We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Rural Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Casa Balduina
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Calacuccia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Currently stopping for 2 days at this hotel. Back home it would probably be called a guest house but the price very much reflects this. There is little sophistication here. No air con, safe and the breakfast comes on a tray rather than via a buffet. The whole area is pleasantly very rustic with cows and pigs roaming the countryside and some of the streets! However our room is very comfortable and actually the wifi works better here than any of the 3 (significantly more expensive) hotels we have stayed in earlier in the week The breakfast is very good quality French fare. What has made our stay especially pleasant is our hostess who seems very keen to make sure her guests enjoy their stay. We in particular came up to the mountains to track down some vasques ( the beautiful crystal clear pools in the mountain streams perfect for swimming on hot days) Jeanne has been invaluable in guiding us to the best places including a series of pools a mile or 2 out in the countryside which we had exclusive use of all morning. Set your expectations right and this is a very pleasant place to be.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2011

Whether you like or dislike this hotel seems to centre on the character of its owner, Jeanne. When we were there last week, she could not have been nicer. She really went out of her way to help. Having said that, it is clear that you take her on her own terms or don't bother! Oh, the hotel! It is simple but clean and nicely decorated with a pretty terrace and good views from the rooms over the countryside and lake. Breakfast is basic but pleasant. Lonely Planet says that the owner is a good cook and might be persuaded to cook for you. She is, but she won't.

Room Tip: All rooms are small but pretty with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claret100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

This small hotel is outside of a small town in a fairly remote area of Corsica so to expect city standards would be unrealistic but the accommodation here is as good as could be hoped for. A charming lady welcomed us and made us feel at home. The room was small but cheerful and breakfast was the normal French one of croissants, bread and jam and good coffee, and we were encouraged to take our leftover bread with us for lunch!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JANDDBritinParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

We've just come back from a week in lovely Corsica. Spent the first half of the week in Zonza (highly recommended - separate review under 'Hameaux de Cavanello') and the second half of the week in the Vallee Du Niolu in the northern mountains. It's EXTREMELY rural and cut off - other than the walking and some lovely river swimming, there is very little to see or do and each village is miles from the next.
Anyway, we stayed at Casa Balduina, which the Lonely Planet describes as a 'boutique style place' and which had a very promising website. It is certainly a pretty house with a very pretty garden, facing a lovely old convent. But for us, it was spoiled by the owner. She is Corsican and speaks excellent English but we got the vibe that she didn't really want people in her house... The guide had said that she would prepare a 'memorable' evening meal if we pre-ordered, but she made it clear when we arrived that she didn't really want to cook. She did not mention being able to order/buy drinks from her so on the second night, we bought a bottle of wine in the village and I asked her if we could borrow a corkscrew - she was so rude! Rather than explaining that she sold wine herself and that she would rather that we didn't use her terrace to drink our own, she treated me like a naughty schoolgirl. From then on, it felt as though we were in the naughty corner for the rest of our stay... until we came to settle up, when she was all smiles again. We also stopped ordering breakfast which we felt was overpriced for what it was.
It was rather a shame for the last few days of our holiday...

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2009

The hostess is amazing - Jeanne provides fantastic dinners and adds real character to the place. It is small hotel with a lovely arbour (honeysuckle and wisteria) where breakfasts and dinners are served. It is walking distance from Calacuccia and Albertacce and perfect for hiking and exploring the area. Our room had a lovely view of the mountains. The rooms are basic and simple, nothing too luxurious, but perfect for the area. After a hot day's hiking, it is refreshing to relax in the fragrant garden.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Prius_Peregrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank chris t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanne Q, Propriétaire at Hotel Casa Balduina, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erbalunga1244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanne Q, Propriétaire at Hotel Casa Balduina, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calacuccia
0.2 mi away
L'Acqua Viva Hotel
L'Acqua Viva Hotel
#1 of 3 in Calacuccia
139 reviews
7.4 mi away
Les Jardins De La Glaciere
7.3 mi away
Dominique Colonna
Dominique Colonna
#1 of 9 in Corte
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Boutique Hotel Artemisia
Boutique Hotel Artemisia
#1 of 1 in Bastelica
336 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hotel Des Deux Sorru
Hotel Des Deux Sorru
#1 of 1 in Poggiolo
154 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Vanella
Casa Vanella
#1 of 1 in Casamaccioli
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Balduina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Balduina

Address: le Couvent, 20224 Calacuccia, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Calacuccia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Calacuccia
Price Range: £66 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Casa Balduina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Balduina Calacuccia, Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing