We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for a few nights”
Review of Camping Paris-Est

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Camping Paris-Est
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We booked into Paris Est for 2 nights in February 2013 prior to our visit to Disney. This allowed us to travel out on Sunday (roads nice and quiet), visit Paris on Monday, and check out and drive the short distance to Disney on Tuesday.

Our concerns prior to arrival that the unit may be cold were quickly forgotten. All Thomson Al Fresco units are modern, with electric heaters in both bedrooms, bathroom and living room. I assume that the park staff had turned these on some time before we arrived, and the unit gave us a nice warm welcome whilst the temperatures froze outside.

Other reviews have stated that the units are small - and they are rather comfy. You would struggle with 6 people, but it is manageable. There is no toaster, but a kettle to use on the hop is provided. There was no oven in ours, but we did have a microwave with an in built oven. Plenty of crockery and utencils etc. Reasonable amount of storage space (pretty good in the main bedroom), and bathroom and shower were quite spacious, whilst the shower was nice and warm.

The location is great to visit Paris, allthough we had no time to visit the local area during our short stay. Facilities are a little limited and the on-site shops etc were not open form what we could see. There was an outdoor play area for children, and I Imagine that there was more to do in the nearby Parc. Otherwise, you could take a stroll along the Seine which flows by next to the parc.

We bought the day travel passes from reception (around €10 per day per adult) and caught the bus right outside the main gate which took us to Joinvile Le Pont RER Station, with regular trains into central Paris stopping off near to many of the main sites. Despite having a double buggy we were able to take it on the bus and throught the RER without folding, leaving our youngest daughter secure and snug. Some stations will have stairs, so you may need to carry the buggy at times. Otherwise, we found no issues with getting around Paris on the RER or Metro.

Some directions show that you go around Parc De Tromblay, but once you exit the motorwaty junction you can take the road for the Parc which runs along the river (some maps show that the road terminates before you reach the campsite - not true). Plan your journey ahead, and you should have no problem. On exit, you simply follow the signs from the parc that take you back to the motorway junction. From there, Disney is only some 20 mins.

Staff were very helpfull with advice, directions etc.

We would certainly consider staying here again. It's a great place to combine a Paris trip with Disney.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dai47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al_Fresco_11, Al Fresco Holidays Customer Service Team at Camping Paris-Est, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

We're glad to hear you enjoyed your time in Paris and Disney, thank you for providing the feedback on your stay with us. We hope to see you again, Al Fresco Holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed there last year at the end of our holidays. When we arrived, we pitched the tent (plenty of space). It was towards the end of the season. Toilet block was old and dated, you needed to bring own paper and it was very smelly. It was impossible to have a shower - water was either too hot or cold.

But the worst yet to come - the very next morning all the nice families left and we were camped there on our own - we did not feel safe, really, at night. There were strange people (definitely no tourists!) living in little huts, sometimes people passed out tent (we were the last one on the field and disappeared into the bushes, just to come back after half an hour).

On the fourth day of our stay a group of Australians arrived, sadly these were the first unfriedly Australians we encounted. They drank a lot at night and vomited into the sinks in the wash-up area. Dreadful.

Staff was very nice and location great - but I am not surprised that people report they have been mugged there. As we said, we camp a lot, but this place is a no go.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MissMarple74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in February with my husband and 6 month old. Arrived after spending almost an hour trying to find the site in what seemed like peak traffic. Even when we asked people had not heard of ‘Camping Paris Est’- eventually found it by following signs for ‘Camping IDF’.
Upon unloading and feeding little one, husband went to get us some tea from the restaurant only to find that the whole building was shut (shop, tv room, restaurant, snack bar etc), with what looked like building work taking place….. When we went to reception to find out what was going on we were informed it would be shut for the whole of our stay and conveniently would open the day after we left….. Having spoken to other guests they had been told different dates and certainly during our time there no workmen had been in the building, and when we left it was in no fit state to be open the following day!

We were told there was a shop on the main road about a 20 min walk away but having witnessed people searching through bins and groups of lads on the way in we decided against having a walk in the dark.

Bedrooms are very, very small. Can barely walk around double bed or in-between singles and there is definitely not enough room in them to put up a cot bed, we ended up moving the dining table and setting this up in there but this also meant that little one could not settle due to us being in there, washing dishes and there is quite a draft due to the vents on the floor.
There is no toaster or grill which makes breakfast interesting …. Again if we knew this we could have been more prepared but after a bad first night with no facilities and then this, we were not happy. There is also a rather interesting can opener which I almost cut myself on!

On the positives the bus and RER service is fantastic. The 101 bus picks up by the entrance to the site every 30 mins (mon - fri) which goes to Jonville Le Point station (approx 10 min journey) and there are regular trains from there. If you have a pushchair there is much more room on the double decker train (not sure what the techical term is).

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank purplesmiler82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al_Fresco_11, Al Fresco Holidays Customer Service Team at Camping Paris-Est, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

We're sorry to hear you did not enjoy your break away to Paris Est, this particular campsite is sold mainly as a short break campsite due to its location close to the centre of Paris and Disney. We do provide a microwave combination oven that has a grill feature - we are looking into adding instructions on how to use this feature to the mobile home information. We're glad you were happy with the location of the campsite and hope you enjoyed your time in Paris, Many thanks Al Fresco Holidays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Hard to find , very basic not much of anything in shop.. Home for the 5days was very small there was 3adults and 2 kids no kettle or toaster in home well I call it a home more like a van on wheels will find somewhere bigger with a kettle next time we visit Paris ... Disney was awesome thou so worth it in the end!!!

Room Tip: Better to go somewhere else sorry Paris est! Disappointing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GILL M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al_Fresco_11, Al Fresco Holidays Customer Service Team at Camping Paris-Est, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

We have introduced Paris Est as a base to visit the centre of Paris or Disney that offers good value accommodation. I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your accommodation, I have checked with staff onsite who have confirmed that all accommodation has a kettle (to use on the oven hob) and a combination microwave/oven with grilling function. We're glad to hear you still enjoyed your trips to Disney, many thanks Al Fresco Holidays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Arrived to find caravan very small (Bellini) and restaurant, TV room and bar etc closed as staff on holiday. Checked out after the first night. Shops and train station are 20 mins walk according to reception and there is a bus stop by the park but not very useful when arriving at night in the snow and there is no where to get any food on the complex and didn't want to walk 20 mins in snow and dark with a toddler.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank SaraDP2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

I stayed her with my partner and our 3 kids (aged 3, 8 and 14). The camp was pretty easy to get to, just a short bus ride from Joinville train station to the site entrance. The site and accommodation were really nice, with play areas for the kids and and a little shop and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. We had day tickets for Disneyland and found the RER and Metro train system easy to understand and reliable for getting there, as well as around Paris. Overall, we had a good holiday and the kids enjoyed themselves, so I would recommend Camping Paris Est as a good base for visiting the attractions.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Patrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al_Fresco_11, Al Fresco Holidays Customer Service Team at Camping Paris-Est, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your holiday with us to Paris Est, we're glad to hear you and your children enjoyed their break away and had fun at Disney! Thank you for the feedback you have provided, Kind Regards Al Fresco Holidays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed here as a family of 6 (mum dad + 9yr old 8yr old + twins 5yr.) in a lodge/caravan
Il split my review into 3 parts.

The negative points,
We found the site very difficult to find, despite have a brand new car with excellent built in Sat Nav. This is because of the one way system on the approach road, like most places once you have cracked it, it becomes ok to find. The main roads were completely grid locked and it took almost an hour to travel the last 1/4 of a mile. (this may have been because of large function being held at the Tremblay Park and we think local road works)

The kitchens are basic, no toaster or oven .

The sofabed had ridges across the mattress which was not ideal.


The positive points,
The play park is now finished and our four children could have spent all day on the swings.. they are arranged in an octagon shape and all the children come together in the middle and almost touch (simple but the kids loved it) Plus there is a climbing frame and a few other bits. there are table tennis tables too so bring bats and balls.

It felt safe and secure and parking is no issue.
Our cabin was clean and tidy for our arrival.



Summary
Its a great place for a couple of days or weekend ideal for Disney or site seeing in Paris.
There is ample free parking at Creteil l echat metro station, there is also a more secure car park for a charge.

Line 8 on the metro takes you to the Eiffel Tower in 45mins

Dont be put off by the traffic, just plan your final approach using maps google street view etc,
In hindsight i would have come in along D4.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marcus s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregorylecoutre, Responsable relations clients at Camping Paris-Est, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2015

Hello,

thanks a lot for your rich and intersting review.

Best regards,
Gregory Lecoutre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Champigny-sur-Marne
Passy
Camping de Paris
Camping de Paris
#995 of 1,809 in Paris
510 reviews
Comfort Hotel Champigny sur Marn...
#1 of 2 in Champigny-sur-Marne
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Adagio Access Nogent-Sur-Marne
#2 of 4 in Nogent-sur-Marne
94 reviews
Hotel Kyriad Paris Disneyland
#6 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
3,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Paris-Est? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Paris-Est

Address: 23 boulevard des Allies, 94507 Champigny-sur-Marne, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Val-de-Marne > Champigny-sur-Marne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Champigny-sur-Marne
Price Range: £29 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Camping Paris-Est 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from the centre of Paris... On the banks of the River Marne, this holiday park is a breath of fresh air in the midst of a busy urban setting - 20 acres of wooded park land less than 10 km from Paris. An ideal spot for visiting Disneyland(R) Paris(1) or simply relaxing in this old village, home to market gardeners and craftsmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, PitchUp and Ebookers so you can book your Camping Paris-Est reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing