We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and perfect for groups”
Review of Moulin de la Roque

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Noves
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Moulin de la Roque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2013

La Moulin is very well located within flat walking distance (maybe 10 minutes) of the village of Noves. This means you can pop into town in the morning for fresh croissants and bread, have a coffee at one of the bars, and wander home to serve the bread to your friends and family. We stayed in the 8 person house La Tuilerie, as we had four couples. It has 2 double bedrooms downstairs and two upstairs. Each set of 2 bedrooms shares a bathroom and a separate toilet. The bedrooms are a good size and have room to unpack your clothes and a hidden washbasin. There's a small kitchen and big dining area all well-equipped on the first floor and then a large living room on the top floor with a fireplace (although would not recommend starting a fire - the chimney needs some work and the place filled with smoke!). We did find the tiled floor a bit noisy and cold, and perhaps could have benefited from some rugs but we stayed in winter and the floors are clearly designed to keep the place cooler in summer. Gaby and Guy, the hosts, were very helpful in recommending local restaurants, sights and other things to do. Many interesting places were within half an hour drive or less so it was a very good base for looking around the Avignon area. I can imagine in summer the grounds and pool would be a great way to spend some relaxation time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank acehadventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2012

Staying at Moulin was a highlight of our three week trip to France. We wanted a serene place where we could retreat at the end of the day to savor the beauty of Provence with our wine and cheese on the terrace. We found it at Moulin, a charming, beautifully landscaped estate that filled all of our needs and expectations. We were only minutes from quaint nearby villages, where we discovered vineyards, olive groves, fabulous markets and the art of Van Gogh. Each day was an adventure, ending with our happy return to Moulin. In fact, we were content to spend almost every evening on the terrace at Moulin. Our accommodations were fabulous - comfortable, modern and decorated in beautiful French decor. Guy and Gaby were warm and friendly, always willing to answer our questions, providing wonderful tips and information, and helping in every way. The staff also made us feel like special guests. We have already recommended this treasure to friends and would love to return ourselves someday. What a memorable and special week!!

Room Tip: There are a variety of choices at Moulin, depending on the number of people in your group. Options r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cjlbbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Our family of four visited the Moulin eight years ago and loved it then, but now with the intelligent renovations it is an even more wonderful place to stay. Gaby and Guy are genuinely warm and helpful and have a wealth of knowledge to share about activities and sites in the region for all kinds of interests. The Moulin makes an excellent, comfortable base from which to explore the area around Avignon, as well as wonderful place to relax and enjoy the lovely lodgings, grounds, pool, and hiking paths. We hope to return again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnaisTuepker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

A wonderful vacation and Mistral breeze caressed by lavender scent, I spent at Moulin de la Roque, property of Guy Fallon & Gaby Janney a successful combination of French traditions and American good organization! We strongly recommend

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ionescu_Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Excellent! Excellent! Excellent!
Our Very sociable Hosts Gaby and Guy and as well as their knowlegeable Staff really know how to make people feel at home. This place was and attraction in itself in and ideal location bar none to visit Provence. The Pool, the Apartment, the Grounds were impecable and inviting. The meet and greet on Monday late afternoon was superb with local food, wine and very nicely decorated tables.
Our family of five spent 7 days at the Moulin de la Roque from 7th July to 14th 2012 thanks in large part to TripAdvsor and the many, many 5 Star ratings from previous guests.
Being an amateur photographer I spent most of my spare time at the Moulin taking pictures that I have attached to this review.
Thank you Guy, Gaby and staff (whom I forgot the names) for this wonderful stay.

Claude, Mona, Pierre, Céline and Guillaume.
Petit-Rocher NB Canada

Room Tip: All apartments appeared to be very very quiet due to the size of buildings from the old mill used f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ImBrayon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We just finished an 8 day stay at Moulin de La Roque, our two bedroom apartment had every convenience you could think of, I was particularly pleased with the kitchen equipment as the Provensal markets are a cornucopia of fresh ingredients for cooking. The location is excellent, centrict to all the towns and cities of interest. Gaby is very helpful in an non obtrusive way, which makes for a peaceful, restful stay. I would definitely recommend this property.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank martycaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We stayed in the apartemtn "La Tuzelle," on the third floor of the old flour mill building. Many steps, but worth it. The grounds are large and beautiful, and the hosts, Guy and Gaby are considerate, helpful, knowledgeable and thoughtful. You can take days trips easily (within an hour or so) to many lovely towns. The two-bedroom apartment was light and roomy, with a fine bath. We are looking forward to another stay, hopefully in one of the houses, which have been beautifully renovated and decorated.

Room Tip: All are different--you can find one that suits your needs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosemarie3740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noves
9.6 mi away
Moulin de la Roque
Moulin de la Roque
#1 of 1 in Althen-des-Paluds
117 reviews
0.6 mi away
Auberge de Noves
Auberge de Noves
#1 of 2 in Noves
234 reviews
8.3 mi away
La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit de France
La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit...
#1 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Paradou
5.6 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
991 reviews
5.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Le Lavarin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moulin de la Roque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moulin de la Roque

Address: Chemin de la Roque, 13550 Noves, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Noves
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Noves
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MOULIN DE LA ROQUE - Noves is a stunning historic twelve acre gated estate situated between Saint Remy de Provence and Avignon, in the heart of Provence, South of France. We are a charming hammeau (little village) with several farmhouses all renovated from historic buildings that once served the old mill. We are the owners, Baron Guy Fallon and Gaby and are passionate about Provence and our mill. We live in the manor house on the property and are here for you for whatever you may need. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing