We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional but not 4 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Paris Sud Porte de Charenton
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Functional but not 4 star”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed her for 2 nights in late August 2013. The first thing that I noticed was the tired looking stained chairs in the lobby which suprised me. The reception staff are helpful and multi-lingual; our room was functional but certainly did not present as a 4 star hotel, the nespresso machine did not include the coffee tabs and whilst our travelling companion had his replenished the following morning we had to ask to be provided with some. The shower is good although generally the bathroom is slightly on the small side. For whatever reason I did have a restful nights sleep at all - this could however be for a number of unconnected reasons but the bed and covers were not comfortable for me at all. Functional, more accurate rating would be 3.5 star, unlikely to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sjofn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    370
    115
    34
    23
See reviews for
345
126
38
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed here twice as we took the Autotrain to the South of France.

The hotel is a little jaded - probably due for a spruce up soon - but is clean and tidy and everything works. The staff are polite and very friendly; the only downside on our second stay was they had forgotten to make up the second bed for the kids. Breakfast is OK - don't expect anything flash and the hot breakfast can best be described as 'warm' - but there's nothing in the local area as a substitute so you're fairly stuck with it.

The hotel's a little off the beaten track - it's not easy to get in and out of the centre by Metro so probably best to use if for Bercy / Gare de Lyon / Austerlitz as opposed to a tourist hotel.

Room Tip: The family rooms are small - probably only fit for 3 or 4 if you have 2 little ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BertNoslen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine G, Directeur général at Novotel Paris Sud Porte de Charenton, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for trusting us by coming twice. I appreciate you’ve taken some of your time to write us your feedback.
I am pleased to note you general satisfaction. Indeed, Novotel Paris Charenton is off the beaten track, which allows you to get some rest (after a busy tourism day!) in a quiet area but very closed from Paris. The metro line 8 gives you an access to the center of Paris in 15 minutes.

We hope to welcome you again in the Novotel Paris Charenton (we will make up the second bed for the kids this time!)

Best Regard,
Catherine GIRAUD
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

I stayed in this hotel from July 28 to August 2, 2013. The facilities available in the hotel are as expected in a Novotel. The staff are cheerful and accommodating. The reception staff are professionals as you expect in a Novotel. The restaurant staff are cheerful but may need some more training to boost confidence. They act like they are so afraid of every move. The table arrangements are not consistent, sometimes missing a fork, knife, sugar packs as example. The restaurants are not as clean as I see in my previous Novotel experience. You will still see some scattered bread crumbs on the floor even you were the first person to arrive for breakfast. The orange juice is bitter, but I like the taste of the coffee!. The hotel is in a nice location where a Metro is just in front. There are a lot of stores nearby if you need some essentials. Restaurants are available nearby like Asian, American and French. Not bad to comeback in this hotel during business trips where I don't care so much about quality detail.

Room Tip: All rooms I think are quiet and may have a nice view of the Charenton Le Pont neighborhood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lemmorcv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine G, General Manager at Novotel Paris Sud Porte de Charenton, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your stay. I've taken good notes of your comments and I've alerted our restaurant team to do what's necessary.
We hope to welcome you for your next trip in one on our 4000 Accor Hotels all over the world,

Best Regard,
Catherine GIRAUD
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

After having a long journey from England traveling through the night, we (two adults, two children) arrived at the hotel around lunch time. We were told that they had cancelled our booking and booked us into an apart hotel down the road. We asked what star rating it had several times and they would not tell us. We were all shattered, it was very hot and we wanted to spend the afternoon in Paris so we didn't make a scene and lugged all our bags back down to the underground car park and headed up to the apart hotel. To cut a long story short, it was an awful place, well below any of our expectations and we had to phone the Novotel to say that it was not acceptable. They said they would phone us back in 5 mins...we were still waiting after 15 mins so we packed our things up again and headed back to the Novotel, having wasted nearly 2 hours of our afternoon during this time. They eventually agreed to put us up for the night in the hotel, but by this time they had spoilt our arrival in Paris, a place we had all been looking forward to visiting for months. Shameful behaviour from Novotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellebaby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine G, Directeur général at Novotel Paris Sud Porte de Charenton, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, I completely understand your dissatisfaction and I want to apology for your bad experience in my hotel.
This kind of event is exceptional and we have taken measures so it won’t happen again.
However, if it happens, we generally give our clients a compensation for damages suffered. As we care about offering you a good travelling experience, we are listening to you at any moment so do not hesitate to come and express your discontent.
I hope you enjoyed your stay in Paris despite your start.

We hope to welcome you for your next trip in one on our 4000 Accor Hotels all over the world,
Best Regard,
Catherine GIRAUD
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

I had a very disappointing experience. Several websites describe this as a four star hotel, but it is simply not true. Here's what's lacking: a bellman, concierge, gym, robe, competent front desk staff. The bed was painful; the furniture was the cheapest I have seen in a hotel room (it makes IKEA look luxurious). The front desk staff was clueless when my internet did not work. I had to complain three times before they finally moved me to another room where the wireless worked. When I asked about a gym, they said "I think there is one down the street." (I never found it.) The AC temperature is centrally controlled, and it was warm in my room. (You can turn the AC down but not up--again, this is no four star hotel!) And the location is a 30 minute train ride from most of the sights of Paris. I would never stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to the elite floor--it's the only one with nice rooms. I was given this afte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine G, Directeur général at Novotel Paris Sud Porte de Charenton, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, I want to thank you for your feedback that helps us to improve our service. I appreciate you took some time to point out what you did not appreciate.
The Novotel Paris Charenton did meet the requirements needed to be considered as a 4* hotel. However, I am sincerely sorry that my hotel did not meet with your expectations. I just want to let you know that we will be soon equipped with a Virtual Concierge. That will allow you to find information related to the hotel and its local surroundings, as well as practical information such as local maps, the weather, news…
Regarding the gym, there is indeed a fitness center called Accrovital, located at 2min from the hotel at this following address: 157 rue de Paris. I am really sorry our indications were too light. Please, next time, do not hesitate to come back and ask for more clarification, I will be personally pleased to show you the way. Also, the Bois de Vincennes is just nearby the hotel and is perfectly suitable for a jogging.

Please, accept our excuses for all inconveniences suffered. We hope to welcome you in one on our 4000 Accor Hotels all over the world,

Catherine GIRAUD
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charenton-le-Pont
Bercy / Nation
Novotel Paris Centre Bercy
Novotel Paris Centre Bercy
#491 of 1,796 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Pullman Paris Centre - Bercy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon
Novotel Paris Gare de Lyon
#442 of 1,796 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,659 reviews
Ibis budget Paris Porte de Bercy
#2 of 3 in Charenton-le-Pont
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Paris Sud Porte de Charenton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Paris Sud Porte de Charenton

Property: Novotel Paris Sud Porte de Charenton
Address: 3-5 place des Marseillais, 94220 Charenton-le-Pont, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Val-de-Marne > Charenton-le-Pont
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Charenton-le-Pont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Paris Sud Porte de Charenton 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
133 Rooms, car-park, convention, free wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, ACCOR, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Paris Sud Porte de Charenton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Paris Charenton Hotel Charenton-Le-Pont
Novotel Charenton Le Pont
Charenton-Le-Pont Novotel
Accor Charenton Le Pont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing