We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible just terrible” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel de France
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chalabre
Nottingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible just terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Please do not visit this restaurant the service is just atrocious. Rude manner and horrendous attitude. The food to be fair was okay if slightly overpriced but the service was probably the worst I have had anywhere I have ever been and i have eaten at a lot or restaurants. The worst possible start to a holiday but not a reflection of other places in the area although you will struggle to get a decent meal actually in the town of Chalabre.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jakespade123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    21
    6
    3
    11
See reviews for
13
26
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We have just returned from a self-catering holiday in France, 45 minutes form Carcasonne, we had a fabulous time but just want to warn anyone else who visits this area to avoid the Hotel De France in Chalabre. We were looking for somewhere to eat as there wasn't much open being late June, everywhere opens in July, apparently. The hotel was open so we booked a table for dinner for 6 adults and we had a toddler and a baby in a pushchair with us which we attempted to explain when we booked. There was only one person on duty taking the bar order, waiting on tables, taking the money, etc. (We assume she didn't cook as well) The food was OK but the service and the attitude of this woman was awful, the children were well behaved so we assume it wasn't that but she treated us like dirt and tried to overcharge us when we paid the bill. We were told by another restauranteur that she has been known to throw people out and even slapped someone. Just wanted to say avoid this place like the plague.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodie_Nottm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chalabre hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

Lovely room, one of the best meals I've ever had with wine that was superb! The hotel manager was very helpful, the service was excellent and Le petit-dejeurner ticked all the right boxes. I'd definitely return!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FurryFen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012 via mobile

We were looking for a restaurant where to have lunch, so we ask here if we can have a table. After looking her clock the waiter/owner told us that was fine. We've asked if we can take our dog with us and she just showed a "prohibit dog" sticker, rude manner but fair enough. We decided to leave our dog outside, so we ask for a table close to the window and she said no. Because it was a table for four people, she was very unpolite saying so, especially thinking that the place was almost empty. Our luck was the bar in the front that has compesated all the rudeness of the previous woman.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcoEsse79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chalabre
9.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Les Minotiers
9.8 mi away
Auberge du Balestie
Auberge du Balestie
#1 of 1 in Malegoude
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel Castel d'Olmes
Hotel Castel d'Olmes
#1 of 3 in Lavelanet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Property: Hotel de France
Address: Cours Joseph Raynaud, 11230, Chalabre, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Chalabre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chalabre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de France 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property is located in the heart of a small village where life is good. The hotel is a 2 **, to provide customers a terrace bar and a restaurant with a renowned cuisine serving regional dishes with fresh products, you will discover the subtle flavors The Wi-Fi is free throughout the hotel. Room facilities: 140-bed, telephone, flat screen TV 80 cm, double glazed window, the bathroom is equipped with shower, WC, products home towels and bath towels are at your provision. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing