return to unwind and relax. Everything blends together here to create a magical stay. We are already planning to return! Melbourne, Australia

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hidde V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The hotel is located in attractive rural surroundings, deep in a eucalyptus forest, but only 15/20 minutes drive to the centre of Santiago. Everything about the place is delightful; Xavier, the host is extremely helpful and friendly; the accommodation, in sensitively converted farm buildings, is of a very high standard, with comfortable beds and plenty of space; the food (breakfasts and evening meals) exceptionally good value; and the grounds surrounding the hotel attractively laid out with a small swimming pool.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms in the annex are good if the weather is hot. Free wi-fi is available in the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fownhopian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Our family have just return from our 8 days holiday week on Santiago. We believe that Casa Grande Do Bachao is paradise on earth. You must be prepared to this kind of paradise. Congratulations to all team for it´s service and quality in rooms and specially the taste of Belen´s kitchen. We´ll be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cesar-Alejandro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We found that writing a fair review of this hotel quite difficult because of the various problems that we encountered on the way there and when we arrived. To begin with as we approached Santiago a huge thunderstorm erupted, it was about 5pm but it was absolutely pouring with rain and thunder and lightning everywhere, we attempted to find the correct route to the hotel (about 15km from Santiago ) but failed miserably therefore we returned to Santiago to enlist the help of the local constabulary!! They were unsure of the exact location of the hotel but advised us to ask at a petrol station down the road!!! When we finally arrived at Casa Grande with the storm at its height nobody was available to assist us with our luggage from the car and up 2 flights of stairs,there was no electricity and obviously no hot water or TV. We were initially given 3 tea lights and later on 2 lanterns with tea lights in we're produced, we washed with cold water that evening. The cable TV when it worked did not have any English channels and there was no Wifi.

FROM NOW ON it gets better honestly- we arrived in the beautiful dining room at the set time of 9pm (after helping ourselves to a G & T from the honesty bar )and were served with the most wonderful 3 course meal that would have done any Michelin starred restaurant proud and the same standard continued throught our 3 night stay, Belen is an excellent chef and a delightful person to talk to.

NOW OUR ROOM - we had a 4 roomed suite on the top floor, it consisted of a huge lounge/dining room,sitting room, bathroom with corner bath under the eaves!! (mind your head) shower and vanity basin and a separate WC. The bedroom had a double bed under the eaves ( mind your head) drawer unit but no wardrobe but hanging space and flat screen cable TV but no English channels. There are no tea/coffee making facilities or fridge.

THE HOTEL- a beautiful 18th century farmhouse with outbuildings converted for accommodation situated in the middle of a eucalyptus forest with far reaching views (on a clear day) In the grounds there is a small unheated swimming pool. The interior is crammed with original features and antiques.There is limited mobile signal and there is no A/C in the bedrooms.

As other reviewers have stated it does not feel like a hotel but a house with rooms and a restaurant, we did not enjoy the breakfasts but the coffee and fresh orange juice were good.

On reflection for what we paid (70€ per night )it was good value for money and if the weather had been better it would have been fantastic. I must state that we were not charged for the 1st night.

Room Tip: The 4 roomed suite was amazing but being it the roof space I should imagine during hot weather it wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 505HuwT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We so enjoyed our five night stay at the Casa Grande do Bachao, we were expecting a nice hotel after reading the comments on Trip advisor, but it exceeded our expectations in every way. We landed at the airport and collected our hire car, we set off for the hotel with the aid or Google maps. 2 hours later we were lost and could not find the hotel. I could not find the address in the sat-nav I had brought with me. We discovered that putting in “Fecha “ brought up the map and directed us to within 1km of the hotel. We had booked lunch for 2 pm and arrived at 3 pm this was not a problem for the fantastic chef Belen, The food was excellent. We had breakfast ever day and the choice of meats, cheeses and fruit together with the nicest bread we have eaten in a long time.
This is not like staying at a hotel but being invited to stay at a friends lovely country house.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank londondel100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Spent our 25th anniversary here, and the chef prepared a special dessert and served us a bottle of champagne at dinner. We loved the charm of the farmhouse, and were housed in the main house. It was very welcoming, and beautiful decorated with antiques. The staff was very friendly, and even washed a load of clothes for us. The dinner was superb, some of the best we had in Spain and Italy. Since it is rural tourism, I did expect an out of the way location, but I was a little intimidated by the steep drop off and width of road in one section. Would recommend getting to hotel prior to dark. The rooms were spacious and clean, and very comfortable. This stop was convenient to town, only about 10-15 minutes by car to the heart of everything. We used this as a base for Santiago and visits to the seaside villages of Finisterre, Muros and Cee. It was perfectly positioned for rest in the evening, and the dinners were well-timed. You will feel as if you are visiting a friend who has a fabulous property, and will enjoy walks to the river, nature, and inside activities such as playing pool, or drinking wine. We were on the honor system for bottles of wine and drinks, and felt very at home the entire stay. It was unlike any other hotel I have ever stayed in and would return for the tranquility and food. Also loved the beautiful blonde dog who greeted us on arrival.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luv2tripalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fecha
6.3 mi away
NH Collection Santiago de Compostela
NH Collection Santiago de Compos...
#5 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,590 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Qu...
#2 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
856 reviews
7.5 mi away
Gran Hotel Los Abetos
Gran Hotel Los Abetos
#8 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph...
#7 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
645 reviews
6.8 mi away
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolico...
#6 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,906 reviews
7.9 mi away
Tryp Santiago
Tryp Santiago
#17 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Grande do Bachao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Grande do Bachao

Address: Monte Bachao Santa Cristina de Fecha Santiago de Compostela, 15898 Fecha, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela > Fecha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fecha
Price Range: £48 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Grande do Bachao 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Grande do Bachao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing