We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliable Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Hotel
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Reliable Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

We have stayed here once or twice a year for the past 3 years. Each time the staff have been helpful, and accomodating of our poor French. The rooms are of a good quality, the wet area/shower is large, although this area and the basin are part of the bedroom. This isn't a problem at all for us. The WC is in a separate area. The beds are comfortable by European standards. Pillows are a little lacking, but we always carry our own as well. There is little storage space in the rooms, but for a short visit this isn't really a problem. Breakfast is perfectly fine, even with good quality white bread for English style toast.

There are no staff onsite after about 10pm, entry is then through a self-service machine which seems to function OK, on one previous occasion when it failed the owner appeared within a few minutes.

Guest should be aware that dogs and cats are sometimes in the public areas at breakfast. They are very docile and don't cause a problem, unless you should have an allergy or a real dislike for animals.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingBowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    38
    23
    8
    3
See reviews for
20
37
7
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Good location near motorway exit in Reims, driving from Calais.
Clean basic room, comfortable bed, adequate for a stop over on or way south.
Helpful staff, we did not have breakfast at the hotel. good value hotel.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel prior to arrival if you intend to arrive late in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel_alloallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

stopped at this hotel on route to the French alps with shearings. clean, basic does the job. bedroom adequate, wet room is a pod in the corner of the room, clean and functional,a large step to enter could be problem for some breakfast room could be a little bigger. breakfast cold meats , cheese, weak tea the usual buffet the hotel seems to be a little isolated, so no chance of finding any other eating placers. the staff very friendly. would I go back maybe

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
117 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

One of our party was horrified when we arrived that this was 'only a 2 star hotel' but when we left asked if we could go back. This is a simple hotel small but very clean and well designed rooms. Basic but good french style buffet breakfast and just off the main road if you are driving south from France from the coming from the UK via Calais. The family rooms have the usual double bed / bunk bed combo but each bed is a decent size. There is a separate loo from the shower cubicle which can speed things up. Shower area more of a wet room so no nasty mouldy shower curtain but it is not entirely private from the bedroom so that may not work with older kids. There was a little bar but you would have to bring your own atmosphere and not expect anything major. Breakfast is optional and you can add it when you arrive. In my opinion it is worth the money.
I am not sure if I would stay here on a holiday (although my kids would) but I would not think twice about going again as a stop over, everything you want no hassle.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Okay - it's not the Ritz but at the low price they offer I am sure that's not what they are trying to be. We needed somewhere to stay on our way to the Provence that was reasonable close to the city centre (which is about 15 mins by car), comfortable and clean. It ticks all those boxes.

The staff are friendly and speak English. (and very accommodating letting me practice my French lines ;-)

Breakfast is cheap and has a good selection. There is something homely about breakfast TV being on in the breakfast room and a huge dog laying on the floor giving you a friendly look once in a while.

Would happily use this place again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony_Finch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

Used this hotel twice in the last week on the way too and from the South of France as it was located just of the motorway.

Rooms are small but very modern and clean, located right by a petrol station so I could fill up (cheaper than the motorway service stations) and wash the bugs off!

Breakfast was a simple French affair with pastries, cereal, bread etc.

Will definitely use again next time I pass through, very friendly staff, no complaints.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lloydbarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Another fantastic one overnight stay at this fantastic hotel. We arrived late by coach from calais, everyone tired and jaded. The staff quickly unloaded the cases from the coach and we all collected our room keys and retired to our rooms. The cases arrived almost immediately and we weree able to unpack and shower. Unfortunately we were too late for dinner but we had eaten on the ferry. The next morning after cases had been repacked ans returned to the coach we went down to a lovely breakfast attended to by the manager and his staff. Breakfast over we returned to the coach and set off for switzerland and davos.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Brice-Courcelles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Reims Tinqueux
#2 of 10 in Tinqueux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Centre Erlon-Est
Hotel Azur
Hotel Azur
#3 of 69 in Reims
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Centre Erlon-Est
Ibis Reims Centre
Ibis Reims Centre
#13 of 69 in Reims
3.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Hotel

Property: Blue Hotel
Address: 1 rue de Bernex, 51370 Saint-Brice-Courcelles, France (Formerly Arcantis Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Saint-Brice-Courcelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Brice-Courcelles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcantis Hotel Reims

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing