We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not four stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paxton Resort & Spa
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The Paxton looks the part from outside and is clean enough, but no way in the four star bracket. Our room was tiny and cheaply fitted out and the swimming pool is a relatively small indoor pool. Breakfast was okay and the bowling centre looked good, although we did not try it out. The Paxton has nothing really nearby except the motorway. Disappointing stop.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 1,404 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

We booked 4 nights here, the rooms were spacious and had 2 floors so great for families. The rooms have kitchenettes however you don't have any pots or pans. There is also a microwave. The rooms are clean and more than functional. The hotel has a restaurant on site which serves great food at a reasonable price. It also has a bowling alley so great for kids. The breakfast is basic but nice.

The hotel is 15 minute walk to train station and only 2 stops away from disneyland. There is also a shuttle to train station in morning and evening. It's perfectly safe to walk. We walked at 11pm with kids. You do have to cross a motorway but there are zebra crossings.

We got a taxi to hotel from the airport and cost us 52 euros, we were told by other people they paid 80. So watch out for taxi drivers ripping you off. We asked for taxi back to airport and they wanted 100 so we got metro instead. It's reasonable price. Disneyland is only roughly 2 euros on train. Don't bother with taxis. We got ripped off and paid 40.

I would defiantly recommend this hotel. It appears out in the middle of nowhere but has good links.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LondonSimran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We had two nights at the Paxton recently. I was very disappointed and we will never stay there again. It may be fine for a corporate function or conference but it definitely is not a family friendly motel style accommodation. I would also dispute their 4 star rating as I have stayed in better 3 star rated motels with better personal amenities .The breakfast dining room was a nightmare to find and the selection of food and set up was very basic, the bar was not attended and slow to get service and our ground floor room was as basic as a budget motel. I ask to use the guest business centre computer in the foyer of the motel and was informed that it was a 50 euro cash deposit to obtain a keyboard and mouse, how bizarre. We dined at the Italian restaurant in the next building and the food was fine , there was a bowling alley but it was 20 euro for 20 min each to play which by Australian standards it very dear so we didn't use it. The upstairs bar had no atmosphere and again the service was slow . My travel agent booked us into the Paxton as we had two days in Paris Disney and she said it was close to Disneyland, what she failed to say was that if you didn't take the Paxton shuttle that only had limited after hours service to the railway station then it was a difficult 15 min walk to the railway station across a major highway overpass and through a narrow bush park walkway and between a high rise apartment blocks . I didn't feel safe leaving Disney at 10 pm catching a train back 2 stops and then walking back to the Paxton as the shuttle had already stopped. My wife misplaced her University ID card in our room but there was no attempt by the motel to assist us in getting it back. I could not recommend this resort to my family or friends and on our next trip to Disneyland we will not be staying at the Paxton Spa & Resort again.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank wallywombat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We are a family of four (two kids age 12 & 9). We chose this hotel as it was between Paris & DL.

Positives:
- Location, only 10mins away from train station;
- Free shuttle bus to train station (only ran in the morning & evening though);
- Reasonably sized rooms, we had a two storey mezzanine room with a kitchenette;
- Rooms really clean;
- Supermarket (casino) located across the road for provisions and drinks etc.;
- Reception & staff helpful.

Negatives:
- Noisy as full of families with kids running around corridors and room doors slamming all night/day. We were lucky our room was away from reception, lifts and dining area. If your rooms are located in any of these areas take ear plugs! We realise it is a family hotel & as such there will be loads of kids around but they were left to run riot, generally;
- Expensive restaurant adjacent to the hotel. Pizza €16-18, 50cl of Stella €6, bottle of wine €25-30 even french wine!!
- No utensils in the kitchenette, you have to hire these. We went to the local supermarket & bought a starter kit for €10, cheaper than renting!;
- Breakfast is a 'bun fight' with loads of people bumping into you, rude, making a real mess and leaving stuff everywhere. Quality of food at breakfast was low;
- Hotel located away from any built up area so you can not walk to a bar or restaurant & have to drive.
- Only one small lift which means you are waiting ages esp if people are leaving...we were stuck behind a coach party with loads of suit cases. Ended up struggling up & down the stairs with heavy bags.
- They only have paper cups in the room for coffee and water etc. A bit rubbish really!
- Rooms really dark, not much natural light & hot...our room didn't have AC.

Not sure I would stay here again as we prefer a hotel being a bit closer to civilisation where we can visit local bars/restaurants etc. Also not happy about the breakfast debacle and noisy/rude attitude of the patrons there. We are not perfect but we would keep our kids under control as best we could.

If you are staying here advice would be;

Cook in your own room buying grub from local supermarket, much cheaper
Get your own wine for the room €5 locally
Ask for a room away from reception, dining areas & pool
Ask for AC

Room Tip: Keep well away from pool, dining areas & reception...very noisy all the time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bestservedchilled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We were left a little on the fence with this hotel. Whilst the advertised facilities were available they left a lot to be desired. No hotel bar to speak of despite the overly large lounge/meeting area. Room service required us to wander across the car park into the adjacent Italian restaurant and despite the journey there wasn't enough time for the dinner to defrost. The staff were apologetic and helpful and did their best to help us. Beware the complimentary shuttle bus does not take you to the main Marne-le-Vallee station but the somewhat smaller Bussy-Saint-Georges so you'll need to ensure you leave plenty of time if you intend to go to Disneyland or the main station. The room was functional with a little kitchenette including stove but the lack of air conditioning makes it quite uncomfortable. Price and location make this a useful base camp for families on their way to Disneyland and looking to keep costs down.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Drlbla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

For the area, the cost of this hotel was reasonable. Don't be fooled into paying a premium for a garden view or the idea of staying at the hotel for its 'spa' facilities.

The garden view isn't something to shout about. the pool is small in reality and the spa of course is an added expense to an already expensive trip away (paris and eurodisney are frightfully expensive during the summer months).

People have commented on customer service. In honesty, it was excellent. There was the feel that I probably wouldn't have got it as good if I hadn't had tried to speak French first but there was a feel of because I tried they 'responded with their arms out wide' and nothing was too much trouble for them. No complaints at all.

Breakfast is pretty much just bakery. Which for France isn't too bad, the ingredients for anything else was cheap so if you want something of quality... eat elsewhere.

The Italian was poor in comparison to the cost of a meal. Definitely not impressed.

Rooms were comfortable, clean, spacious and ours had air conditioning which was working properly so there are no issues on the room front.

I'd go back if needing to be in Paris for business but not again if I was thinking of it from a 'couples' point of view.

If heading to Eurodisney, it is an idea location and the hotel have their own shuttle bus as well which heads in that direction. The train station is a 20 minute easy walk away and that heads straight into disney. The hotel is near Bussy St George.

Room Tip: first floor rooms 130 - 150 seem to be reburb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simonwest321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a long weekend to Paris with the kids. Excellent location and facilities in the hotel which include a swimming pool. Room was spacious, however no air con and at night the room was unbearably hot. Asked front desk staff to move us to a room with air con and was told that only half the rooms in the hotel have air con and they were unable to oblige. Seems ridiculous to me, a hotel with designs at a higher rating has not addressed this. Found some of the front of house to be rude, cold and unfriendly and have not had even basic customer service training. Not sure if they are aware, a hotel's bread and butter is good customer service. That said, there was one gentleman on reception who was always courteous and well mannered. Hotel has a huge conference room and I suggest, management ask this particular gentleman on the front desk to give a one hour seminar to his colleagues on the importance of customer service in the hotel and catering industry.

Room Tip: Demand a room with air con in the summer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrC_dot_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferrieres-en-Brie
5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel at Disneyland Paris
5.7 mi away
Explorers Hotel
Explorers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
4,133 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Marne La Vallee Collegien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel l'Elysee Val d'Europe
5.5 mi away
Vienna House Magic Circus Paris
Vienna House Magic Circus Paris
#5 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
3,002 reviews
5.6 mi away
Vienna House Dream Castle Paris
Vienna House Dream Castle Paris
#3 of 8 in Magny-le-Hongre
4,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paxton Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paxton Resort & Spa

Address: rue Joseph Paxton | Bp 49, 77164 Ferrieres-en-Brie, Marne-la-Vallee, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Marne-la-Vallee > Ferrieres-en-Brie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ferrieres-en-Brie
Price Range: £86 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paxton Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paxton Resort & Spa is there to offer you a warm welcome with its 232 rooms and duplex rooms, all with a warm, contemporary "designer" look. Our hotel is located right in the heart of the Val d'Europe business district and offers a spa with swimming pool, a bowling alley and billiard room. It boasts more than 2,000 sq m/21,500 sq ft of salons for conferences and seminars. Our Italian restaurant offers gourmet cuisine based on fresh produce all served in a chic, informal "ambiance". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paxton Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paxton Residence Hotel Ferrieres-En-Brie
Hotel Paxton Residence
Paxton Resort & Spa France/Ferrieres-En-Brie, Marne-La-Vallee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing