We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“When good intentions manifest as experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Bonne Etape

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Bonne Etape
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chateau-Arnoux
Certificate of Excellence
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“When good intentions manifest as experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

when we arrived, tired and ready for a glass of wine, we were greeted by a welcoming host who charmed us with her warm greetings. She announced that she was upgrading us to a suite that opens out to its own private patio area surrounded by shrubs and trees. We wandered into the garden with a bottle of wine and glasses and snacks and sat in the sun, moving the table as the sun shifted. When it was cold we came inside and prepared for dinner. The chef/host of the chateau, Jany, greeted us and came out to the table during dinner. His adept work in the kitchen and his charming kindness is embedded deeply into the attitude of every employee. I could not have felt more welcomed and warmly served. Our every need was anticipated and fulfilled. Don't miss this place. Please.

Room Tip: Go during the off season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigbubba123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonneetape04, Propriétaire at La Bonne Etape, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
Thank you for telling the story of the days you spent with us, sharing the atmosphere you felt at the different times of the day.
Thank you for describing the ambiance of our house, thank you for the recommendation to your readers, our future patrons.
I hope to welcome you soon again.
Best wishes
Sincerely
Jany Gleize Chef de Cuisine Maître de Maison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    54
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
28
175
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We ended a month long stay in Italy and France by staying here for 3 nights (got a luxurylink package deal)... from reception to au revoir it was a top notch experience. Our package included breakfast each morning, and one dinner at the hotel's streetfront bistro, which was very good.

But the real draw was the opportunity to indulge in the Michelin 1 star restaurant of the same name, inside this wonderful hotel. We decided to go for the 110 Euro 7 course menu. At the current exchange rate, that's a big ticket, but we feel like we got real value - the service, decor, and food were great, and a visit by the chef/owner was a nice personal touch that is always appreciated.

The overall experience here was excellent, and we would recommend it anytime.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BigChien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonneetape04, Propriétaire at La Bonne Etape, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
Thank you for sharing your satisfaction about this “top notch experience”in La Bonne Etape.
It is also a pleasure knowing you entirely enjoyed our Michelin starred restaurant.
Thank you as well for recommending our house to future visitors ; they will be welcome !
As you will be during a future visit which I hope will be soon.
Best wishes
Sincerely
Jany Gleize Chef de Cuisine Maître de Maison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

We had to stay here due to an unexpected breakdown. The staff were really helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were lovely, as was the view!
We ate in the brasserie. The food was excellent and comes from the same kitchen as the adjoining Michelin starred restaurant.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Pchandless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonneetape04, Propriétaire at La Bonne Etape, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
Thank you for taking time to share your compliments regarding the food in both restaurants, rooms, staff, view… during your staying with us.
It will be a pleasure welcoming you in the future, (without any breakdown I hope for you).
Best regards ; sincerely
Jany Gleize Chef de Cuisine Maître de Maison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

A very stylish and friendly hotel - the rooms were cleverly designed and very pretty. We had dinner in the Brasserie - the food was hearty and delicious - and extremely reasonable. It's worth splashing out on the breakfast, we ate ours on our little private terrace.

The pool was calm and sunny - the sunbeds were taken by other guests before we arrived but there were chairs and you can lie poolside. The kitchen gardens were worth wondering about in too.

The rough and ready village bar up the road is quite good for people watching if you want a break from the refined comfort of your hotel. We wandered around the village a bit but it did feel a bit deserted.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Delilah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonneetape04, Propriétaire at La Bonne Etape, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
Thank you for taking time to share your satisfaction specially about the design of the rooms and style of the hotel, as I know British Citizens are very demanding and famous for their sharp taste about decoration . (I worked at the Connaught Hotel during my apprenticeship).
Your compliments about our “English style garden with a provençal accent” are very much appreciated, too, and everyone knows gardens are a way of life in Great Britain.
Wandering around the hotel can bear more different aspects, from hiking in the herbs scented hills (very different levels of difficulty and time) to strolling under a calm forest path from the castle in front of the ancient entrance of La Bonne Etape.
One can also enjoy walking around the lake to build an appetite before dinner .
Massages are now available and a room dedicated to these has just been remodeled (for those who more sportively mountain bike or simply in need of cocooning)
Thank you again for sharing your experience
Sincerely
Jany Gleize Chef de cuisine, Maître de Maison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We were on holiday in Provence, and I wanted a pleasant hotel to celebrate our 33rd wedding anniversary. I picked "La bonne etape" mostly for its central location, but it turned out that I could not possibly have made a better choice for such an occasion.

It started when we arrived. The hotel is located centrally in the village, but in a quiet location. We were greeted by a very friendly staff who spoke English perfectly. The room was very nice, with a view on the garden, the swimming pool and the distant mountains. Everything was perfect; even the wifi worked fine. And, finally, in the evening we had the dining experience of our lives. The food was really excellent, as were the suggested wines, and the staff very attentive and friendly.

In conclusion, this has been one of our most memorable hotels. We'll certainly come again if ever we are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dag L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonneetape04, Propriétaire at La Bonne Etape, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
What a pleasure to have enriched the memory of your wedding anniversary.
Thank you for sharing your feeling which exceeded your expectations.
This is our goal : giving the best of our land to make you live the best of your experience.
Last summer a large number of visitors extended their stay from one or two days to a week or a fortnight. It is a nice reward for us.
I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you very soon as you wish to.
Very sincerely, thank you again,
Jany Gleize Chef de Cuisine Maître de Maison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We recently stayed here to attend a wedding in the area. What a wonderful find! Our room (31) overlooked both the pool and patio, and our terrace was a delightful place to have breakfast. And what a breakfast - lots of pastries of varied types, breads, fresh fruits, yogurt, even eggs - much more than your usual continental breakfast. The best part of the stay was definitely the delicious meals at the two restaurants on the property. Do not miss a meal - the food was amazing and the service was earnest and attentive. The pool was also a gem. The only downside is the town itself - a good base from which to explore the region, but not terribly interesting in and of itself.

Room Tip: Higher floor and a corner room has best ventilation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank isla18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonneetape04, Propriétaire at La Bonne Etape, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
Thank you for taking Time to share your compliments relating your time in La Bonne Étape.
"what a breakfast ! , do not miss a meal ! Pool was a gem !" Thank you !
About "the town itself" : I was born in this village, it is a very nice village indeed, although not well highlighted ; the managing elected team of Château Arnoux are now conscious of the importance of the charm and decor. They started working on improving it all.
The region is really worth spending time to be discovered, you are right, thank you for being an ambassador of this.
Hoping to welcoming you again soon, best regards

Jany Gleize Chef de Cuisine Maître de Maison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
424 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely little hotel which looks the part and has a lovely swimming pool area. The staff was very friendly and accomodating, however our room, which was a ground floor one had a damp weird smell to it. It was very cold even with the airconditoning turned off and had no windows. It felt a bit like a basement dungeon. The bathroom was well equipped and nicely done but ice cold as well, and this is Provence in July, 30+ C outside. On top of this the bedding was something you would expect in a much cheaper hotel. A real shame because the staff and the setting of this charming hotel get top marks.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Eatthemeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonneetape04, Propriétaire at La Bonne Etape, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
Thank you for taking time to share the compliments about hotel, staff, bathroom…
I am really sorry that the problems encountered have not been solved during your staying with us ; the hotel was fully booked as you know and the proposal we made upon arrival (proposing another upgraded room for the same price by 6pm if nobody showed at this time) did not seem to meet with your approval, as we did not see you at that time (and we then thought you did not want to change your room).
An arrival was made later for other customers and the room which was proposed to you was no more available at night.
I have personnaly investigated on the problems you are talking about and will explain to you in details when you come back (relatives of yours live nearby, if I remember well).
Could you please be so kind as to let me know when you visit them again so that I arrange accomodation for you in order to make you enjoy the right experience in La Bonne Etape.
Thank you again.
Best regards
Jany Gleize Chef de Cuisine Maître de Maison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chateau-Arnoux
1.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant la Magnanerie
16.0 mi away
Le Couvent des Minimes Hotel & SPA L'Occitane
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#2 of 3 in Chateau-Arnoux
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hotel Le Tivoli
Hotel Le Tivoli
#2 of 7 in Sisteron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
11.1 mi away
Le Grand Paris
Le Grand Paris
#2 of 11 in Digne les Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
20.4 mi away
La Bastide de Moustiers
La Bastide de Moustiers
#2 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bonne Etape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bonne Etape

Property: La Bonne Etape
Address: Chemin du Lac, 04160 Chateau-Arnoux, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Chateau-Arnoux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chateau-Arnoux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Bonne Etape 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Bonne Etape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bonne Etape Hotel Chateau-Arnoux
La Bonne Etape Chateau Arnoux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing