We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it!”
Review of Moulin de la Roque

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Noves
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Moulin de la Roque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We were two couples who stayed June 21-28 in the Tuileries, the 2- story 4 BR/2B former tile works. What can I add to the glowing reviews-- not much. This is a special place, and Guy & Gaby are special and wonderful hosts. It is a beautiful, peaceful, 12-acre (?) compound, centrally-located near Avignon, and has easy access to everything you may wish to visit. I still hear the convivial laughter of our neighbors eating & drinking on their patios in the evening, and hear the soft crunch of footsteps on the gravel walkways, and see the beauty of the limestone cliffs above us, and the Oleander bushes, Hydrangeas and lavender planted on the grounds. And I remember the hot afternoon after the morning tourism, cooling off around the large pool, sitting under the huge Weeping Willow tree. And Provence? As lovely and interesting as we imagined; a magical region with good food & drink and friendly people and amazing things to do and see. We only saw a fraction of what we wished to see, so we have plans to come back in a year or two to see more. And we definitely want to come back to Moulin de la Roque. Take G & G's suggestions of what to see and where to go. They even have a book in each apartment that they put together with great ideas for what to see & do. They are constantly improving the property. During the winter, they had expanded the kitchen and improved the two bathrooms in our unit, and during our stay, Guy was building a path that leads to a carved-out plateau on the cliffside where he intends to build a little garden oasis of some kind. Guy is an engineer, and Gaby is an artist, so they have created this wonderful place together, with marvelous taste.
The Tuileries was great for 2-4 couples, with 2 BR up and 2 down, each floor sharing a well-appointed bathroom. Toilets are separate rooms, which I think would make the bathrooms easier to share if you come with several other couples. The lower floor had a bath and shower, the upper only a (beautiful) shower. The kitchen was all you need and well-stocked with tools, Nespresso machine, dishes etc., but I think the best feature was the very private patio off the kitchen, where we spent much time eating salads, bread, cheeses, meats, roasted vegetables, olives and other Provençal treats that we had purchased in Noves (you don't pronounce the 'S') or other nearby towns on their big market days. All washed down with the delicious Cote du Rhone wines, of course. It already seems so long ago that we were there. We cannot wait to return. Thank you for creating wonderful memories. A Bientot!

Room Tip: From our experience and talking to other guests-- they are all good. Where you end up depends on how...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank ChristianH521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

We spent two weeks at Moulin de la Roque in July. It is a lovely location and Guy and Gaby are warm and welcoming hosts. We have two children and this was a fantastic location for them with lots of outdoor space and plenty of opportunities for them to meet and play with other children. The standard of accommodation is very good and the grounds are beautifully kept. The location is central with Noves a short drive or walk away. There are also a wide range of activities near by. We definitely plan to return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We are a New Zealand family who recently spent a week at this beautiful retired mill for a second time. The site is picturesque, the accomodation was superb, the amenities wonderful with many things to do for both adults and children, and a lovely short walk to a choice of 3 boulangeries in the tiny village of Noves. The location is superb and a one day trip to excellent vineyards, kayaking, caves, walks, the sea, and beautiful cities like Avignon. We will keep coming back. So relaxing .... We left the kids to amuse themselves with all the amenities and friends they met, and we read, sunbathed, and relaxed. Thank you! We will keep coming back.

Room Tip: La Bergerie was quiet and away from the rest of the houses. Lovely outdoor table and large open an k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Hcarbonatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We are a family of 4 from New Zealand who stayed for 2 weeks in early July 2014

Overall we loved the stay. Gabby and Guy are wonderful hosts. Here are a few insights / comments

Location. Noves is a quiet "farmers" village with not a lot of tourists. It has all the basics - supermarket, bread and fruit and vege shop - but it is not a destination for food or sights. More importantly - it is well located to the epicentre of Provence which everyone goes to see. Villages of Beux, St Remy, Luberon valley and Egalieres [sp] are all within an hour.

Accommodation. Lovely setting with a big lawn, good (coldish) pool, rooms that are simple but clean and well laid out.

Hosts. 10 out of 10. Gabby and Guy are the most lovely people in the world. They host a drinks welcome on the monday or Tuesday of each week so you can meet other people. Gabby will tell you where to go and she provides an excellent manual of the area at the beginning of your stay

Noise. Relatively quiet. You can hear a faint drone from the highways - but hard to completely avoid this in Provence these days

Forest. There is a neighbouring forest which is great for morning walks etc

Transport. You will need a car to visit all the all villages. It is around 20 mins from Avignon. Don't trust your GPS (use a map) or you will get lost.

Other people at the venue. Gabby and Guy have around 10 apartments / villas that they are running at the site. The other people that were there when stayed were a mix of americans, canadians and Australians. Some of them are repeat visitors and many came because recommended by friends that had stayed there. It is heavily booked - so you need to book well in advance for peak period (July / August). It is a good site for young families because they get to play with each other around the pool and on the wonderful lawn

Why stay there / points of difference. Big beautiful site, compound feel, good for families, clean accommodation, centrally located, wonderful hosts.

Thank you Guy and Gabby for a wonderful stay. We will be recommending Moulin de la Roque to all our friends visiting Provence

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank DavidfromNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Beautiful Place,Beautiful Owners.How can I summarize our stay there?.We will return a soon as posible!!!.It was perfect...We could either stay there and enjoy the estate and all it has to offer,or travelling to all the beautiful villages that surround Noves,with one big advantage,the owners know all the places and they are your best advisers!
Southern France is really a magic place in this world and Moulin de la Roque is no exception.
Ignacio and Family

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank energee60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

From the moment you arrive, it just feels comfortable. The hosts Guy & Gaby could not be more helpful. We had rented Le Cigales, the 5 bedroom house, for a group of friends on a tour of Provence. Everything was perfect. From the house, to the rooms, to the outside patio where we eat most of our meals, constantly refreshed by the scent of star jasmine filling the air. With the pool a few steps away it was easy to stay relaxed. The three patissiere's in Noves were kept busy all week with our morning stops for bread and pastries. And this is a convenient location for exploring, one day the Luberon, another day Arles, another Gigondas, St Remy, and then Avignon within 15 minutes drive. Look no further than Moulin de la Roque.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This region of France is everything one can dream about. The beauty of the landscapes is an artists dream, the charm of the people is evident in the way they approach you and make you feel happy that you are there. We spent our time at the Moulin de la Roque, and it was the graciousness of our host & hostess which helped make our stay a beautiful week. My daughter, and three granddaughters (ages 19, 22,22), and I made memories that will last a lifetime! Merci ,and much love to Gaby & Guy!!!!

Room Tip: This is not a typical "hotel" by any means, it is a lovely compound of a deliciously rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank BonnieS6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Noves hotels
0.6 mi away
Auberge de Noves
Auberge de Noves
#1 of 2 in Noves
241 reviews
3.3 mi away
La Maison - Domaine De Bournissac
1.9 mi away
Villa Mas St Jean
Villa Mas St Jean
#2 of 3 in Noves
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Mas De Mariette
Mas De Mariette
#1 of 3 in Noves
18 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Moulin de la Roque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moulin de la Roque

Address: Chemin de la Roque, 13550 Noves, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Noves
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Noves
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MOULIN DE LA ROQUE - Noves is a stunning historic twelve acre gated estate situated between Saint Remy de Provence and Avignon, in the heart of Provence, South of France. We are a charming hammeau (little village) with several farmhouses all renovated from historic buildings that once served the old mill. We are the owners, Baron Guy Fallon and Gaby and are passionate about Provence and our mill. We live in the manor house on the property and are here for you for whatever you may need. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing