We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The enchanted garden”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau de Picomtal
Ranked #1 of 2 Crots B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Segrate, Lombardia, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The enchanted garden”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We spent only 1 night in the castel but I'da rather stayed for longer to endulge in one of the most loveliest garden ever.
Rooms are spacious as some city apartment and everything reminds you of the love and investment this brave family has put in restoring the castel. The adventure of their life is told by an interesting documentary and by the owner them selves.

It's officially an hotel (elevator included) but with the warmth of a house.

Nice (not to die for) breakfast extra from the room cost, and the useful suggestion of nearby owners'fav restaurants.

Again the garden! I know I have said it already but if you love Iris (what a collection) and roses, or equisetum (hourse tail) and Columbine flowers, you can't miss it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Francesca Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
66
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

If you want to live like royalty for a day or two this is the place to do it. The work Jacques & Sharon have put into this restoration is exceptional and they are happy to share it with you in a modest and friendly fashion. Our room was huge and exquisitely decorated in furniture of the period. Everything was spotless and properly maintained in contrast with two other chateaus we stayed earlier on our trip. We loved it and thank you both for sharing your beautiful home with us.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macchiaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpswell, Maine
Level Contributor
170 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Staying here, with the warmth and hospitality of the owners makes one feel like royalty indeed. We arrived later than expected but still in time to enjoy the beautiful views and gardens and poke around the the castle corners. A true delight. Jacques and Sharon were helpful with suggestions, historical information and for sharing their visiting family. Although it was a short stay,( too short for my taste!) we felt like cousins by the time we were through. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom spacious and well appointed. Views were superb and you will want to stay more than one night- do so! Restaurant openings in the area vary by season but you can be guided to good food locally. An excellent spot for a large family gathering, wedding, convention, etc.

Room Tip: Each room has quite a different character. Let them know what you like when you make the reservation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I need another star level! My wife and I have traveled all over Europe (we have lived in Germany and England) and this is one of our favorite places ever. We normally prefer small, private- home B&B's because you get that personal touch, but we have done a few castle hotels over the years. They're usually impersonal hotels, but it's fun to stay in a castle. Le Chateau is the best of both worlds. Take your favorite B&B, with friendly, helpful, English- speaking hosts and put it in a renovated castle - that's Le Chateau. We liked it so much that we cancelled our next-night reservation (and ate the full cost) just so we could stay another night at Le Chateau. The building is beautiful inside and out. It sits up on a slight hill, giving breath-taking view of the lake and the mountains. But it's a short walk to the village, where there's a nice little restaurant. The only minor drawback, no wifi in the room, turned out to be an advantage. It got us out of our (beautiful) room to visit the rest of the (equally beautiful) common areas of the castle. In short, I wouldn't change a thing. Absolutely wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulzimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

At the end of our trip to Paris and south of France (villages of Provence and sea coast of Cassis), we decided to spend 3 nights in the Haute Alps region. We found this amazing bed and breakfast place near Embron, a real 1000 plus year old Chateau, owned and run by a very nice couple (Jacques and Sharon, she is originally from Boston). They bought this Chateau about 15 years ago and restored to the perfect form that is currently in. It is located on a hill facing a large lake and alpine mountains. After traveling through many beautiful hill top villages and lavender & sunflower fields/vine yards in Provence for over one week, we were experiencing an overload of beautiful sceneries. However, this place and its surroundings gave us a totally new and beautiful experience. As other reviewers indicated, Jacques welcomed us with a drink and walked us around inside and outside the Chateau, including common rooms and garden. Since this is a bed and breakfast they do not offer a dinner. However, they made a reservation at a very interesting local restaurant in Clots (the only one and favorite of the local people), a small village 5 minutes walk from the Chateau. We thought that their food was very good even after eating at top restaurants in Paris, Aix, and Cassis. The second night they introduced us to a very different food at a Turkish restaurant on the hill facing the lake. The food was excellent and the hosts (probably their friends) are very friendly and accommodating. Since we requested a room facing the lake, the room itself was not as fancy as other reviewers had described. However, the room was large, and bathroom was well equipped. There was a small room with two small beds extending into a tower. This would be very good for people traveling with small children. Only caution is that if you are looking for 4 or 5 star facility with air-conditioning, this is not for you. But even for a very hot summer day, you really do not need air conditioning around this place. Breakfast is fresh and just right (fresh bread, local fruits, home mad jams and great juice and coffee). But again if you are looking for a large comprehensive breakfast (American), you would be disappointed. The magical experience here really gave us a feeling of what a great trip this was from the beginning to the end and it was hard to leave to return to US.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sensei62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed with my 95 year old father for a couple of days at this fabulous place and we can recommend it without any hesitation (even though we would have to use the annexe if we come with our little dachshund). The restoration is done with taste and skills (& undoubtably a substantial financing) and is reason enough to come. We stayed in a tower suite and liked it a lot. I will come back!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank bliholmqvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

A very good friend urged us to come here. She said it was an amazing experience AND she was right. From the first moment that we arrived to the last one when we reluctantly left, it was wonderful. Upon arrival we were invited into the breakfast room and offered drinks. We were given our choice of rooms and chose a large room with a canopy bed. We were encouraged to enjoy the common rooms and the garden - which we happily did. The next morning, we took a guided tour of the building and gardens and learned the history of the building and what it took to restore it to it's present glory. It was a memorable experience which I hope to repeat someday!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ella052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crots
0.8 mi away
Les Bartavelles Hotel Restaurant
1.0 mi away
Les Peupliers Hotel Restaurant
3.6 mi away
Hotel Les Chaumettes
Hotel Les Chaumettes
#1 of 3 in Savines-le-Lac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel la Robeyere
Hotel la Robeyere
#1 of 3 in Embrun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel de la Mairie
Hotel de la Mairie
#2 of 3 in Embrun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Notre Dame
Hotel Notre Dame
#3 of 3 in Embrun
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Picomtal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Picomtal

Property: Chateau de Picomtal
Address: Le Village, 05200 Crots, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Hautes-Alpes > Crots
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Crots
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Hautes-Alpes, next to town of Embrun, overlooking Lake Serre-Poncon, a medieval castle offers nine charming guestrooms and suites. Your hosts, Sharon, originally from Boston and Jacques, welcome your seminars, conferences, cultural events, receptions and also organize cooking classes, concerts and guided tours in a magnificent setting in the Southern French Alps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chateau de Picomtal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing