We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very professional”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Relais Montemarino
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Borgomale
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“very professional”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

we loved the service, very kind and welcoming
rooms were okey, clean. Maybe a bit pricey
indoor swimming pool also clean and good size
area pretty- in the middle of nowhere- with a great view on surrounding area
just the breakfast was a bit poor given the good quality of the rest. No big choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobeTrottLobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serena R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Relais Montemarino, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Dear "GlobeTrottLobster", we thank you very much for your stay and we are happy to know that you had a good time in Montemarino. Thank you also for your suggestions about breakfast: we will try to inprove our service. Have a nice summer. A presto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    69
    23
    3
    0
See reviews for
29
101
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We recently spent 3 nights at this charming old farmhouse nestled amidst hazelnuts trees and overlooking the piemont valley.
We had a standard room (room 4) on the lower level. The room was charming and clean with ample room for large suitcases. It had direct access to the garden, the pool area and the beautiful view.
The closet had plenty of hanging room but beware there are no drawers. The room needs a chest of drawers or a couple of night stands with drawers. Same problem in the bathroom, nowhere to put your toileteries.
We liked the direct access to the garden and we slept with the door ajar (we were there in September) and street noise was not a problem. I am not sure how warm the room gets in the summer so it could be a problem with no A/C. You might want a room on the second floor where you can keep the window open. At 700 meter of altitude you might get a nice breeze.
The indoor pool is a fantastic idea. It's a great place to relax on rainy days (we had one) as well as on sunny days.
Breakfast is served in a beautiful room and has a good spread of local flavours.
At the reception, Paola, Jessica, Serena and everyone else were absolute gems, courteous and full of good information. Thank you all for your hospitality.
The reception area does close at 11:00pm. Not a problem for us...
This is a beautiful secluded property. If you are looking for some quiet time, hikes and wine tasting tours during the day, good food and wine in the evening, search no more, the hotel Relais Montemarino is it.
Loved all the restaurants recommendation but our favorite was La Cuccinella. Don't miss it!
We hope to be back Someday....

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Expat-in-Schweiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serena R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Relais Montemarino, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
Dear "Expat-in-Schweiz", thank you very much for the time you spent to describe your experience in our Relais and thank you very much for your suggestions. We are happy you had a good stay and we hope you to come back soon. In this season the colours are gorgeous and the surroundings spectacular… A presto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

What you see in the hotel website is what you get in reality.
Beautifully renovated farmhouse: I loved the building, the furnishing they used in the rooms, the decorations, the cleanliness (I am fussy about this and this place was spotless), the view and tranquility.
They really look after what they have and you can clearly see that.
breakfast was excellent too with yoghurt, cereals, fresh bread, jams and homemade cakes: the hazelnut cake is a must because this is not only a wine region, the Relais is surrounded by hazelnut fields.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serena R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Relais Montemarino, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
Dear "Sonia1979", thank you very much for your comment. We are really glad you felt our devotion for the Relais and our efforts to offer a good service. And thank you for mentioning our hazelnut cake…we are so proud of it! We are looking forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Stayed 5 nights in the jnr suite. Overall the stay was good. The breakfast was fantastic (note no other meals available) and the suite was spacious. The road noise is genuine but we did not find it an issue at night when the traffic pretty much stops. There is no hotel staff on the property after 11pm so if you are unlucky, like we were, and a group of people returns from dinner deciding to enjoy a few more drinks in the common area until 2 am then you are likely to not get a good night's rest (this happened twice). When I raised this with the hotel owner he did not really care. He said sorry and went on with repairing the fly screen (pretty pathetic I thought given there is a hotel across the road which looked far better). The internet only works around the breakfast room (very slow in room). The shower is tiny and really inexcusable for a hotel of this type (good luck if you're more than 6 foot tall or of solid build). I thought the hotel's website photos were generous in every way. If we were to come back again, we would stay across the road, if not closer to Barolo, where all the beautiful wine villages and vineyards are. Overall, ok for a night or two but suggest across the road or closer to Barolo if you're here to taste the wonderful local wine.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swav_and_Rhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serena R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Relais Montemarino, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
Dear "Daniel D", we thank you for the time you spent to comment our Relais and that, overall, you had a good stay, but we are a little bit surprised about some of your statements: we usually don’t have any problem after 11 PM, but sometimes can happen that big groups are a little bit noisy. In case of problems, our telephone number is active 24h to have immediate assistance, we regret you didn’t use this service. Moreover, are you sure you spoke with the owner? Usually we expect our guests to speak directly at the reception about their problems to avoid misunderstandings. About internet we always informed our guests that the wi-fi was working only in common areas, in any case we inform you with pleasure that from mid November’12 we are able to provide it in all rooms. Then, our showers are standard size. We have actually some rooms with a big hydro-shower and when we know that a guest has a special need, we are glad to book one of these rooms for him. We are sorry you didn’t ask for. Finally, the most surprising comment for us is about our photos: a lot of times we heard our guest to say: “it is exactly like in the pictures!”… In any case we thank you again for your comments, they will help us to improve our service and we hope to welcome you again for a second chance…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Relais Montemarino is a very quiet and calm place in the countryside. The main road can be heard but is neber a disturbance! The rooms are nice and well decorated, spacious as well. Very friendly staff always committed to help. Good breakfast buffet, well assorted little "enoteca".

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serena R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Relais Montemarino, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
Dear "George0815", thank you very much for your visit and your good comment. We are looking forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and enjoyed it. Our room was with nice and tasteful decor and the staff was helpful and friendly at all times. We enjoyed the out door sun deck with an indoor swimming pool. It was close to Alba

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HanneVetaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serena R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Relais Montemarino, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
Dear "HanneVetaas", we thank you very much for your comment and we are glad to know you had a good stay by us. We are looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking
Level Contributor
207 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

We stayed one night only, but would have happily remained for a few more. The hotel has been very attractively done up, both outside and in with the buildings having been refurbished very sympathetically. Plenty of free and safe parking and a short walk down to the village where there is an excellent pasta restaurant (the spaghetteria) for nights when the hotel restaurant is closed. Our room was spacious and very comfortable, and the breakfast room in a separate building was just across the courtyard. We arrived late - if you are likely to it is advisable to telephone and let them know as reception closes at 9pm. Sadly we had to leave early the next morning so didn't get to enjoy the pool complex which looked lovely.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlummyDorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borgomale
0.3 mi away
Villa d'Amelia Relais
Villa d'Amelia Relais
#1 of 1 in Benevello
310 reviews
6.8 mi away
Relais San Maurizio
Relais San Maurizio
#1 of 1 in Santo Stefano Belbo
450 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Langhe
Hotel Langhe
#2 of 10 in Alba
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hotel Le Botti
Hotel Le Botti
#2 of 3 in Guarene
129 reviews
8.8 mi away
Corte Gondina Boutique Hotel
3.2 mi away
Hotel Ca' del Lupo
Hotel Ca' del Lupo
#1 of 1 in Montelupo Albese
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Relais Montemarino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais Montemarino

Property: Hotel Relais Montemarino
Address: Via Alba 66 | Manera, 12050 Borgomale, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Cuneo > Borgomale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Borgomale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Relais Montemarino 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Relais Montemarino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing