We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
89
47
11
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
47
11
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful property next morning air conditioning one night db b countryside sophie farmhouse cie provence parking region
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2018

We stayed here for 4 nights (initially booked 7 nights, but then received an email that there was a wedding and they normally didn't book rooms during weddings. Strange as we booked direct with them..)
While we were there, there were numerous business groups having meetings, conferences and the day we left there was a wedding. These groups seemed to all be more important than us.
The air conditioning didn't work from the start. I mentioned it daily, and they assured a technician was coming, but it never worked while we were there. Lots of musquitoes, so we had to keep the windows closed - very hot and uncomfortable.
They didn't even offer us something as compensation (even a glass of wine would have been nice). Food is ok, bit on the dear side (much better restaurants in Aix).
The pool was unheated and WAY to cold to swim.
There was instant coffee in the room, but no milk or milk powder, so we had to buy that ourselves.
All in all - despite the building being nice, it was the least of the places we stayed on our holiday in France & Italy. Disappointing...

Room tip: Ensure the air conditioning is working before you book!!!
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MarGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie B, Propriétaire at Domaine & Cie, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Dear Mrs Dunsielman,

Thank you for letting us know how was your experience. We are so sorry that everything did not follow your expectations.
This is true that you first booked the 7 nights with us. Our website like our website partners are all connected to the same booking reservation system and one room from the stock stayed open whereas it was supposed to be closed as we were fully booked that night. But we called you right away and we tried to find the best option for you.
I apologize as well if you felt less important than the other groups that were present on the same time than you at the hotel. For us, every person coming to the hotel is very important. Each person come to our Domaine with a purpose : relaxing, working, being married and each person pay for a service so every person deserve the same continuous attention.
We apologize for the air conditionning, it has been a nightmare for our clients and for us too to be in front of our unhappy clients being unconfortable in rooms. It is the first time that we had that kind of breakdown and we hope the last … We had technician that came everyday for a week trying to repair the A/C. Then, once they understood what was the real problem, we had to order parts that came from abroad, all the process unfortunately took time. Today, it is working again.
And you are totally right, we should have offer you drinks or even more. We apologize for that. If in the future, you give us another chance to welcome you again, we will take the opportunity to catch up !
Food and swin in an unheated pool … is your own feeling. We had clients that swim until october when the weather permits it. And we have some clients that comeback several times to have lunch and dinner at the restaurant.
As a 3 star hotel, we are not obliged to put electric kettle, instant coffee powder, tea bags, sugar and cups in rooms but we do it to please our client.
Very sorry again that you did not appreciates your stay in our hotel. We sincerely hope you will come again to compare your 2 stay. I am sure we can convince you that we have a nice and pleasant hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018

It is a lovely setting with wonderful buildings; and I had very high hopes. But somehow little things intervened - we arrived at the tail end of a wedding and the welcome was not what you would expect at a place with a small number of rooms. We then had to wait for the restaurant to open and found that it was a buffet - all vey nice but not the promised haute cuisine. Our room was small but did have proficient air conditioning. My other gripe was that if you were not early enough to grab one of the few parking places, you had to navigate a potholed track to get to the overspill parking. For a country country, having good parking (or at least getting one of the staff out with a shovel to fill the potholes) would see important. To be fair it is probably a perfect place for people who want to relax but the pool and have DB&B.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie B, Propriétaire at Domaine & Cie, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Dear Sir,
First of all, we thank you for your stay at the Domaine.
I'm very soryy if you feel not good with your check in.
We have rooms from 15 m2 to 25 m2 because of the old building.
You are right, our restaurant open at 7.30 pm in summer and in august we decided to offer a buffet instead of the menu and the card, it was only for 4 sundays evening.
About the second parking,the track, with the big rains, it's not a flat way.
Sorry about those things that you do not appreciate.
Hope to see you next time that you come in Provence.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

A beautiful property, clean, modern, air-conditioned and with a friendly staff. Moderately priced and 10 minutes from Aix. We booked 1 night and stayed 3. The menu is not fussy and if the weather allows you get to eat al fresco. Simply charming!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank loulouz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie B, Propriétaire at Domaine & Cie, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Dear Madame,
Dear Sir,
We thank you for your stay at the Domaine.
Also for the comment that you let for us.
We hope to see you next time that you will come in Provence.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

Beautiful hotel and very good Restaurant. Perfect location for a trip to Aix-en-Provence. Very quiet, we slept very well as bed is really comfortable. We had the deluxe room with a very nice and big bathroom. Also breakfast is very good

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 199sophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie B, Propriétaire at Domaine & Cie, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Dear Madame,
We thank you for your stay at the Domaine and for your great comment.
We hope to see you next time at the Domaine for your next trip to Provence.
Have a nice summer
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

The Domaine is surrounded by fields and is an absolute delight. I had a great feeling about it from my first contact as my questions were always answered promptly and courteously. We had a DB&B package which was excellent value. Our welcome was warm and efficient. As we were early our room wasn't quite ready, we were offered a complimentary coffee. Our room (no 4) was a delight with a huge sunny private outdoor area complete with table and chairs. We enjoyed our dinner and the excellent buffet. We were sorry we only had one night as we had to catch a plane the next morning.

Room tip: Ask for a room with an outdoor area. Room 4 is lovely.
Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JuttaJumbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie B, Propriétaire at Domaine & Cie, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you so much for your comment !
We are happy that you appreciate our Domaine
Hope that you had a good trip back to your country
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews