We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusually fine Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Echaurren Hotel Gastronomico
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ezcaray
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Ezcaray is a ski area in winter, and an outdoors destination in summer, with many rental apartments and lots of hiking and biking opportunities. The hotel is small, the rooms spacious with a very nice bath, our room had a tiny adjacent sitting room, too, and the rooms and the hotel are perfectly kept, neat as a pin, as the saying goes!
Very nice breakfast buffet, but not out of the usual for Spain. Very helpful and cordial hotel staff!
This is an excellent hotel for enjoying the surrounding area and its many recreation opportunities! Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 101coastie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed only for one night and having arrived late, we were delighted with the comfortable bed, clean and clever design of the room and the amazing ham and cheese selection that room service arranged to be waiting for us in the room upon arrival; the complimentary bottle of Rioja was also very much appreciated! Breakfast was fantastic and had we arrived earlier, we would definitely have tried the Echaurren restaurant, which looks fantastic. The location is great, nestled in the mountains in a small old town, only 30 minutes from the famous vineyards of La Rioja. This hotel is great value for money and we would happily stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Badger885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Four of us recently spent a night at Echaurren. Our rooms were the modern ones (on the top floor) and we were very impressed with them. Amazing efficient use of space and quite charming. The women at the desk could not have been more delightful and helpful. The dinner was excellent as was the very delicious breakfast. And the town is a delight to visit.

Room Tip: when we return we will again request the top floor for the above mentioned reasons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pozueloliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

The previous reviews were all spot on! We stayed here on our last night after 3 weeks in spain, and I have to say it was the best place we had been. The rooms are not huge but the quality and furnishings are quality and very modern in the superior rooms.. The additions of the free wine, snack box and mini bar plus a snack bag for the journey home were very nice touches. We ate in the traditional restaurant and had the taster menu it was absolutely amazing. We are planning on returning here to try the other restaurant.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are on the second floor with views of the church. very comfortable with everythin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scareyplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We stayed at Echaurren as our base for a 2.5 day visit to Rioja. We were only one of a few guests there at the time and received a complimentary upgrade. I have to say that the room was pretty strange--too modern for our tastes and not intuitive (and we're in our early 30's). It was also really small, narrow and cramped, even for a European hotel. I can't imagine what the standard room is like! The upgraded room did come with some complimentary snacks and a bottle of wine, which was a lovely touch. The service was also very gracious.

The highlight of our stay was definitely the meal at Portal. I'd go back to Portal in a heartbeat, but would probably find a different place to stay. It's not necessarily that the hotel was bad, but with so many options out there, I'm really not compelled to go back. Ezcaray itself is also a bit out of the way for wine tasting and not a particularly quaint town (at least not in the off season).

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbug199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Having seen the restaurant on "Rick Stein's Spain" we couldn't resist the chance to visit when we staying in La Rioja for the grape harvest.
We went to the "traditional" side for Sunday lunch.
What a fantastic experience. Luckily we booked.
We started off outside having finos.
We sat down in the restaurant at 2pm and didn't leave until 5pm!
We finished off outside with coffees.
Our friends couldn't get over how wonderful it all was.
Huge portions and not exorbitantly priced.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Really friendly and good service...complete with complementary snacks in the room. The room itself was large and comfortable. Didn't eat at the hotel, but people say it's excellent. Ezcaray is well worth a visit too...and it's well situated to visit local wineries or the nearby ski resort.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gringomadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ezcaray
0.0 mi away
Palacio Azcarate
Palacio Azcarate
#4 of 6 in Ezcaray
76 reviews
4.2 mi away
La Antigua Ferreria Hotel Rural
0.1 mi away
Casa Masip
Casa Masip
#2 of 6 in Ezcaray
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Parador de Santo Domingo de la Calzada
Parador de Santo Domingo de la C...
#1 of 4 in Santo Domingo de la Calzada
658 reviews
23.5 mi away
Hotel Viura
Hotel Viura
#1 of 1 in Villabuena de Alava
633 reviews
19.3 mi away
Hotel Los Agustinos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Echaurren Hotel Gastronomico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Echaurren Hotel Gastronomico

Address: C/ Padre Jose Garcia 19 | Opposite the church of Santa Maria, 26280 Ezcaray, Spain
Region: Spain > La Rioja > Ezcaray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ezcaray
Price Range: £83 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Echaurren Hotel Gastronomico 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our parents inherited a small hotel - El Echaurren. They transformed it, converting it into their home and a home for all who visited. Our mother Marisa refined the traditional culinary meals of Granny Julia and stamped her own character and elegance on the dishes. Her efforts were recognised when she won Spain's National Gastronomic Award in 1987.And now we, Marisa's children - the fifth generation of the family, are dedicated to maintaining the essence of the Echaurren while at the same time invest in its future. As such, we've converted our old hostel into a modern, comfortable hotel where nothing is lacking. Our aim has been to give everything a contemporary twist but without losing the sense of warmth. You'll notice a strong Nordic influence in the interior design. We've continued the traditional cooking of our mother which you can enjoy in the Echaurren Traditional restaurant. In 2002 we opened El Portal de Echaurren where Francis lets his creative juices flow freely. It specialises in avant-garde dishes - very personal and primarily sourced from the local area. Two years after its launch El Portal de Echaurren became the first-ever restaurant in La Rioja to gain a Michelin star. It has maintained this distinction ever since. In 2012 Francis won Spain's National Gastronomic Award, a quarter of a century after his mother. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Echaurren Hotel Gastronomico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Echaurren Hotel Ezcaray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing