We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal experience in Provence”
Review of Villa Velleron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Velleron
Ranked #2 of 4 Velleron B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 November 2008

Our last visit to Villa Velleron was September 2007. This was the 6th time that we had the great joy of returning to our favorite holiday respite. In 2003, when I made our first reservation, we planned to stay only 2 nights, but after Christian's charming assistance via e mail, I realized that to enjoy all we had planned in Provence that we need not pack up and move to another location, because Villa Velleron was so ideally located and because I sensed that Christian would be a great help to us in refining our day trips. As well, we had booked dinner reservations elsewhere every night, except for the first, but after an evening on the terrace under those bright Provencal stars, Christian's easy manner as he explained wines and each dinner course, and some of the most wonderful food that we had ever eaten prepared lovingly and skillfully by Claudia, we cancelled all our dinner reservations and extended our trip for 12 days! Obviously, we were delighted with our experience. Both Christian and Claudia could not have been more charming.

Since that time, we have become enamored with Provence, the little village of Velleron and their 6 evening/week truly local farmer's market, and the great hospitality provided by both Christian and Claudia.

The Hickls are world travelers through their previous corporate lives and appreciate the needs of travelers. I can't imagine a more genuine Provencal experience. My husband and I highly recommend that you find this remarkable gem and bask in the warm hospitality and generosity of Christian and Claudia.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank oceanrose126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2008

Had another fabulous stay at Villa Velleron. We stayed there for the first time in April this year to participate in the cooking school that Claudia conducted. We had so much fun then, and gained so much appreciation for the way that Villa Velleron prepares for its guests that we decided to return for a second visit.

Again we enjoyed the beautifully prepared and presented meals complimented by Christians thoughtful selection of local wines. Claudia aims for perfection and uses the finest organic ingredients she can locate as she prepares every single thing from scratch with a talented hand. She also cheerfully accommodated my food restrictions which I was careful to alert her to in advance. From the cooking school experience, I witnessed that she buys her food fresh every single day and does not have room in the kitchen to stock for additional meals. A sudden unexpected request for a menu change from a guest is difficult for her to magically produce. She took great care of me, for example, as other guests were savoring her dense rich chocolate cake, I was presented with a generous bowl of the most delicious local raspberries served with fresh cream. It was so divine that the cake was forgotten!

We stayed in the studio apartment this trip and LOVED it as it provided a seating area, a huge bed, a darling kitchen, a giant bathroom with an enormous soaking tub. My daughter went through an entire bottle of bubble bath during our 4 night stay. The apartment also had a nice covered terrace that was perfect for enjoying an early cup of coffee while breathing in the lovely scented Provence air. Everything about the property and grounds including the room decoration is imaginative and romantic. Christian and Claudia run a great place! We will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sueb102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2008

Villa Velleron is stunningly beautiful. The rooms are comfortable and airy, the terrace (where breakfast and dinner are served) is romantic and attractive and the setting for the swimming (and the fact that there is a swimming pool!) is gorgeous.

When we arrived we thought we had found the prototypical Provencal B&B.

But, there are issues and we would probably not stay at V.V. again -- nor would we recommend it to others.

V.V. is run by a German couple, Claudia and Christian Hickl. Christian is a real sweetie and seems to greatly enjoy getting to know his guests and guiding them to extract the full Provence experience from their stays. Claudia, on the other hand, is extremely high strung and less than generous and is probably not cut out to be an innkeeper. We found Claudia to be quite cold and harsh personally. On a more practical level, V.V. reflected her lack of generous spirit: the towels were stiff and hard (probably air dried, not dryer dried); we had to use the same napkins over and over at meals; breakfasts consisted ONLY of bread and coffee -- no yogurt, cheese, meat or cereal, etc.

The lack of breakfast options was a big deal for us. In our last two trips to France we have stayed at a total of six or seven B&Bs. Villa Velleron is the ONLY place we've stayed that has offered such a chintzy and -- in our opinion -- incomplete breakfast. It was hard to make it until lunchtime on one croissant, one piece of bread and a cup of coffee. Everyplace else we've stayed has offered a wide assortment of jams, fruits, yogurts (including local specialities such as fromage blanc), etc.

Later in our trip...while we were in Burgundy...we met a woman who had stayed at Villa Velleron 12-18 months prior to our stay. Her report mirrored our own -- beautiful property, but lackluster experience. Like us, she found Claudia intimidating and cold. With all of the marvelous B&Bs and inns in France, there is no reason to stay at a place that is so lacking in warmth.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Guster54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2007

After a week on a boat on the River Yonne, we moved on to Provence and the lovely Villa Velleron. We were met by the owner, Christian Hickl, and immediately felt welcome and special. He, his wife, Claudia, and son, Vincent, have created a sanctuary that is serene, beautifully appointed, and comfortable. The food Claudia prepared was delectable, fresh, and creative. The wines suggested by Christian with our meals were always appropriate and complimentary - he definitely knows the region and the good houses that produce fine wine. Finally, their knowledge of the region was a perfect match for the objectives we had for touring. Sitting down to discuss routes and not-to-miss sites or towns was extremely beneficial and made our day trips enjoyable, organized, and not too tiring.

Villa Velleron is a special place, and one that we will return to whenever we can.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bagpipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rmistyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank lauramai1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank NanaSkippy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Villa Velleron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Velleron

Address: 15 rue Roquette, 84740 Velleron, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Velleron
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Velleron
Price Range: £88 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prestigious villa at the heart of a Provencal village; quiet; swimming pool; ample terraces; garden enclosed by ancient walls; closed garage; children welcome; around the corner from the daily farmers market of Velleron; 5 minutes to Isle-s/l-Sorgue. Kerstin prepares her dinners with produce directly from the daily farmers market. Every afternoon you can meet her there. Her cuisine is a Provencal and Mediterranean blend, and her guests rave about the desserts of the 3-course menus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa Velleron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing